Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th November 2008, 14:19
RKB RKB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default I need an injection of ISPConfig understanding

Hi,
I have the server all setup, ISPConfig installed and it's all good.

I want to host on the server about 12 websites that I own.

Should I, in admin setup a reseller (me), then setup a Client (me) under that reseller and then administrate the websites as a client.

Also I need to manage the websites on the server with ftpVoyager on a Vista machine, at the moment I can not get a connection, but I thinks that's because
I don't have the access set correctly.

Any guidance welcomed

Cheers

Ron
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 8th November 2008, 14:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,202
Thanks: 829
Thanked 5,422 Times in 4,264 Posts
Default

If you are the owner of all sites and dont need different ISPConfig logins for them, then dont create a reseller. Just create a client, you might name the client e.g. "own sites" and the create all sites under this client.

Quote:
Also I need to manage the websites on the server with ftpVoyager on a Vista machine, at the moment I can not get a connection, but I thinks that's because
I don't have the access set correctly.
To access the sites witha FTP client, create a user on the FTP & User tab of the website, enable the administrator checkbox for this user and use this username and password to connect with ftp.

For details, have a look at the first steps guide and manuals, you find them on ispconfig.org.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
RKB (8th November 2008)
  #3  
Old 9th November 2008, 12:59
RKB RKB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default OK, to DNS

Thanks for the reply, I have done what you said and it all looks a lot cleaner.

Now this is what I have done with the DNS stuff,
My Domain's and Domain names are held by a commercial webhosting business, I have;
reset the DNS to point to my new server ns1.XXX.com.au and pointed ns1.XXX.com.au to the static WAN IP that my ISP has provided 60.240.xxx.xxx

My Router IP is 192.168.1.1

My Server is 192.XXX.XX.XX

And I have set the DNS IP address for the sites in ISPConfig to 192.XXX.XX.XX (same as Server), but I think this is wrong.

When I go to a whats my IP site they say 220.245.180.133

So at this no site is 'visible' and I can not hook up the external FTP program.

I sincerely hope this is clear enough for someone to guide me in a forward direction.

Cheers

Ron

Last edited by RKB; 9th November 2008 at 13:03.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 9th November 2008, 14:16
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RKB View Post
And I have set the DNS IP address for the sites in ISPConfig to 192.XXX.XX.XX (same as Server), but I think this is wrong.
For DNS records, you must use your public IP address.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RKB View Post
When I go to a whats my IP site they say 220.245.180.133
That'S different from your router's public IP 60.240.xxx.xxx, so something's wrong here.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th November 2008, 21:58
RKB RKB is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 34
Thanks: 12
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
For DNS records, you must use your public IP address.

That'S different from your router's public IP 60.240.xxx.xxx, so something's wrong here.
When I check the Router Connection Status it says;
IP 60.240.xxx.xxx
Primary DNS 203.12.xxx.xxx

Does ISPConfig remove the need for me to manage/set the DNS server details at the location where my Domain Names are currently managed, www.webcity.com.au

Cheers

Ron

Last edited by RKB; 9th November 2008 at 22:10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th November 2008, 12:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

You can decide to have ISPConfig run your name server, but then you must go to your domain registrar's web interface and put in your own name server(s) as the authoritative name server(s) for each domain (see http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_dns_godaddy and http://www.howtoforge.com/ispconfig_...domain_schlund ). But of course, you can as well continue to use the current name servers - in this case you don't need to set up any DNS records in ISPConfig.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig setup - DNS, router and general access problems ingvar Installation/Configuration 6 31st July 2010 13:13
ISPConfig Conflic With Fedora 9 GDM rhuckle General 1 30th June 2009 01:58
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 12:58
ISPConfig 2.3.1-dev released till General 0 8th May 2006 22:18
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.