Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15th November 2008, 20:09
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 208
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default ISPConfig install halts by MSQL setup

Hi All,

My problem is that I am doing a fresh install of ISPConfig but its halted by the msql setup. It cant connect to the URL
Code:
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):www
Please enter the domain (e.g. xyz.de):mydomain.nl
The URL is not reachable!
Please enter the host name (e.g. www):
I followed the perfect setup Ubuntu 8.04 and had no errors with that.

I think it has to do with me changing my isp, my backup server is on the old isp with the 192.168.1.110 setting and an dynamic ip, my new to install server is on the new isp with the 192.168.178.100 setting and with a different static ip.
Am I correct?

If so must I chance the 192.168.178.100 to 192.168.1.100 on my router and put both servers on the same router to get it to work?

Or must I do some other thing.

TIA
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th November 2008, 23:22
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

Please make sure that the url you enter can be reached with the ping command. If the domain is not connected yet, leaver the hostname empty and enter the IP address as domain.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16th November 2008, 11:52
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 208
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
Please make sure that the url you enter can be reached with the ping command. If the domain is not connected yet, leaver the hostname empty and enter the IP address as domain.
Going to try it, but must I use the new IP?
I think I must because in the future the server is on that IP.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th November 2008, 12:24
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,733
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,596 Times in 4,407 Posts
Default

It must be an IP that already points to the server. If the new IP does not point to the server yet, you will have to use the current IP and then change the IP later in the ispconfig httpd.conf and in the config.inc.php file.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17th November 2008, 11:56
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 208
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

okee done a little trouble shooting.

My backup server is on my old ISP (@home/ziggo) and is working. there are currently tree sites on it adsmetalvest.nl , dcs-online.nl (only welcome message for testing) and domestic-violence.nl. the are al working fine on my backup server and are reachable on the www. so no problem here.

My new to install server on my new ISP (xs4all) is installed with Ubuntu 8.04 the perfect setup. I have not yet ISPConfig installed.

If I ping one of the sites on my old server I get a 100% los of the packets. So that is not working.
But if I ping google.nl or some other site all is fine? So only my old server isn't reachable with ping. If I surf with my workstation (also on xs4all) I can reach all my sites on the backup server?

Now this noob is really stuck........help

TIA

Appie aka DaRKNeSS666NL
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...

Last edited by DaRKNeSS666NL; 17th November 2008 at 11:58.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th November 2008, 14:17
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 208
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I am still working on it. Used some other search string and came up with these thread's
HTML Code:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26858
and
HTML Code:
http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=839
They gave me the idee that may be my router is blocking a ping.
Going to check it...
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th November 2008, 14:31
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 208
Thanks: 17
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
 
Default

SOLVED!

It was the firewall blocking ping request.

1 question remaining just for understanding the problem.

Why was it working before when I installed ISPConfig (many times) on my router with a blocking ping rule.

Is this because the backup and normal server were on the same intranet?
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Installation/Configuration 14 18th January 2009 14:41
ispconfig install has error and stop setup thdinh Installation/Configuration 1 26th June 2007 16:08
ISPConfig install error clabrown Installation/Configuration 6 4th January 2007 17:46
ISPConfig install error: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work... mlanglois Installation/Configuration 9 13th July 2006 15:56
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 22:01


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.