Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Developers' Forum

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th November 2008, 21:34
guardian guardian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default utf-8 in ispconfig database

Why not use utf-8 encoding for ispconfig database?

Now when I create a Client with Cyrillic name there's a problem displaying it

http://don.adminbg.info/ispc/ispc1.jpg
http://don.adminbg.info/ispc/ispc2.jpg
__________________
http://www.webvision.bg
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th November 2008, 12:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Please try to change the encoding of the database and all tables to utf-8, does it work then?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th November 2008, 12:48
guardian guardian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I have change db encoding and encoding for table client and the problem still exist.

I forgot to mention that when you try to edit client all is displayed correctly.
http://don.adminbg.info/ispc/ispc3.jpg
__________________
http://www.webvision.bg
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26th November 2008, 12:56
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

What is the problem if everything is displayed correctly when you edit the client?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26th November 2008, 15:24
guardian guardian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

The problem is that listing of clients isn't displayed correctly. So you actually don't now who is who until you open a client for editing.
http://don.adminbg.info/ispc/ispc1.jpg
__________________
http://www.webvision.bg
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th November 2008, 15:27
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Ok, that has nothing to do with the charset of the mysql database then. Most likely there is a conversion issue in the php class that creates the lists.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28th November 2008, 08:39
vogelor vogelor is offline
ISPConfig Developer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Wernau, Germany
Posts: 219
Thanks: 42
Thanked 34 Times in 24 Posts
Default

i think, changing the encoding of the db is not enought!
you also have to change the encoding of the data itself!

i think "set "fieldname" = utf8(fieldname)" or somthing like this. read the mysql manual and try this - maybe this helps

Olli
__________________
Der neue Luxus heißt Zeit, nicht Geld!

Firma : http://www.muv.com, http://www.computerandservice.de
Privat : http://www.vogelor.de
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28th November 2008, 17:15
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 404
Thanks: 33
Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
Default same problem with czech characters

I have same problem

MySQl is set to utf-8, in /etc/mysql/my.cnf
[client]
port = 3306
socket = /var/run/mysqld/mysqld.sock
default-character-set = utf8

[mysqld]
.
.
default-character-set = utf8
character-set-server = utf8
collation-server = utf8_czech_ci
default-collation = utf8_czech_ci


When editing client, everything is shown correctly
http://www.tvujweb.cz/trash/ispc3-1.jpg

On client overview page it is not:
http://www.tvujweb.cz/trash/ispc3-2.jpg

And in phpmyadmin, there is also chaos
http://www.tvujweb.cz/trash/ispc3-3.jpg

BTW: behaviour in ISPC2 is same i can see correct characters in administration, but not in Mysql database
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 1st December 2008, 12:45
guardian guardian is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 36
Thanks: 4
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Revision 624 fixed the problem. Thanks.
__________________
http://www.webvision.bg
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 1st December 2008, 13:02
radim_h radim_h is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Prague, Czech
Posts: 404
Thanks: 33
Thanked 23 Times in 18 Posts
Send a message via ICQ to radim_h
 
Default

Please, how should i update SVN installation of ISPC3 to last revision ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig after installation CoDonCo Installation/Configuration 46 14th July 2010 16:54
ISPConfig 2.2.13 released till General 35 23rd July 2007 16:28
ISPConfig 2.3.2-dev released till General 9 4th June 2007 10:46
Upgrading failed, ispconfig broken and ispconfig won't upgrade again dfriis Installation/Configuration 7 14th June 2006 17:54
Migrate CPanel to ISPConfig dolvito Installation/Configuration 6 22nd May 2006 23:24


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.