Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 5th November 2008, 20:30
lubos lubos is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Belfast, UK - NI
Posts: 59
Thanks: 29
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Your welcome, make sure that you use dns-nameservers of your internet provider in all three, router, server and your PC internet settings and you should be able to connect to your website from inside of LAN. If you use your internal domain servers (router's or server's) it can point to your router. Who is your IPS btw? If its Virgin or NTL you can use 192.168.4.100 and 192.168.8.100. Other I do not know.
__________________
Safe computer? Only when unplugged.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 11th November 2008, 18:39
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Just a quick question about setting up the mail.

I setup an email account on isp for www.mydomain.co.uk lets say test@mydomain.co.uk.

I can log into squirrel mail on this domain. Now if I send an email to test@mydomain.co.uk I get the following failure notice.

Code:
Hi. This is the qmail-send program at yahoo.com.
I'm afraid I wasn't able to deliver your message to the following addresses.
This is a permanent error; I've given up. Sorry it didn't work out.

<test@mydomain.co.uk>:
77.xxx.xxx.xxx does not like recipient.
Remote host said: 554 5.7.1 <test@mydomain.servehttp.com>: Relay access denied
Giving up on 77.xxx.xxx.xxx.
Now the IP address given is the IP Address of my server, so the @ CNAME is working correctly at 123-reg.co.uk but it seems to be getting rejected by my server.

Is it because mydomain is re-routed through NOIP to my dynamic IP address?

Or have I missed something during the setup of ISPConfig?

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 12th November 2008, 13:59
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi,

Here is a bit more info.

This is from mail.log.ispconfigsave. I tried to send mail to a yahoo account from squirrelmail from ste@mydomain.co.uk but it looks like it tried to send it from web8_ste@example.com???

Code:
Nov 11 21:22:25 server postfix/smtp[8839]: B1D252DC6D6: host mx2.mail.eu.yahoo.com[77.238.177.142] refused to talk to me: 553 Mail from 77.xxx.xxx.xxx not allowed - 5.7.1 [BL21] Connections not accepted from IP addresses on Spamhaus PBL; see http://postmaster.yahoo.com/550-bl21.html [550
This is the part of the log if I try sending in the opposite direction ie yahoo to ste@mydomain.co.uk

Code:
Nov 12 12:57:09 server postfix/smtpd[26770]: connect from web25808.mail.ukl.yahoo.com[217.12.10.193]
Nov 12 12:57:09 server postfix/smtpd[26770]: NOQUEUE: reject: RCPT from web25808.mail.ukl.yahoo.com[217.12.10.193]: 554 5.7.1 <ste@myserver.servehttp.com>: Relay access denied; from=<myyahoo@yahoo.co.uk> to=<ste@myserver.servehttp.com> proto=SMTP helo=<web25808.mail.ukl.yahoo.com>
Nov 12 12:57:09 server postfix/smtpd[26770]: disconnect from web25808.mail.ukl.yahoo.com[217.12.10.193]
Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 12th November 2008, 14:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's the output of
Code:
dig mx mydomain.co.uk
?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StevenD View Post
Hi,

Here is a bit more info.

This is from mail.log.ispconfigsave. I tried to send mail to a yahoo account from squirrelmail from ste@mydomain.co.uk but it looks like it tried to send it from web8_ste@example.com???
You must set the correct sender address in the SquirrelMail settings of your account.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 12th November 2008, 19:00
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Contents of dig mx mydomain.co.uk is this.

Code:
; <<>> DiG 9.3.4-P1.1 <<>> mx mydomain.co.uk
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 28347
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mydomain.co.uk.              IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mydomain.co.uk.       86400   IN      CNAME   myserver.servehttp.com.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
servehttp.com.          60      IN      SOA     nf1.no-ip.com. hostmaster.no-ip. com. 2007134962 90 120 604800 60

;; Query time: 448 msec
;; SERVER: 192.168.2.1#53(192.168.2.1)
;; WHEN: Wed Nov 12 17:57:38 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 128
Also I have had a look into the problem with yahoo, rejecting the email because it is from an ip address
Code:
553 5.7.1 [BL21] Connections not accepted from IP addresses on Spamhaus PBL

In our continuing efforts to protect our users from unsolicited email, Yahoo! Mail does not accept SMTP connections from dynamic or residential IP addresses, as determined by the Spamhaus PBL. If you are seeing this error message, please do not retry sending your message using the same IP address. Instead, please contact your ISP for information on which SMTP server you are authorized to use for your outbound email.

If you think that your IP address has been listed in error, you or your email administrator should contact Spamhaus. Once your IP is de-listed by Spamhaus, Yahoo! Mail will automatically unblock your IP within 48 hours.
Have I set something up incorrectly or is it always sent via an IP address?

Just a note it works fine if I send to an email address that is not yahoo, but that is not very good for any clients.

Thanks

Steve

Last edited by StevenD; 12th November 2008 at 19:16.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 13th November 2008, 15:17
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

The problem is that you're sending from a dynamic IP address, and most dynamic IP addresses are blacklisted nowadays.

You can relay through another mail server to circumvent this: http://www.howtoforge.com/postfix_re...her_mailserver
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 13th November 2008, 22:37
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Thanks for that, I will try to set it up to relay the messages.

Could you help me with the problem I have as to me not receiving emails?

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 14th November 2008, 13:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Your MX record is looking weird. You did a dig mx mydomain.co.uk, and in the ANSWER section it shows a CNAME instead of an MX. I've never seen this before. Can you post the real domain name so that I can test myself?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 14th November 2008, 15:10
StevenD StevenD is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 43
Thanks: 8
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Hi Falko,

Its www.f-football.co.uk

This is being rerouted from 123-reg.co.uk where I purchased my domain name from, so i setup the DNS as you said with @ CNAME writables.servehttp.com and www CNAME writables.servehttp.com

The writables.servehttp.com is from NOIP.com that points to my dynamic ip.

Thanks

Steve
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 15th November 2008, 13:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

I'm getting this as well:

Code:
mh1:~# dig mx f-football.co.uk

; <<>> DiG 9.3.4 <<>> mx f-football.co.uk
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 59898
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;f-football.co.uk.              IN      MX

;; ANSWER SECTION:
f-football.co.uk.       86400   IN      CNAME   writables.servehttp.com.

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
servehttp.com.          60      IN      SOA     nf1.no-ip.com. hostmaster.no-ip.com. 2007144169 90 120 604800 60

;; Query time: 248 msec
;; SERVER: 213.191.92.84#53(213.191.92.84)
;; WHEN: Sat Nov 15 13:21:52 2008
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 128

mh1:~#
Can you try to set up the MX record as follows?

Code:
f-football.co.uk.         IN      MX 10   writables.servehttp.com.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig 3.0.0.6 Beta released till General 38 21st September 2008 19:15
ISPConfig 3.0.0.5 Beta Released till General 77 23rd July 2008 12:14
seperate Mailserver & ISPconfig r00ty General 1 26th May 2007 19:40
Migrating from Virtualmin to ISPConfig xare Installation/Configuration 3 16th July 2006 12:58
SP-Server Setup - Ubuntu 5.10 "Breezy Badger" - Page 6 (changes) LuisC-SM HOWTO-Related Questions 0 21st April 2006 15:16


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:09.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.