#1  
Old 3rd December 2008, 19:17
thenebb thenebb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPconfig install Help

Quote:
I posted this in the wrong forum so i just deleted it and moved it here
Hello, Im new at this but getting there i think.

Im using ubuntu 8.10 desktop and followed these instructions:

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect_server_ubuntu7.10

all seem to go well so far but i wanted to install the ispconfig. I dl it to the /var/www/ dir and ran the set up command.... so it started the install again im following the instructions of the url i gave here. when it gets to the point of need information:

Quote:
Please enter your MySQL server: E.G. localhost
Please enter your MySQL user: E.G. root
Please enter your MySQL password: Your MySQL password
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: E.g. ispconfigdb
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system: If you want to use your control panel with SSL, select 1. You can then access it under https://www.xyz.de:81. If you want to access it under http://www.xyz.de:81, choose 2.
it accepts all the way til i try to input the www
then the url and it doesnt like it.

How can i get thru this?

TIA

Last edited by thenebb; 3rd December 2008 at 19:38.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 3rd December 2008, 19:45
little_oak little_oak is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 13
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wink Access!

Access it:

https://ipmaster:81

__________________
http://www.irmaosribeiro.org - Aquecedor Solar Belo Horizonte!
http://www.nerdblog.info - For Geeks!
http://www.tinews.org - News!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 3rd December 2008, 20:01
thenebb thenebb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Note FYI Im running a home based server here

I can access it ...it didnt get fully installed because inputing the information wasnt accepted

Please enter your MySQL server: E.G. localhost
this worked
Please enter your MySQL user: E.G. root
this worked
Please enter your MySQL password: Your MySQL password
this worked
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: E.g. ispconfigdb
this worked
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1
What ip do i put here? IP of the machine or IP of domain
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
it will take www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
when i put the url here it comes back with url not found
then repeats the asking for www and url

I do have a domain.com pointed to this machine.




Please select the protocol (http or https (SSL encryption)) to use to access the ISPConfig system: If you want to use your control panel with SSL, select 1. You can then access it under https://www.xyz.de:81. If you want to access it under http://www.xyz.de:81, choose 2.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 5th December 2008, 00:02
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenebb View Post
Please enter your MySQL server: E.G. localhost
this worked
Please enter your MySQL user: E.G. root
this worked
Please enter your MySQL password: Your MySQL password
this worked
Please enter a name for the ISPConfig database: E.g. ispconfigdb
this worked
Please enter the IP address of the ISPConfig web: E.g. 192.168.0.1
What ip do i put here? IP of the machine or IP of domain
Please enter the host name: E.g. www
it will take www
Please enter the domain: E.g. xyz.de
when i put the url here it comes back with url not found
then repeats the asking for www and url

I do have a domain.com pointed to this machine.
If you have domain.com pointed to this machine (without www), leave the host name empty and just fill in the domain.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 5th December 2008, 01:36
thenebb thenebb is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have started from scratch and have ispconfig installed now...

I have a home server with cable hi speed conection. Trying to experiment with running a host isp system... so now that i ubuntu 8.10 installed and ISPConfig --- how should i make a client and website using the same server?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 5th December 2008, 04:42
meomike2000 meomike2000 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 39
Thanks: 14
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default this is what i did and it seemed to work

in the setup, were u tryed to inter www, enter the name u gave ur server. i e.... server1 or maybe server2. whatever the name or ur server is at domain.com... then u can log into that at http://server1(or server2, or whatever u named yours).domain.com:81


hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 5th December 2008, 16:41
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

If you want to run your own name servers, take a look here:
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy
http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund

Here's the ISPConfig first steps guide: http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig-2.x-first-steps
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig install error - "PHP Binary coming with ISPConfig does not work ..." mleblanc Server Operation 5 24th June 2008 17:40
New ISPConfig Install nubtool Installation/Configuration 15 18th May 2008 16:46
unable to install ISPConfig aberrio Installation/Configuration 4 2nd September 2007 14:57
ISPConfig install continues to fail jervolpe Installation/Configuration 3 6th July 2007 12:17
ISPConfig install error clabrown Installation/Configuration 6 4th January 2007 16:46


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.