Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th March 2007, 03:41
badboyu badboyu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Please help me ...

Hello,

I am new and I really want to do this myself. There are some things I do not understand ...

1. Can I do this just with my pc running suse 10.2 ? I got a internet connection and I am behind a firewall. So my ethernet card has the ip 192.168.1.2 and the firewall 192.168.1.1. It has statis internet ip ( example 123.123.123.123 ). I understood that I can run the named and dns server on my linux so I don't have to pay any more ( i mean just the internet connection)

2. Can I find somewhere a good tutorial in doing this ? I tryed google but no results.

Thank you very much for your help
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 25th March 2007, 19:21
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

1) Yes, ypo can run this on your SuSe server.

2) Have a look at the SuSe category on howtoforge. Also on the ISPConfog homepage under documentation you will dind several installation howtos for SuSe.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th March 2007, 19:45
badboyu badboyu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default done ...

I did all that . everything is installed ... but the problem is that I don't want to pay for nameservers or dns or domains ... this is what I do not know ... how to make my pc act like that ... I don't have a domain name and I just want to assign one for my pc for the begining ... without paying no more than my ISP . Can you help me with that ? please
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25th March 2007, 23:01
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
Default

You may get a free (sub) domain name from e.g. dyndns.org. Dyndns domains work even if you have a static IP.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th March 2007, 23:59
badboyu badboyu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default so ...

So, this means that I can't get to do what I want for free How do web hosting and domain registration companys do it ? I still think that I can do this ...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th March 2007, 00:07
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
Default

1) Buy a domain name (.com is arroun $8 US per year, a .info arround $5 US)
2) setup ISPconfig
3) create a website, and upload it to ISPconfig
4) Done.
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.

Last edited by edge; 26th March 2007 at 00:09.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 26th March 2007, 00:23
badboyu badboyu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default hmmm

The question is ... if I buy that ... why would I install ISPconfig ? Wouldn't it be enough my linux box with apache, php, mysql and the others ? The thing is that I do not want to buy anything ( and I mean a domain name ), I want to host my own, something like a small web hosting company for me and 3 friends ... Isn't that possible ?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th March 2007, 00:36
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboyu
The question is ... if I buy that ... why would I install ISPconfig ? Wouldn't it be enough my linux box with apache, php, mysql and the others ? The thing is that I do not want to buy anything ( and I mean a domain name ), I want to host my own, something like a small web hosting company for me and 3 friends ... Isn't that possible ?
ISPconfig is a free tool that will configure (and controll) all the needed things to host a domain in one go.

You do not need ISPconfig, but than you will need to configure everything yourself (like Apache, DNS, Postfix, a FTP server.....)
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th March 2007, 00:40
badboyu badboyu is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default oh ...

I understand now ...

What about the other question ... do you know how I could open my own web hosting company ? For the begining just few clients ... what do I need and where could I find a tutorial about this ...

Thanx a lot
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th March 2007, 00:57
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 150 Times in 130 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by badboyu
I understand now ...

What about the other question ... do you know how I could open my own web hosting company ? For the begining just few clients ... what do I need
http://www.ispconfig.com/

Quote:
and where could I find a tutorial about this ...
http://www.ispconfig.com/documentation.htm
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.