Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 3rd March 2006, 10:07
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

You can play around with inet_interfaces in /etc/postfix/main.cf (don't forget to restart Postfix after changes).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 6th March 2006, 06:32
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You can play around with inet_interfaces in /etc/postfix/main.cf (don't forget to restart Postfix after changes).
seems like inet_interfaces affect INCOMING emails...

my problem is with outgoing connections:

eg if i do a:
telnet remoteexample.com 25
> helo remoteexample.com

i get something like:
250 remoteexample.com Hello [203.81.39.41], pleased to meet you

seems like it is an OS or networking issue...

the question is that if i have multiple IP addresses in my server, when i connect outwords (whatever the service - mail/ftp etc, does it mean that the smallest ip address will always be seen by the remote server?)

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 6th March 2006, 07:55
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

I had a similar problem some weeks ago. Postfix is using the last IP that is configured in your network configuration, not the first as one might guess. The solution is to enter this directive to your postfix main.cf and restart postfix:

smtp_bind_address = 192.168.0.1

Of course replace the IP with the correct one
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 6th March 2006, 08:47
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
I had a similar problem some weeks ago. Postfix is using the last IP that is configured in your network configuration, not the first as one might guess. The solution is to enter this directive to your postfix main.cf and restart postfix:

smtp_bind_address = 192.168.0.1

Of course replace the IP with the correct one
this seems to work...
however even my "correct" ipaddress 203.81.39.42 is used:
yahoo and hotmail are still treating the email as SPAM...

Code:
X-YahooFilteredBulk: 203.81.39.42 
X-Originating-IP: [203.81.39.42] 
Return-Path: <user@quatiseasia.com> 
Authentication-Results: mta329.mail.mud.yahoo.com from=quatiseasia.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig) 
Received: from 203.81.39.42 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.42) by mta329.mail.mud.yahoo.com with SMTP; Sun, 05 Mar 2006 23:22:06 -0800 
Received: from quatiseasia.com (localhost.localdomain [127.0.0.1]) (using TLSv1 with cipher DHE-RSA-AES256-SHA (256/256 bits)) (No client certificate requested) by mail.quatiseasia.com (Postfix) with ESMTP id EAC011A60419 for <user@yahoo.com>; Mon, 6 Mar 2006 15:18:49 +0800 (SGT)
what else can i do?
check with yahoo?
or my ISP?

i was assigned this ip address (unused until now) since 2 years ago - it is unlikely that the IP address has been involved in any spamming activity
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 6th March 2006, 11:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Nevertheless I'd check the known spam blacklists.
Also make sure you have proper PTR and SPF records for your domain. And it might not be a bad idea to ask Yahoo why this happens.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 15th March 2006, 16:53
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,234
Thanks: 69
Thanked 21 Times in 17 Posts
 
Default

any idea where to get in contact with yahoo? my IP seems to be on their blacklist too.

###edit###

nevermind I found their contact form:

http://add.yahoo.com/fast/help/us/mail/cgi_defer

Last edited by Ovidiu; 15th March 2006 at 16:59.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slicker spam handling with Maildirs IntnsRed Feature Requests 9 30th March 2008 06:02
How to kill spam when spamassassin marks it spam kpimichael Suggest HOWTO 15 6th August 2007 16:44
Rerouted spam not going to .Spam/cur pjaric Installation/Configuration 2 12th February 2006 19:00
How to send mails using php mail function outside domain pankaj Technical 1 19th December 2005 22:09
Reroute spam to different mailbox? farao Installation/Configuration 5 28th September 2005 14:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:08.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.