Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th March 2006, 08:53
blackflag blackflag is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default subdomain with own webspace and users

Hello all,
I want to create a subdomain with own webspace and users for it.
The only way is to create a new web. But it should be under a created domain.
So I dont know how to do this. Is there a solution for it?

tia
stefan--
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th March 2006, 09:05
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,007
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,651 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

The correct solution in ISPConfig is to create a new website for this subdomain.
Every client can access more then one website with his username and password
so it is not nescessary in ISPConfig that a website is inside another website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 7th March 2006, 10:03
viewport viewport is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Users (not Clients) FTPing to more than 1 webroot

I don't know if this is related, but I'm trying here before I open a new thread.

Say I have many webroots (different websites). I want a single user (system account) to FTP to a number (more than 1) of these webroots. Is it possible?

Also, is it possible to move a website from one Client to another (reassignment)?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 7th March 2006, 10:50
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by viewport
Say I have many webroots (different websites). I want a single user (system account) to FTP to a number (more than 1) of these webroots. Is it possible?
No, unless you change the ProFTPd configuration and fiddle around with groups and permissions.

Quote:
Originally Posted by viewport
Also, is it possible to move a website from one Client to another (reassignment)?
No.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problem in interface for users jmroth Installation/Configuration 1 18th September 2005 12:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.