Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th October 2008, 19:09
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig & Nameserver

Hi All,

Sorry I am new to this, and could do with a quick explanation of how nameservers work.

OK a little about the system.

I followed the ISPConfig perfect install on Debian, and found no problem a great tutorial.

My setup.

Debian IP Address - 192.168.0.3
this is static from my router.
Router IP address is dynamic.
I have setup a forwarding using noip.com

Now my questions regard pointing a domain address to one of the webs?

1: - Nameserver - do i need to set this up locally? if so is 192.168.0.3 a valid ip address for the nameserver?
2: - If i do need to set one up locally what should the name be and does this need registering anywhere else? For example how will 123reg.com now where my nameserver address comes from?
3: - I already have a domain name with an existing host, how do I transfer that name across to my server?

As you can probably tell I have no idea how nameservers work, for example if I point towards a local nameserver how does it now which domains webpage to open?

Any help for this complete noob would be gratefully received.
Or any direction towards good tutorials.

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th October 2008, 19:16
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry just realised I have put this in the wrong section, can someone please move it to ISPConfig Forum

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25th October 2008, 00:00
lubos lubos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Belfast, UK - NI
Posts: 59
Thanks: 29
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Hi Steven

I will try to explain how ISPConfig works on dynamic IP address.

First of all you MUST have nameservers with static IP address. There is no way around it. And no, internal IP address is not enough for nameserver to work properly. You need static external IP address. If you can't get static external IP address from you internet provider, you have to set domain servers with some redirection service (such as no-ip.com) and use their nameservers for your domain.

What to do:
a) you have to set nameservers in your 123-reg account to nameservers given to you by no-ip.com (I have 123-reg account as well if you need help with that, give me a shout and I'll help you).
b) you have to set your dns entries in your account with no-ip.com and set their service to update your router IP address automaticaly (I do not have that account so I acn't helpyou with that but they will have surely some info on their website)
c) you should not set dns records in ISPConfig
d) when creating domain in ISPConfig, you have to set your IP address to 192.168.0.3, your nameservers on no-ip.com, ISPConfig on your server and your router will make sure that relevant website will be displayed

Best of all is to get static address from your internet provider if this is possible.
__________________
Safe computer? Only when unplugged.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th October 2008, 11:19
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Thanks for ypour reply.

This is what I have done since.

NoIP forwards the domain mydomain.servehttp.com to my dynamic ip.

I have set up in 123Reg to forward my domain name mydomain.co.uk to mydomain.servehttp.com that all works fine.

I have now setup ISPConfig with the site mydomian.co.uk, but now when I type in www.mydomain.co.uk I get the sharedip page. Is there a way around this?

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th October 2008, 12:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf, and what's the output of
Code:
ifconfig
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28th October 2008, 10:43
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

The if config returned the following.
Code:
eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 00:14:2A:EF:4C:6F
          inet addr:192.168.2.3  Bcast:192.168.2.255  Mask:255.255.255.0
          inet6 addr: fe80::214:2aff:feef:4c6f/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:91018 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:59775 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
          RX bytes:77131065 (73.5 MiB)  TX bytes:10179129 (9.7 MiB)
          Interrupt:169 Base address:0xe200

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:7348 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:7348 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
          RX bytes:2887729 (2.7 MiB)  TX bytes:2887729 (2.7 MiB)
This is the contents of Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file
Code:
###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
#         Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 192.168.2.3:80
<VirtualHost 192.168.2.3:80>
  ServerName localhost
  ServerAdmin root@localhost
  DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
  <IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
    RewriteEngine on
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
    RewriteRule .* - [F]
  </IfModule>
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: www.mydomain.co.uk:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 192.168.2.3:80>
ServerName www.mydomain.co.uk:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@mydomain.co.uk
DocumentRoot /var/www/web8/web
ServerAlias mydomain.co.uk
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
Alias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web8/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web8/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
php_admin_flag safe_mode On
php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web8/
php_admin_value file_uploads 1
php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web8/phptmp/
php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web8/phptmp/
<IfModule mod_ruby.c>
  <Directory /var/www/web8/web>
    Options +ExecCGI
  </Directory>
  RubyRequire apache/ruby-run
  #RubySafeLevel 0
  <Files *.rb>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
  </Files>
  <Files *.rbx>
    SetHandler ruby-object
    RubyHandler Apache::RubyRun.instance
  </Files>
</IfModule>
<IfModule mod_python.c>
 <Directory /var/www/web8/web>
   Options +Indexes +FollowSymLinks +MultiViews
   AllowOverride Indexes AuthConfig Limit FileInfo
   Order allow,deny
   allow from all
   AddHandler mod_python .py
   PythonHandler mod_python.publisher
   PythonDebug On
 </Directory>
</IfModule>
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web8/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web8/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web8/user/$1/web/$3
<IfModule mod_rewrite.c>
  RewriteEngine on
  RewriteCond %{REQUEST_METHOD} ^(TRACE|TRACK)
  RewriteRule .* - [F]
</IfModule>
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th October 2008, 12:31
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Looks ok. Does mydomain.co.uk point to your router's public IP address? You can check that with
Code:
dig mydomain.co.uk
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st November 2008, 14:33
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

That dig returned some information, but where do I compare that information to?

You mentioned my routers public IP Address? where is this I have a belkin router.

These are the headings I have in the control panel of the router.

Wan IP, Default Gateway, DNS Address, IP Address

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd November 2008, 14:38
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

The WAN IP is your public IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2nd November 2008, 17:28
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Hi Falko,

Thanks for all your help so far and your patience.

No they do not match.

This is the output from dig.

Code:
; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1.1 <<>> www.f-football.co.uk
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 20819
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.f-football.co.uk.          IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.f-football.co.uk.   86400   IN      A       194.154.164.82

;; Query time: 24 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Sun Nov  2 16:26:21 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 54
My Wan / Public IP starts with 77....

Checked the 194.154.164.82 and that is where my domain name is regeistered ie www.123-reg.co.uk site.

Just to reiterate what I have setup in case I have misled.

1. Registered with NOIP who allow me to redirect www.mydomain.servehttp.com to my dynamic IP address.
2. Bought a domain name from 123-reg.co.uk and forwarded/redirected it to www.mydomain.servehttp.com

Thanks

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 2nd November 2008 at 18:11.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.0.6 Beta released till General 38 21st September 2008 19:15
ISPConfig 3.0.0.5 Beta Released till General 77 23rd July 2008 12:14
seperate Mailserver & ISPconfig r00ty General 1 26th May 2007 19:40
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 12:58
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.