#1  
Old 6th March 2006, 13:19
brownie brownie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Record DNS

I installed ISPconfig on suse 10 (64 bit) with perfect setup.
The server is online with public IP.
I see my webpage but if I try ping ns1.mydomain.xxx I get "unknown host"
I have 1 IP for the machine, 1 IP for NS1 and 1 IP for NS2. They are all public IP.
I added these IP in network card and also in ISPconfig under Management -> Server -> Settings -> tab Server IP list
In tab DNS -> Default NS1 I added my IP for ns1 (and for ns2)
Under DNS Manager I created the RECORD A (hostname ns1.wadnet.org - IP address my public IP for DNS)
I created the record A for ns1 and ns2 but I cannot ping ns1 neither ns2
where is my error?
I need to ping ns1.mydomain.xxx and ns2.mydomain.xxx because I need to host several domain on this server, I try to register 1 domain but I failed because of this error of ns1 and ns2
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 6th March 2006, 19:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Can you post the real domain name here?
I guess your ISPConfig server is not authoritative for the domain, therefore you must create the DNS records for the domain on another DNS server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 6th March 2006, 19:41
brownie brownie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Can you post the real domain name here?
I guess your ISPConfig server is not authoritative for the domain, therefore you must create the DNS records for the domain on another DNS server.
the domain is www.wadnet.org
where I muste create the DNS record?
I have an other server with plesk as control panel and I always created the dns record in the same server not in an other. I haven't a dns server ...

Last edited by brownie; 6th March 2006 at 19:51.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 6th March 2006, 22:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Ok, the authoritative name servers for wadnet.org are ns2.wadnet.org and wadnet.org so you must create the DNS records there. I guess one of these is running ISPconfig?

Quote:
In tab DNS -> Default NS1 I added my IP for ns1 (and for ns2)
Don't enter an IP address there! You must use an FQDN there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 7th March 2006, 11:20
brownie brownie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Ok, the authoritative name servers for wadnet.org are ns2.wadnet.org and wadnet.org so you must create the DNS records there. I guess one of these is running ISPconfig?


Don't enter an IP address there! You must use an FQDN there.
Corrected!

Now i ping ns1.wadnet.org and ns2.wadnet.org but I still am not able to register the domain.it. I get this error:
"Unable to verify the A record associated to the NS server NS1.WADNET.ORG" and I get the same error at dnsreport : "No NS A records at nameservers"

In DNS MANAGER for the domain wadnet.org I created A record hostname ns1.wadnet.org - IP my public IP for dns (also for ns2.wadnet.org)

So I think that the required a records must be create in server setting but I don't know where .....
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 7th March 2006, 11:34
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,982 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

If you change something in DNS, it may take up to 4´8 hours until your changes where propagated to all DNS servers.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 7th March 2006, 12:12
brownie brownie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
If you change something in DNS, it may take up to 4´8 hours until your changes where propagated to all DNS servers.
OK ... I created the A records for the domain wadnet.org in dns manager 2/3 days ago, yesterday I change only the FQDN in Server -> settings -> tab dns ... anyway, I'll wait hopeful
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 9th March 2006, 08:55
brownie brownie is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 38
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by brownie
OK ... I created the A records for the domain wadnet.org in dns manager 2/3 days ago, yesterday I change only the FQDN in Server -> settings -> tab dns ... anyway, I'll wait hopeful
RESOLVED!! I find my error: I wrote in A record for the domain wadnet.org "ns1.wadnet.org" and this is wrong. I corrected the A record only ns1 and now it is all OK
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SPF Record misterm Installation/Configuration 4 6th February 2008 15:02
ISPConfig personal DNS record pedropalanca General 18 8th December 2005 22:08
Question about MX record for new site Rocky Installation/Configuration 2 1st December 2005 22:58
How can I check whether SPF Record is running lexcomputer Installation/Configuration 1 12th October 2005 10:03
mx record not set up for new site + misc jmroth Installation/Configuration 8 25th September 2005 15:35


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.