Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Feature Requests

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13th April 2006, 16:50
rbartz rbartz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 80
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Site Skeletons

How about programming in the site creation script that would look for a directory in /root that could contain a "user-defined" site skeleton, and copy them onto each new site. A "site skeleton" would be defined as an optional set of files created by the host admin according to his idea of the standard site that wouldn't be overwritten by an ispConfig update.

When a site was setup, the script would look for the site skeleton directory, say /root/skeleton/ and if there were any directories or files there, it would copy them all into the new site with the same permissions and then chown them appropriately. If no directory existed, the script would just go on.

As little as a custom index.html page could be done, or cgi scripts, php info scripts, host policy and use pages, images.... as much or as little as the host admin wanted could be added on setup.

Richard
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 14th April 2006, 00:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbartz
As little as a custom index.html page could be done
You can create custom standard indexpages using the ISPConfig web interface.

You can put standard CGI scripts into /root/ispconfig/standard_cgis, and when you enable "Standard CGIs" for a web site, these CGI scripts will be copied to the cgi-bin folder of the new web site.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (18th December 2013)
  #3  
Old 14th April 2006, 05:00
rbartz rbartz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 80
Thanks: 9
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Thanks for that information Falko. That does take care of the usual standard index page and the cgi scripts.

We install some other things on our "other server" like links to realaudio folders and phpmyadmin and httpd logs, a PHP info page, the always missing favicon.ico, images, a standard robots.txt page and so on. I guess I was thinking in terms of these kind of things.

Another way to do that might be a choice in the site setups to install custom content by running a user-defined script that could be configured in server settings. That would make it optional and entirely up to the server admin what, where, and if his content was added to a site... and give him total control over and responsibility for how it installed. And it could allow him to use the site setup vars such as user name, root directory and so on.

What do you think?

Richard
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 14th April 2006, 15:35
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,745 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Sounds interesting. We can put it on our To-Do list, but don't expect it to come soon - we're always short of time...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th June 2006, 14:17
danf.1979 danf.1979 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Chile
Posts: 247
Thanks: 4
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Send a message via MSN to danf.1979
Default

Quote:
Another way to do that might be a choice in the site setups to install custom content by running a user-defined script
Thumbs up! Yeap, been able to use a custom script for setting up a new website would be really awsome...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th July 2006, 22:04
TobiasTM TobiasTM is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Uffing am Staffelsee
Posts: 52
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to TobiasTM
Default

This would be a very nice option.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th November 2006, 14:32
BčrKessels BčrKessels is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 7
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Send a message via Skype™ to BčrKessels
Default I need symlinks instead of dirs

Because I run my sites off a single codebase, I don't want to create the ./web dirs for certain users/a certin hosting plan.

Now, I run a commandline script that moves the dir away, and places a symlink instead. But it sounds a proper skeleton will solve my case too.
__________________
Drupal development: http://webschuur.com | Drupal hosting: http://www.sympal.nl
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BčrKessels For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (21st December 2013)
  #8  
Old 9th May 2007, 11:10
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 432
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
Default Web Skeletons

I like the idea of having different skeleton directories for different CMS.
I would name them like this...

./web/guppy
./web/joomla
./web/drupal

etc.

This would really speed things up.
Of cource most CMS would still need a way to clone the database somehow.

I'd also like a way to copy the hostingplans & invoices from client to client.
That is making too much manual work. Is there a way to manually copy them in the OS level? I tried to locate those files but failed.

Sam
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SamTzu For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (21st December 2013)
  #9  
Old 9th May 2007, 11:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,495
Thanks: 835
Thanked 5,535 Times in 4,353 Posts
Default

Quote:
I tried to locate those files but failed.
Hosting plans and invoices are not files, they are records in the database. If you want to copy them, you will have to copy the corresponding permission records in isp_nodes too and you might have to adjust some values.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 9th May 2007, 14:50
SamTzu SamTzu is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Helsinki
Posts: 432
Thanks: 33
Thanked 56 Times in 39 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to SamTzu
 
Default Copy stuff

Ok, makes sense.
Thats why there is no such feature

Sam
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SamTzu For This Useful Post:
AbannyvabVask (20th December 2013)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shared IP error when adding new site amoswright Installation/Configuration 15 15th June 2006 16:04
host site at same domain as ISPConfig server? amoswright Installation/Configuration 2 13th January 2006 23:43
Removed site, but it is still there mromer General 2 21st December 2005 18:46
mx record not set up for new site + misc jmroth Installation/Configuration 8 25th September 2005 16:35
can't delete a site KenMcGinnis Installation/Configuration 2 14th August 2005 16:02


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.