#1  
Old 30th April 2010, 18:52
boytomski boytomski is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Problem in new kernel

Hello,

I've just make a new kernal on SUSE 10.2 following the 'how to make a kernel on SUSE' guide.

All seemed to go well. However, when I reboot I can chooses the new kernel. Straight after this I get the message 'waiting for /dev/sda6 to appear'. After a few seconds I get a $ prompt.

My old kernel boots of sda6 with no problem & I can't see why my new kernel won't boot as it was based on the old kernel .config.

Thanks in advance for all your help, it'll be much appreciated,

Tom.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st May 2010, 15:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

What's in /boot/grub/menu.lst?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2nd May 2010, 23:14
boytomski boytomski is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I'm afraid I can't do screen dumps as the fault is on a stand alone system.

However, /boot/grub/menu.lst looks fine.

The original kernel boots of sda6 fine as expected. The menu.lst shows '0,5' as the hard drive and partition location.

The new kernal has exactly the same '0,5' as a boot location and has a valid vmlinuz and initrd file location.

When I made the kernel, I based it on the working kernel .config file so all should be well.

However, the new kernel doesn't seem to be able to see the hard drive partition sda6 on boot up.

I'll see if I can get any more menu.lst info to you soon.

Thanks again for your help,

Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 3rd May 2010, 13:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Maybe it's a problem with your ramdisk?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 3rd May 2010, 14:44
boytomski boytomski is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I presume the ramdisk is made by 'mkinird'.

That seemed to work and I have a mkinitrd file with the correct title. I've added this initrd file in the boot loader.

How do I check to see if this file is OK?

Also, what does it do? I'm a bit fuzzy on this area.

Thanks again,

Tom.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 4th May 2010, 17:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by boytomski View Post
Also, what does it do? I'm a bit fuzzy on this area.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Initrd

Can you post your /etc/fstab and the output of
Code:
fdisk -l
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th May 2010, 19:57
neda_zzz01 neda_zzz01 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Maybe it's a problem with your ramdisk?
i think it is a problem withe your ramdisk
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 3rd June 2010, 07:09
nassmarine nassmarine is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Problem in new kernel

Alright so I decided that I was going to just clean my R4i out so I deleted everything that was on it and just downloaded the V1.11 kernel. I don't know if what I did was wrong, but I just placed what ever was in that file besides the file with the read me's on the R4i...now when I turn the R4i on it just says Loading.....and it's been like this for a couple of minutes...what did I do wrong..or what must I do..
__________________
DentaSmile
Cho Yung Tea
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
suse 10.2 kernel

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig3 Mail Warn Errors reason8 General 3 25th November 2009 14:58
domains not accessible gillesdevals Installation/Configuration 3 17th June 2009 10:12
Fedora Core 5 - Server not responding kyriakos Installation/Configuration 13 16th November 2006 15:16
Problems installing NForce4 sound drivers Wraithfire Installation/Configuration 21 16th April 2006 18:30
KErnel not showing all my memory Jorem Kernel Questions 8 13th April 2006 13:59


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.