Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st November 2008, 16:22
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default Can sombody look at this server specs I mabey going to buy?

Hi all,

I am in the process of (probably) buying a new server.
I have come across this server's ad (it's at the dutch tweakers site)
http://tweakers.net/aanbod/advertent...dual-core.html

If I am going to buy this one is it going to work (first) at home?
Or must it going into a rack at a data center?

I would like to experiment first at home for a wile and later on probably I am moving it to an data center.

TIA
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st November 2008, 17:04
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,033
Thanks: 261
Thanked 147 Times in 128 Posts
Default

I've had a look at that server also (some days ago), and yes it will work at home, but it will make a lot of noise.
So if you use it at home, make sure you put is somewhere far away from you!
__________________
Never execute code written on a Friday or a Monday.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st November 2008, 17:41
DaRKNeSS666NL DaRKNeSS666NL is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 207
Thanks: 17
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

Edge,

Thanks for the quick response.
A few more questions if I may.

Is this a good server to start with?
And is the price a normal one?

I have searched the Internet a wile but I can't get a real sence of it.
I mean I am totally new in the server specs. and don't know a lot of the server prices.
__________________
Updating my server to Debian Squeeze, so here I go again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd November 2008, 14:46
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,721 Times in 2,562 Posts
 
Default

To be honest, I wouldn't buy a server to move it to a data center. Renting a server is not much more expensive than paying co-location, and if you have a hardware failure with a rented server, your provider usually replaces it for free, while with an owned server, you have to pay the new hardware yourself.

You can get cheap rented servers here: http://www.hetzner.de/hosting/produk...produktmatrix/

And for testing at home, you can set up a virtual machine with VMware Server or VirtualBox.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Email Clients cannot send mail iverson0881 Installation/Configuration 3 8th May 2008 08:34
Terrible server speeds gAnDo HOWTO-Related Questions 3 14th February 2008 18:31
Fedora 7 Directory Server Installation renegadeviking Server Operation 3 23rd June 2007 21:35
Best set-up for a backup server? trigar Installation/Configuration 10 15th June 2007 11:48
Rejecting outbound mail tristanlee85 General 11 20th May 2007 17:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.