#1  
Old 30th December 2007, 01:10
colin colin is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Proftpd - error

Hi

I am tring to follow the How to for centOs 5.1 and have a few questions.

I got to the step where I edit the init script for Proftpd. (Now create the init script /etc/init.d/proftpd Should the file already exist or do I create it from scratch?

Ok I have created it from scratch and entered in the script then chmod to 755 this is ok then moded the other files as per the tutorial.

i then create the system startup links for Proftpd by command :-
chkconfig --levels 235 proftpd on

This gives me an error service proftpd dose not support chkconfig

if you try and start proftpd you get the error deamon: command not found error.

I have not got much experiance with this OS so any help would be greatfully received

Colin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th December 2007, 16:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin
Should the file already exist or do I create it from scratch?
You create it from scratch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by colin
Ok I have created it from scratch and entered in the script then chmod to 755 this is ok then moded the other files as per the tutorial.

i then create the system startup links for Proftpd by command :-
chkconfig --levels 235 proftpd on

This gives me an error service proftpd dose not support chkconfig

if you try and start proftpd you get the error deamon: command not found error.

I have not got much experiance with this OS so any help would be greatfully received

Colin
Please make sure that your copy looks exactly like the one from the tutorial (incl. comments).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11th February 2008, 17:51
fitzy75 fitzy75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question

Hi

I am also following the same tutorial and trying to get this to work and I am having the same error as the person above that says:
"service proftpd does not support chkconfig"

I have created the file from scratch and checked it several times and it is exactly the same as it says on the howto article..

I noticed the person above posted this in December (so not too long ago), could it possibly be an update or something which might be stopping this from working?


Another note, I am running this on VMWare just to test it out before I setup a new system. Using VMWare instead of a physical system shouldn't affect it at all should it?

If anyone has any ideas how to solve this error I would be greatful for any reply or troubleshooting steps

p.s. Did you get anywhere with yours Colin?

Thanks.
Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th February 2008, 18:01
fitzy75 fitzy75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I've got the service to run now which is a start I guess.

I never thought to try starting the service manually, I did this and it then threw up an error about the user group setting in /etc/proftpd.conf which I must have missed when I edited the file before so I have amended that and the service starts.

Now I just have to try and work out what's wrong with the boot script.

Any replies are welcome

Thanks.
Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th February 2008, 20:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzy75
Now I just have to try and work out what's wrong with the boot script.
Did you save the init script with Unix or with Windows linebreaks? If you edited the script on a Windows system and then copied it over to your Linux system, you most likely have Windows linebreaks in it, unless you used an editor which can save files with Unix linebreaks.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th February 2008, 11:49
fitzy75 fitzy75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi thanks for your reply.

I used the 'nano' editor on the CentOS install (I couldn't work out how to use vi)

Should nano be ok?

Thanks.
Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th February 2008, 17:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Yes, nano is ok.

Can you post the contents of /etc/init.d/proftpd?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 14th February 2008, 20:18
fitzy75 fitzy75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply

Code:
#!/bin/sh
# $Id: proftpd.init,v 1.1 2004/02/26 17:54:30 thias Exp $
#
# proftpd	This shell script takes care of starting and stopping
#		proftpd.
#
# chkconfig: - 80 30
# description:  ProFTPD is an enhanced FTP server with a focus towards \
#		simplicity, security, and ease of configuration. \
#		It features a very Apache-like configuration syntax, \
#		and a highly customizable server infrastructure, \
#		including support for multiple 'virtual' FTP servers, \
#		anonymous FTP, and permission-based directory visibility.
# processname: proftpd
# config: /etc/proftpd.conf
# pidfile: /var/run/proftpd.pid

# Source function library/
. /etc/rc.d/init.d/functions

# Source networking configuration.
. /etc/sysconfig/network

# Check that networking is up.
[ ${NETWORKING} = "no" ] && exit 0

[ -x /usr/sbin/proftpd ] || exit 0

RETVAL=0

prog="proftpd"

start() {
	echo -n $"Starting $prog: "
	daemon proftpd
	RETVAL=$?
	echo
	[ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && touch /var/lock/subsys/proftpd
}

stop() {
	echo -n $"Shutting down $prog: "
	killproc proftpd
	RETVAL=$?
	echo
	[ $RETVAL -eq 0 ] && rm -f /var/lock/subsys/proftpd
}

# See how we were called.
case "$1" in
  start)
	start
	;;
  stop)
	stop
	;;
  status)
	status proftpd
	RETVAL=$?
	;;
  restart)
	stop
	start
	;;
  condrestart)
	if [ -f /var/lock/subsys/proftpd ]; then
	  stop
	  start
	fi
	;;
  reload)
	echo -n $"Re-reading $prog configuration: "
	killproc proffftpd -HUP
	RETVAL=$?
	echo
	;;
  *)
	echo "Usage: $prog 
{start|stop|restart|reload|condrestart|status}"
	exit 1
esac

exit $RETVAL
Thanks.
Rob.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15th February 2008, 18:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Is the init script executable? Does its header look similar to the other init scripts, especially the
Code:
# chkconfig: - 80 30
line?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th February 2008, 14:12
fitzy75 fitzy75 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

It's executable and the chkconfig line was similar but the numbers on the other init scripts that I looked at were different.

I gave up in the end and reinstalled the system starting from scratch (the cheats way out, lol).

Thanks very much for your help though falko it is very much appreciated.

I will probably have a look at some other howto's on the site so you may see me around here again soon if I run into any problems

Thanks again.
Rob.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
configuring IPTABLES firewall adityavpratap HOWTO-Related Questions 9 27th May 2006 21:42
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 03:38
Fresh Install on Debian cksrealm Installation/Configuration 12 22nd February 2006 16:14
Installation Fails... :( cyberstorm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 18:07
Install stop at uuwish, UUDeview SeaWolf Installation/Configuration 6 4th October 2005 23:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.