Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th January 2009, 18:08
mumbly mumbly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Virtual system with openvz

Hi,
this is a kind of "newbie" question about virtualization and openvz.
I'd like to run a virtual system with ubuntu server 8.10 and openvz but i think i'm a bit lost or mistaken.

Question : what are the steps to "build" and run such a system ?
Step 1 : install the OS (ubuntu server)
Step 2 : install openvz
Step : etc.

Am i right ?

If i run several virtual systems on my server how can i configure domains to point to the system with my own (and only one !) ip address ?
Moreover, will i be able to connect from outside to : myhost1.mydomain.com, myhost2.mydomain.com, etc.
Will i have several apache instances on port 80 if i have a debian system for host1, centos for host2, etc. ?

Sorry if i'm not clear, but i've done my best in english !

In fact : is there a "step by step" tutorial to configure such a system ? (with ubuntu or Debian ...)

Last edited by mumbly; 15th January 2009 at 18:12.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 16th January 2009, 13:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumbly View Post
In fact : is there a "step by step" tutorial to configure such a system ? (with ubuntu or Debian ...)
Plenty of them in the "Virtualization" category: http://www.howtoforge.com/howtos/virtualization

E.g. http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...on-ubuntu-8.10
http://www.howtoforge.com/installing...on-debian-etch
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th January 2009, 13:33
mumbly mumbly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

OK ! Thanx ...
Will i be able to host several "standalone" VPS on my host server with only one public static IP address?
What if i want to host web sites on each VPS (with apache for exemple) ?
Will i need to configure something on my network ?
Thanx !
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17th January 2009, 11:48
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
Default

You need one IP address per VPS.
If you run your OpenVZ host behind a router, you can install Apache (for example) on just one VPS because your router can forward port 80 to just one local IP.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21st January 2009, 10:43
mumbly mumbly is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 69
Thanks: 4
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

OK !
When you say "You need one IP address per VPS" you mean public IP address, right ?
BUT : what if i'm NOT behind a router ?
Could it be possible to create "bridge" or "NAT" ?
If not i'm stucked ... because we MUST have several public static IP addresses to create several standalone VPS? Right ?
Is there any solution du bypass this ?
I'm a bit lost because most of the tutorials about openVZ or Xen are not so clear about public OR private Ip addresses and often propose some configs with private ip addresses...
Many thanx in advance !

Last edited by mumbly; 21st January 2009 at 10:49.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 22nd January 2009, 14:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mumbly View Post
because we MUST have several public static IP addresses to create several standalone VPS? Right ?
Yes.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mumbly View Post
I'm a bit lost because most of the tutorials about openVZ or Xen are not so clear about public OR private Ip addresses and often propose some configs with private ip addresses...
Many thanx in advance !
I run the test setups here in my LAN, that's why I'm using private IP addresses. If you're not in a LAN, you must use public IP addresses.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache Virtual Hosts - I have never gotten this right. DazzyB Server Operation 2 24th December 2007 13:37
SSL for virtual hosts on one certificate rbartz Tips/Tricks/Mods 8 20th November 2007 17:59
ISPconfig Virtual Hosts + Perfect setup Problem ? orasis Installation/Configuration 5 16th March 2007 10:46
No Virtual Hosts tac Installation/Configuration 5 5th August 2006 16:02
postfix config jmroth Installation/Configuration 6 18th September 2005 15:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.