
1st March 2006, 09:09
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
all mails sent end up in yahoo/gmail SPAM folder
i'm not sure whether this problem is the result of my configuration, or due to my ISP...
mails sent (either via shell, or POP3) to yahoo / gmail (and i bet hotmail too) ends up in their SPAM folder
the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")
any way i can check or do?
thanks
|

1st March 2006, 09:32
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,595 Times in 2,446 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by cpcpy
the IP addresses i am using belonged to me for more than a year and i only use them recently (ie not likely to be "recycled")
|
Do you have static IP addresses?
Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?
|

1st March 2006, 09:51
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by falko
Do you have static IP addresses?
Do you have proper PTR ("reverse") DNS records for your IP addresses?
Do you have SPF records for your domains?
Are your IP addresses on some spam blacklist?
|
yes i'm using static IP address...
i do not have PTR/SPF records (but i have other boxes at another isp without PTR records) they have no such problem...
btw, how do i set PTR / SPF? do i set from ISPConfig? set to what value?
i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"
====================================
pls help me understand...
my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com
if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,
when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?
or does it matter?
thanks
|

1st March 2006, 11:32
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 31,911
Thanks: 693
Thanked 4,198 Times in 3,213 Posts
|
|
Check if your IP is not on a blacklist as falko suggested. A good starting point for this is http://www.spamcop.net
|

1st March 2006, 14:04
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,595 Times in 2,446 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by cpcpy
i've checked against http://www.dnsstuff.com/ - no error except
PTR test: "IPADDR has no reverse DNS entry; some mail servers may not accept your mail"
====================================
|
Code:
dig -x 203.81.39.42
; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> -x 203.81.39.42
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 61294
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;42.39.81.203.in-addr.arpa. IN PTR
;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
39.81.203.in-addr.arpa. 3600 IN SOA dns1.pacific.net.sg. hostmaster.pacific.net.sg. 1133150170 21600 1800 1209600 86400
;; Query time: 111 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Wed Mar 1 13:36:12 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 109
You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.
|

1st March 2006, 14:51
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by falko
You don't have a PTR record for your IP address. You must create it on dns1.pacific.net.sg. Maybe it's a good idea to contact the owner of that server to help you with this issue.
|
thanks - have asked my ISP to add a PTR record...
btw, do you have answer for my previous question?
==================================================
pls help me understand...
my main ISPConfig hostname is quatiseasia.com
and MX is mail.quatiseasia.com
if i add a new domain using ISPConfig (eg newdomain.com) with same IP address as quatiseasia.com,
when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?
or does it matter?
thanks
==================================================
|

1st March 2006, 22:36
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,595 Times in 2,446 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by cpcpy
when i send OUT a mail from user1@newdomain.com, the receipient mail server should be "talking" to mail.quatiseasia.com, or mail.newdomain.com ?
|
It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.
|

2nd March 2006, 10:50
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by falko
It doesn't matter, you can use any FQDN or even IP address that points to your server.
|
i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...
i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!
lets hope for the best...
|

2nd March 2006, 17:11
|
|
Super Moderator
|
|
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,665
Thanks: 1,896
Thanked 2,595 Times in 2,446 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by cpcpy
i am suspecting that this may matter because for some reason, the email header at yahoo shows:
=====================================
Received: from 203.81.39.41 (EHLO mail.quatiseasia.com) (203.81.39.41) by mta126.mail.re2.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 01 Mar 2006 19:24:04 -0800
=====================================
and the ip address of mail.quatiseasia.com is 203.81.39.42 - doesn't match 203.81.39.41 - and thus went straight into spam filter...
i've added a PTR record for 203.81.39.42 - maybe i need to wait for TTL of 24 hours before it will take effect and hopefully yahoo/hotmail will deliver my mails to inbox instead of junk mail folder!
|
I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?
|

3rd March 2006, 02:57
|
|
Member
|
|
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
|
|
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by falko
I thought it was for sending emails...
If 203.81.39.41 and 203.81.39.42 are both on the same server, why don't you simply change mail.quatiseasia.com DNS record to point to 203.81.39.41?
|
yes both are the same box - i'd prefer to change the IP to 42 rather than change DNS record
.42 is suppose to be my main IP and also my ispconfig ip
wonder why is it that .41 is seen by the remote server when i initiate a connection from my box to a remote server?
is it because 41 < 42 ?
is there something i can do so that .42 will be used ?
|
| Thread Tools |
|
|
| Display Modes |
Linear Mode
|
Posting Rules
|
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
HTML code is Off
|
|
|
All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:09.
|
|
Recent comments
1 day 4 hours ago
1 day 9 hours ago
1 day 14 hours ago
1 day 16 hours ago
2 days 6 hours ago
2 days 6 hours ago
2 days 11 hours ago
2 days 18 hours ago
2 days 18 hours ago
2 days 20 hours ago