Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th May 2008, 21:49
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default My Server setup help

Hi,

I am fairly new to Linux. I have setup Ubuntu to be used as a dedicated server. What is mostly confusing me is how exactly to get everything I need to 'work' together.

I have a dynamic ip so I am going to get an account with dyndns (call it example.homeip.net)

I have a linux usergroup that contains all the users I want to be able to access the various server functions.

The best way for me to ask my question is to explain what I want:

- A subversion repository I can access via svn.example.homeip.net (this uses the Linux usergroup for authentication)
- Apache webserver with 2 virtual hosts:
---- internal.example.homeip.net (this will be the 'intranet' so it will be password protected - Linux users)
---- test.example.homeip.net (this will be a sort of scratch pad for testing websites.
- mySQL server accessible by sql.example.homeip.net
- FTP server that has :
---- access to the home folder for each linux user
---- access to internal.example.homeip.net's files
---- access to test.example.homeip.net's files

First of all - I want to ask if what I want is even possible!
If it is, how do I even begin to go about learning how to do all this and setting it up. What do I all need to do it (a DNS server)?

If it is not possible or way too complex what alternatives do I have?

The main thing I want to stress is I want the username and password for each user stored in only 1 place (the Linux users database). If I create a new user I do not want to update 10 config files with that new user and their password. When I create a new Linux user it would be nice to have the new user immediately be able to access the svn repo or the ftp.

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. If there is any clarification needed let me know!

Thanks!

Kevin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th May 2008, 19:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Should be possible. First of all, I'd set up an internal DNS server so that your internal hostnames can be resolved by the client PCs in your LAN. This tutorial might be of interest, if you want to use BIND: http://www.howtoforge.com/traditional_dns_howto
We also have some MyDNS tutorials if you prefer a DNS server that uses a MySQL database.

Afterwards, we can continue step by step.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th May 2008, 20:13
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for your reply Falko.

I will read your tutorials and setup those internal hostnames.

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th October 2008, 22:08
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi, been a while but I have got back to setting up my server.

I have got to the point where I have the name server being resolved by other servers on my network (when I dig yahoo.com on a desktop I see that it is going through my server).

I have been unable to figure out how to get internal hostnames to resolve however. I have been using example.com. When I type it into a web browser on a desktop it goes outside to example.com - to reach my web server I have to use the IP of the server.

Any clue what I am missing?

Also, I found that DynDns has the ability to create a wildcard alias. I can then use virtual hosts on my server to direct the alias... Is there a reason why I shouldn't be doing this? Do I really need a name server?

Thanks,
Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th October 2008, 00:55
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Update: I finally got the internal DNS server working!

What should my next step be?

Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16th October 2008, 15:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Now you can set up Subversion, Apache, MySQL, and an FTP server (proftpd, vsftpd, pureftpd).

Which distribution are you using?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th October 2008, 15:09
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am using Ubuntu Server 8.04.

I have installed Subversion, Apache and MySQL, and proftpd.

-Kevin
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17th October 2008, 13:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Next you can set up the virtual hosts for Apache: http://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.2/vhosts/name-based.html
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17th October 2008, 20:10
kingpin393 kingpin393 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 18
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Do I setup the vhosts for just:
internal.example.homeip.net and test.example.homeip.net?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18th October 2008, 17:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
 
Default

That depends on your needs. If you just need these two vhosts, then yes.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
php Apps email not going through palkat General 8 21st September 2011 05:35
Going to setup a small company server... but how? LINUXstarter Server Operation 13 23rd December 2007 18:33
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04
Total Noob just setup first ubuntu server woodies HOWTO-Related Questions 1 19th October 2006 15:04
How to setup Debian linux on a Dell server with RAID 1 Hans HOWTO-Related Questions 7 11th May 2006 00:10


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.