Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th January 2009, 11:59
silk silk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Most suitable WAN link for Heartbeat s/w

Hey guys, im currently doing some research on implementing a high availability system across a WAN link and would like help on certain areas. This is a scaled down project so I might end up using router simulators like gns3, vyatta etc instead real hardware. Also it'll involve two webservers on each side on the WAN(actually both server's will be next to each other so it's more like a fake WAN connection).

First, from peoples exprience, what are good choices of WAN connections (frame relay, leased lines etc) for such a system since failover is mostly dependent on the heartbeat monitor?

Second, is it even possible to transmit heartbeats across the WAN. I'm sure latency will be a concern but like I said this is scaled down and is for testing..

From read linux-ha.org's tutorials, I found that most setups are on same LAN and a serial(RS232) connection is used between the servers/machines.

In precis, I want to be able to achieve failover across a "fake WAN" (if you like).

Any responses or even pointers will be appreciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th January 2009, 19:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

Your heartbeat systems must be in he same subnet, and your failover IP must be from that subnet as well. So you cannot have two servers in completely different networks.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th January 2009, 20:10
silk silk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Your heartbeat systems must be in he same subnet, and your failover IP must be from that subnet as well. So you cannot have two servers in completely different networks.
Thanks for your reply but I'm inclined to think it's possible or maybe I'm not putting my problem across properly. This is sort of what I'm talking about:
http://johnleach.co.uk/documents/heartbeat/index.html
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th January 2009, 13:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,715 Times in 2,557 Posts
Default

If I understand the document right, the heartbeat boxes (Julius and Caesar as well as Marcus and Aurelius) are in the same subnet.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd February 2009, 12:23
silk silk is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Yeah, you're right. Guess I read it wrong. Apparently having nodes on different subnets for HA is possible using Quagga/RIP. Check out what I found lately here:http://www.gossamer-threads.com/list...ha/users/52048

I'm thinking of implementing same using a fast converging protocol like OSPF, with two servers on different subnets (but sat next to each other), and a frame relay connection but I'm not quite there yet. Any thoughts, contributions, pointers etc will be appreciated.

PS. I guess I should have titled it: How to achieve HA across subnets...

Last edited by silk; 3rd February 2009 at 12:26. Reason: Title change: linux HA across subnets
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
watchdog_task: NIC Link is Up 10 Mbps Full Duplex Chad Server Operation 0 8th October 2008 03:04
VMWare Server on Debian Etch Link is down/up BriX HOWTO-Related Questions 3 8th January 2008 22:31
colocation problem d3m0nic Installation/Configuration 14 23rd June 2006 23:18


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.