Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 4th December 2008, 00:49
banzaiwebstudio.com banzaiwebstudio.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Exclamation Few question about ISPconfig!!

i have my ISPconfig working fine, i also have 2 websites running on them 100% via virtual hosts obsviously. But when i try to access the server itself remotely, it shows the "Shared ip" message. however the same domain but on the ISPconfig port (81), works.

DO ISPconfig blocks the port 80 of the main apache server?


domain.com (main) (no accessible)------->
site1.com (virtual) (working)
site2.com (virtual) (working)


any ideas?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 4th December 2008, 09:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
Default

In ISPConfig there is no such thing as a main domain, every domain is trated equally and has to be created as website.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 4th December 2008, 18:31
banzaiwebstudio.com banzaiwebstudio.com is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 32
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
In ISPConfig there is no such thing as a main domain, every domain is trated equally and has to be created as website.
Maybe i did not explain it enough. When i installed ISPconfig i have a ubuntu box which i assign a domain to it (domain.com), at this point if i access this site via brownser i saw the "It Works!". Than i installed ISPconfig, created virtualdomain1.com, virtualdomain2.com, which works perfectly, but now when i access domain.com, i see the "Shared ip" message.

Any idea?

It is not a problem with the virtual web sites.

Also i would like to ask about the .htaccess file, how does ISPconfig handles it?

if i add the Options in AllowOveride in apache2.conf, so i can use to change any options, values and conf for apache and php?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 4th December 2008, 18:40
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,778
Thanks: 821
Thanked 5,333 Times in 4,184 Posts
 
Default

I fully understodd your post and answered it already above. Create a new site for domain.com.

Quote:
Also i would like to ask about the .htaccess file, how does ISPconfig handles it?
.htaccess files are handled by apache and noit ispconfig.

Quote:
if i add the Options in AllowOveride in apache2.conf, so i can use to change any options, values and conf for apache and php?
You can do that but its very insecure.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.0.7 Beta released till General 78 24th December 2008 11:47
Question about Running ISPConfig On Port 80 Using Apache's Reverse Proxy Feature VMartins Installation/Configuration 14 9th October 2008 18:47
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 22:38
New ISPconfig setup domain question wildgoosed Installation/Configuration 1 1st August 2007 20:30
Question before installing ISPConfig Lord Wodan Installation/Configuration 1 23rd February 2007 02:47


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.