Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 1st March 2006, 06:03
drsintoma drsintoma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default How do I enable automatic backup?

Hi everyone.

That's it. How do I enable and configure automatic backup? I've been searching around and can't find anything.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 1st March 2006, 09:37
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Have a look at these tutorials: http://www.howtoforge.com/howto_linux_systemimager
http://www.howtoforge.com/dedicated_...e_systemimager
http://www.howtoforge.com/linux_rdiff_backup
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st March 2006, 09:43
drsintoma drsintoma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks, I know about backup tools. But I was talking about the backup that appears in the changelog (2.1.2).

Changelog
---------

- Added module for client and reseller invoices.
- Added slowenian error pages.
- Added automatic backup script for all customers.
- Improved update manager.
- Updated swedish, french and italian language files.
- Bugfix: Missing module error in WebFTP is fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 1st March 2006, 11:30
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

The backup runs automatically and stores a tar.gz backup file in the "backup" directory of each website.

If you dont have a backup directory in the website directories, please check if this line is in your root crontab:

Code:
05 02 * * * /root/ispconfig/php/php /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/backup.php &> /dev/null
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st March 2006, 15:27
drsintoma drsintoma is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 9
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
The backup runs automatically and stores a tar.gz backup file in the "backup" directory of each website.

If you dont have a backup directory in the website directories, please check if this line is in your root crontab:

Code:
05 02 * * * /root/ispconfig/php/php /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/backup.php &> /dev/null
Now everything make sense. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th April 2006, 10:34
dumb-medic dumb-medic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

hello,

i have this line

Code:
05 02 * * * /root/ispconfig/php/php /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/backup.php &> /dev/null
in the crontab, but no backup-folders.
what can be wrong?

regards,
dumb-medic
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th April 2006, 15:51
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

What happens if you run this command:
Code:
/root/ispconfig/php/php /root/ispconfig/scripts/shell/backup.php
on the shell (as root)?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25th April 2006, 17:03
dumb-medic dumb-medic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

simply nothing, bash prompt.
in /var/log/messages no entry
and again no backup-folders.

Last edited by dumb-medic; 25th April 2006 at 17:05.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25th April 2006, 21:50
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

The bash prompt returns without errors? How long does it take until the prompt returns?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th April 2006, 12:55
dumb-medic dumb-medic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

hitting enter brings the prompt, same second.

Last edited by dumb-medic; 26th April 2006 at 12:57.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ERROR: The PHP binary coming with ISPConfig does not work properly on your system! micko_escalade Installation/Configuration 35 30th March 2007 11:31
Backup routine for ISPConfig-equipped server IntnsRed General 4 5th May 2006 17:29
TPS Fedora Core 4 Managing e-mail adr + Backup Hagforce HOWTO-Related Questions 9 22nd February 2006 14:59
ISPConfig Failure on SuSe 9.3 gimhan90 Installation/Configuration 13 2nd February 2006 10:29
How to disable automatic backup? ddelbia General 4 22nd January 2006 16:40


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.