Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th February 2006, 17:13
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default Which Folders To BackUP

Ok I have read a few threads about moving ispconfig to other servers and backing up ect.... so what would be nice is to have a list of every folder that is needed in order to have a complete backup of the system, so all one would have to do is build/rebuild a server with ispconfig installed... if that is how it should be done and then restore all the correct folders and files.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th February 2006, 21:44
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,994
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,647 Times in 4,457 Posts
Default

If you want an backup that is easy and fast to restore, i recommend to use systemimager.

http://www.howtoforge.com/howto_linux_systemimager
http://www.howtoforge.com/dedicated_...e_systemimager

Falko has described here which files and folders you will have to backup:

http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2717
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28th February 2006, 12:01
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

I dont think there is any need for something like systemimager... I am using a hardware raid configuration so that should be enough... but I did want to make sure I did have all my customers data.... thanks for the other links.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28th February 2006, 20:03
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

But RAID isn't really a backup. It helps you if one of your hard disks fails. But imagine someone hacks your server and deletes important files. These changes would be mirrored to your other hard disk immediately which means you don't have a backup anymore.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st March 2006, 12:06
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Yes that is true... but as long as you cant login to the system as root or any other account from outside the network... ie not sat at the computer then that should cut the risk.

Using:
http://www.howtoforge.com/howto_linux_systemimager
http://www.howtoforge.com/dedicated_...e_systemimager

from what I have read means that I need another server to copy the images to which I dont have I only have one server.... so if you have any ideas how to create a system image with only one server I would be very greatfull.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st March 2006, 12:18
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
Default

Just rad through the system imager and it seems a good method and at a push I could setup a mall server with a big hard drive to hold the image, however if I am using hardware raid how will it restore to a new server... does the client install disk load the drivers needed for the raid card ect...

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2006, 12:34
till till is online now
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,994
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,647 Times in 4,457 Posts
Default

If you have a mini linux on your server or use a linux rescue cd that initializes your raid correctly, it should work.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 1st March 2006, 14:00
mphayesuk mphayesuk is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK, East Midlands
Posts: 517
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Send a message via MSN to mphayesuk
 
Default

"mini linux" not sure what that is.... and at the moment I dont use a rescue cd, I had to use a floppy disk with the raid drivers on to install suse 10 originally......
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Server Backup mphayesuk Server Operation 10 21st December 2007 13:41
Backup routine for ISPConfig-equipped server IntnsRed General 4 5th May 2006 18:29
TPS Fedora Core 4 Managing e-mail adr + Backup Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 9 22nd February 2006 15:59
Server Backup mphayesuk General 1 14th November 2005 17:33
Command Line backup themachine Feature Requests 0 17th October 2005 01:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.