Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 5th April 2006, 05:19
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default new IP addr for new site

i have a working ISPConfig box being setup with FC4:

IP1 = the main IP Address for ISPConfig
IP2 = a working domain + several subdomains created in ispconfig

currently i am having problem with hotmail/yahoo spam filters (all my outgoing mails end up in their JUNK folder)

i wonder if i setup a new addr IP3, and add a new site inside ispconfig, and then point the A/MX record to IP3,
will i be able to overcome the spam filter problem?

emails sent out from new site should be using IP3, and not IP1 or IP2, right?

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 5th April 2006, 16:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,216 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

I dont think ist a problem with your IP unless your IP is blacklisted.

Does the DNS PTR-Record for your IP point to the domain of your server?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 5th April 2006, 21:55
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,722 Times in 2,563 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
emails sent out from new site should be using IP3, and not IP1 or IP2, right?
Have a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...2&postcount=13
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th April 2006, 05:36
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I dont think ist a problem with your IP unless your IP is blacklisted.

Does the DNS PTR-Record for your IP point to the domain of your server?
yes, for some reason, my IP1 and IP2 was blacklisted from day 1 (no i don't engage in spamming activies)

so i'm going to try IP3 and hope for the best...

thanks falko, my query is that, on an ISPconfig box, can i create a domain such that it has its own IP (which is IP3), and expect emails from/to the domain to use IP3 to communicate with the other server?

or does it mean that ALL the domains in my box have to use a single IP (specified by postfix) to communicate to other mail servers?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 6th April 2006, 10:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,446
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,216 Times in 4,089 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
yes, for some reason, my IP1 and IP2 was blacklisted from day 1 (no i don't engage in spamming activies)

so i'm going to try IP3 and hope for the best...

thanks falko, my query is that, on an ISPconfig box, can i create a domain such that it has its own IP (which is IP3), and expect emails from/to the domain to use IP3 to communicate with the other server?

or does it mean that ALL the domains in my box have to use a single IP (specified by postfix) to communicate to other mail servers?
Postfix alwys use a single IP to send emails for all your domains. You can set this IP with this configuration option in /etc/postfix/main.cf:

smtp_bind_address = 192.168.0.1

Replace 192.168.0.1 with IP3 in your case.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 6th April 2006, 11:22
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 147 Times in 128 Posts
 
Default

I'm having the same problem with Hotmail and all my IP addresses (I did not test Yahoo)

I think it's got something todo with the SPF record in the DNS, and the way Hotmail (and yahoo?) is handeling this! (All other ISP who work with SPF filtering, are receiving my emails okay)

When you look at the 'headers / message source"' of the received email, you will see something like X-SID-Result: TempError (it's on the 3rd line)

Quote:
X-Message-Status: n:0
X-SID-PRA: Support @ mydomain.com <support@mydomain.com>
X-SID-Result: TempError
X-Message-Info: 6sSXyD95QpWecj/P3fLkBJMCBSDev2x1S3Xn45KBnwc=
A normal email (in the inbox) does not show this TempError.

More info: http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&l...pError+hotmail


*** edit ***

Ok.. I found this: http://www.issociate.de/board/post/3...r_problem.html

It looks like you will need to email the postmaster of hotmail / yahoo, and give him a lot of info to make it work again.

Last edited by edge; 6th April 2006 at 12:36.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shared IP error when adding new site amoswright Installation/Configuration 15 15th June 2006 15:04
Can only connect to site from the server badgerbox76 Installation/Configuration 7 20th March 2006 12:13
host site at same domain as ISPConfig server? amoswright Installation/Configuration 2 13th January 2006 22:43
Removed site, but it is still there mromer General 2 21st December 2005 17:46
can't delete a site KenMcGinnis Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2005 15:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.