Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10th December 2008, 02:41
saifulmr saifulmr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default PPPoE server + billing + freeRadius + CentOS

Hi,
I'm a very very newbie to Linux, but the funny thing is I would be starting a ISP with my partner who was a area distributor of a renowned ISP in my country. Now the thing is, we have clients now, which are currently getting bandwidth from the parent ISP, and soon after we have our ISP license in hand we'll be setting up our own server.

Our plans is to create a PPPoE server with simple billing options through web based environment (only for administration), like phpMyPrePaid or freeNIBS. In addition we want to use the freeRADIUS server as authentication backbone. Plus, we will need a very good bandwidth managment software for limiting DL/UL bandwidth with group policies. We want to avoid authentication through MikroTik coz I hv seen in other ISP's that the performance is too bad, bandwidth fluctuates a lot. Sometimes the DL speed is 40KBps and all of a sudden if might drop to 4KBps. Our parent ISP's bandwidth controller is very good. Speed is always stable. But I don't know what is their infrastructure. We have currently 300 users ready for migration. Please advice on this scenario and provide HowTos from basic. If possible also advise what type of hardware might be needed to build the server.

we are preferring to use CentOS 5.2 instead of Fedora.

Thanking in advance,
Shishir
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th December 2008, 12:42
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 153 Times in 150 Posts
Default

Why not get a cisco device as the LNS and then authenticate to a radius server openradius is much more flexible than freeradius.

Your bandwidth stuff can be done using radius AVpairs sent to the cisco that will do the QOS stuff.
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th December 2008, 13:29
saifulmr saifulmr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Please advise more deeply which device to use. And how & what will be the infrastructure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12th December 2008, 16:09
saifulmr saifulmr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

2 days and still no reply. pleaseeee help
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
centos syslog is slow on Dell server Hellbound Server Operation 1 23rd September 2008 21:08
Web Server setup- CentOS 5.2 64-bit Helter Installation/Configuration 1 30th August 2008 18:39
Remote setup of LAMP server on CentOS 5 satimis Server Operation 13 3rd February 2008 14:17
How do i secure my Centos Server? sposs HOWTO-Related Questions 2 21st February 2007 13:42
Setting up a backup mail server setup with two installations of ISPConfig zitch Tips/Tricks/Mods 7 30th December 2006 10:07


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.