#1  
Old 4th March 2006, 00:39
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Vserver help

I have recently installed sarge via net install using the 2.6 kernel, then i patched the kernel with the vserver

i made a vserver and started it, then i copied my apt lists to it but when i enter the vserver i cannot use anything over the net like ping or apt-get

apt-get update says connecting and times out
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th March 2006, 12:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's in
Code:
/etc/resolv.conf
in the vserver, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
on the vserver?

Did you use Xen or the Linux Vserver project?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th March 2006, 23:19
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am using Linux Vserver project

in the vserver :

/etc/resolv.conf

search anikast.net
nameserver 10.100.2.5
nameserver 198.235.216.130

------

ifconfig

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:05:5D:F3:CE:B9
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:372 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:255 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:37165 (36.2 KiB) TX bytes:22810 (22.2 KiB)
Interrupt:10 Base address:0xe800
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th March 2006, 14:55
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Any ideas what my problem may be?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th March 2006, 15:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
ping -c4 www.google.com
and

Code:
ping -c4 216.239.59.99
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th March 2006, 16:51
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

from root :

# ping -c4 www.google.com
PING www.l.google.com (72.14.203.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 72.14.203.99: icmp_seq=1 ttl=237 time=642 ms
64 bytes from 72.14.203.99: icmp_seq=2 ttl=237 time=1401 ms
64 bytes from 72.14.203.99: icmp_seq=3 ttl=237 time=1579 ms
64 bytes from 72.14.203.99: icmp_seq=4 ttl=237 time=596 ms

--- www.l.google.com ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 5271ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 596.416/1055.014/1579.659/440.593 ms, pipe 2


# ping -c4 216.239.59.99
PING 216.239.59.99 (216.239.59.99) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 216.239.59.99: icmp_seq=1 ttl=234 time=912 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.59.99: icmp_seq=2 ttl=235 time=1010 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.59.99: icmp_seq=3 ttl=235 time=729 ms
64 bytes from 216.239.59.99: icmp_seq=4 ttl=235 time=709 ms

--- 216.239.59.99 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 709.748/840.319/1010.176/125.942 ms, pipe 2


-------

from the vserver:

# ping -c4 www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com


# ping -c4 216.239.59.99
PING 216.239.59.99 (216.239.59.99) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 216.239.59.99 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 2999ms
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th March 2006, 19:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by myekel
from the vserver:

# ping -c4 www.google.com
ping: unknown host www.google.com


# ping -c4 216.239.59.99
PING 216.239.59.99 (216.239.59.99) 56(84) bytes of data.

--- 216.239.59.99 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 2999ms
Ok, it doesn't seem to be a DNS problem as pinging the IP address doesn't work either.
It really seems as if you don't have a network connection. I had this problem as well with the Linux Vserver project (and haven't found a solution yet...).
But maybe it's only your firewall. Please post the output of
Code:
iptables -L
on your vserver and also on the host system.
Can you ping the vserver from the host system and vice versa?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th March 2006, 15:02
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

host:

# iptables -L
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination




# ping -c4 192.168.2.1
PING 192.168.2.1 (192.168.2.1) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.094 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.067 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.069 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.2.1: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.064 ms

--- 192.168.2.1 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3000ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.064/0.073/0.094/0.014 ms



----



vserver:

# iptables -L
bash: iptables: command not found


# ping -c4 192.168.1.130
PING 192.168.1.130 (192.168.1.130) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=0.120 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=0.075 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=0.069 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.1.130: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=0.069 ms

--- 192.168.1.130 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 2999ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 0.069/0.083/0.120/0.022 ms
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 6th March 2006, 15:36
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

i got it to work:

iptables -t nat -A POSTROUTING -s 192.168.2.1 -j SNAT --to-source 192.168.1.130

external pings and apt-get update work now
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 6th March 2006, 21:23
myekel myekel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

so now my question is can you have a webserver or any kind of server running in more than one vserver if so how would i make it so when you goto

www.domain.com it goes to vserver 1 or if i goto
test.domain.com it goes to vserver 2
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vserver is intel misterm Installation/Configuration 1 13th December 2005 23:50
Running ISPConfig on a vserver? tron Installation/Configuration 4 8th December 2005 10:35
VPS , + notice misterm Installation/Configuration 1 21st November 2005 16:23


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.