Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th November 2008, 17:18
j.smith1981 j.smith1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Smile Quota on usb external hard drive

Hi there, I really should have taken these details down for you.

I have an external USB 2 drive on my server I want to allow ISPConfig to use aswell as the main document roots would this be possible do you know?

And also I would like to add the quota software to it aswell, the following details are of where it is on my system.

/dev/sdb

and the other name I got when I went into look at the partition /dev/sdb1

its mounting point, when i last installed fedora was /net

I did try doing this last time after I installed ISPconfig but as per usual with me my server didnt work, it hanged when I tried logging into the ISPconfig admin page and i looked at my ssh login on putty and it said it had closed IRQ19

Also sorry for a 2nd question but I keep getting an error when i do the following command:
'quotacheck -avugm'

It says it cant find the user of when I edit the /etc/fstab file:
Quote:
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol00 / ext3 defaults,usrquota,grpquota 1 1
UUID=03b23ff4-4dda-47a8-a23f-2f530df157b2 /boot ext3 defaults 1 2
tmpfs /dev/shm tmpfs defaults 0 0
devpts /dev/pts devpts gid=5,mode=620 0 0
sysfs /sys sysfs defaults 0 0
proc /proc proc defaults 0 0
/dev/VolGroup00/LogVol01 swap swap defaults 0 0
It says it cant find the group or user and says maybe I tried truncating the text, then it runs but I dont get why its coming up with this sort of error has anyone else had problems?

can someone help please?

(I am using Fedora Core 9 by the way)

Thanks in advance,
Jez

PS I probably will be posting allot on here for a little while as I am not exactly sure what I'm doing because I am a noob and proud of it, but finding this system (ISPConfig) really exciting to do what I have been wanting to do for ages now which is host my own e-commerce sites to show to clients live.

Last edited by j.smith1981; 11th November 2008 at 17:24.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th November 2008, 15:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.smith1981 View Post
It says it cant find the group or user and says maybe I tried truncating the text, then it runs but I dont get why its coming up with this sort of error has anyone else had problems?
That's normal when you run quotacheck for the first time.

If your USB drive gets mounted on /net, you can can use quota on /net as well. Make sure you create an entry for /net in /etc/fstab, and the other quota steps are similar to the ones from the howto.

You can have web sites on just one partition. For example, if ISPConfig creates web sites in /var/www, you can't make it create web sites on /net as well.

If you want to combine two or more partitions to one big partition, take a look at LVM: http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_lvm
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 14th November 2008, 12:52
j.smith1981 j.smith1981 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 63
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Thumbs up

Ah just seemed really weird to me asif the quota didnt work but if it works even saying that then thats excellent thankyou ever so much for your help,

I will show you the file that includes the /net partition for your help to show me how to actually add in the group I think I know where just a little afraid of as to where to put in the grp and usrquota text into the fstab file.

That is excellent thank you ever so much, just read the first 2 pages of that link always wondered how to add in volumes to the drive.

This is a bit off topic but would I be able to setup a samba and/or netware server on any partition though?

I will of course make another topic in another section if I have problems but that is brilliant I've learnt soo much by coming to this forum.

Thanks again,
Jez

Last edited by j.smith1981; 14th November 2008 at 13:01. Reason: extended details added
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th November 2008, 14:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by j.smith1981 View Post
This is a bit off topic but would I be able to setup a samba and/or netware server on any partition though?
Yes. You can find a few tutorials on http://www.howtoforge.com/howtos/samba
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i see Local Hard Drive filesystem details on LTSP client skirao Server Operation 0 30th October 2008 11:50
Slow connection to FC6 system post-LAMP install? cfspence Installation/Configuration 8 29th January 2008 20:09
External USB DVD Drive Setup on Ubuntu... sthompson Installation/Configuration 0 5th January 2007 05:19
External USB Drive Yabadoo Technical 4 24th August 2006 23:11
Hard Drive Failed Need Help mphayesuk Technical 1 29th April 2006 00:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.