Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2006, 09:09
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder

i'm not sure whether this problem is the result of my configuration, or due to my ISP...

mails sent (either via shell, or POP3) to yahoo / gmail (and i bet hotmail too) ends up in their SPAM folder

the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")

any way i can check or do?

thanks
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st March 2006, 09:32
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")
Do you have static IP addresses?

Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st March 2006, 09:51
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
Do you have static IP addresses?

Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?
yes i'm using static IP address...

i do not have PTR/SPF records (but i have other boxes at another isp without PTR records) they have no such problem...
btw, how do i set PTR / SPF? do i set from ISPConfig? set to what value?

i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"

====================================

pls help me understand...

my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com

if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,

when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?

or does it matter?

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st March 2006, 11:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,982 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Check if your IP is not on a blacklist as falko suggested. A good starting point for this is http://www.spamcop.net
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st March 2006, 14:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"

====================================
Code:
dig -x 203.81.39.42

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> -x 203.81.39.42
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 61294
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;42.39.81.203.in-addr.arpa.     IN      PTR

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
39.81.203.in-addr.arpa. 3600    IN      SOA     dns1.pacific.net.sg. hostmaster.pacific.net.sg. 1133150170 21600 1800 1209600 86400

;; Query time: 111 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar  1 13:36:12 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 109
You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st March 2006, 14:51
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.
thanks - have asked my ISP to add a PTR record...


btw, do you have answer for my previous question?
==================================================
pls help me understand...

my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com

if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,

when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?

or does it matter?

thanks
==================================================
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st March 2006, 22:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?
It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd March 2006, 10:50
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.
i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...

i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!

lets hope for the best...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2nd March 2006, 17:11
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcpy
i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...

i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!
I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 3rd March 2006, 02:57
cpcpy cpcpy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?
yes both are the same box - i'd prefer to change the IP to 42 rather than change DNS record

.42 is suppose to be my main IP and also my ispconfig ip

wonder why is it that .41 is seen by the remote server when i initiate a connection from my box to a remote server?

is it because 41 < 42 ?

is there something i can do so that .42 will be used ?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slicker spam handling with Maildirs IntnsRed Feature Requests 9 30th March 2008 06:02
How to kill spam when spamassassin marks it spam kpimichael Suggest HOWTO 15 6th August 2007 16:44
Rerouted spam not going to .Spam/cur pjaric Installation/Configuration 2 12th February 2006 19:00
How to send mails using php mail function outside domain pankaj Technical 1 19th December 2005 22:09
Reroute spam to different mailbox? farao Installation/Configuration 5 28th September 2005 14:52


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.