Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 5th November 2005, 03:57
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Hi sorry to raise the dead.

I am now on a Debian system (Ubuntu). Can you please tell me where I can edit so that I can browse the websites using my FQDN inside my network.

hosts
Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost linux linux.myfqdn.com
192.168.2.100 linux.myfqdn.com linux
192.168.2.101 linux-ip1.myfqdn.com linux-ip1
thank again
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 5th November 2005, 04:06
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

I think I fixed it myself. But will it cause problems from browsing outside the network? I also maintain 3 other FQDN. Can I also add the domain names in the line 192.168.2.100? Will doing so complicate things?

Code:
127.0.0.1 localhost.localdomain localhost linux linux.myfqdn.com
192.168.2.100 linux.myfqdn.com myfqdn.com www.myfqdn.com linux
192.168.2.101 linux-ip1.myfqdn.com linux-ip1
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 5th November 2005, 13:43
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
I think I fixed it myself. But will it cause problems from browsing outside the network?
Not if you always use your desktop from within your network. If it's a notebook that you sometimes use outside your network then you got a problem.

But you could set up a DNS server in your local network that resolves the domains in question to their IP address in the local network.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 5th November 2005, 14:04
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Ok, now this is really getting on my nerves. I have 4 domains set up on ispc installed in Breezy Badger. The main domain with it's own IP address 192.168.2.100 works with and without the www prefix. I have 3 other domains under IP address 192.168.2.101. All but 1 domain works! The rest of the domains will either get a connection refused or it will load the default domain on IP 192.168.2.100. I don't really understand what's going on.

Can you please tell me how to set up the DNS for puters inside the network?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 5th November 2005, 15:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
Ok, now this is really getting on my nerves. I have 4 domains set up on ispc installed in Breezy Badger. The main domain with it's own IP address 192.168.2.100 works with and without the www prefix. I have 3 other domains under IP address 192.168.2.101. All but 1 domain works! The rest of the domains will either get a connection refused or it will load the default domain on IP 192.168.2.100. I don't really understand what's going on.
Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
Can you please tell me how to set up the DNS for puters inside the network?
http://www.howtoforge.com/howto_bind_chroot_debian
http://www.howtoforge.com/debian_dns
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 5th November 2005, 16:29
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

Code:
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State       PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:*                     LISTEN     7667/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                     LISTEN     8069/ispconfig_http
tcp        0      0 linux.newmediafa:domain *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                   *:*                     LISTEN     8550/proftpd: (acce
tcp        0      0 localhost:domain        *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 localhost:domain        *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 linux-ip1.newmed:domain *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.locald:domain *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN     18032/master
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp        0      0 linux-ip1.newmedi:45837 64.233.167.:xmpp-client ESTABLISHED9795/gaim
tcp        0      0 linux-ip1.newmedi:45838 64.233.167.:xmpp-client ESTABLISHED9795/gaim
tcp        0      0 linux-ip1.newmedi:34178 cs47.msg.dcn.yahoo:5050 ESTABLISHED9795/gaim
tcp6       0      0 *:imaps                 *:*                     LISTEN     7564/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3s                 *:*                     LISTEN     7605/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                     LISTEN     7582/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:imap2                 *:*                     LISTEN     7541/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:www                   *:*                     LISTEN     24836/apache2
tcp6       0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN     7865/sshd
tcp6       0      0 ip6-localhost:953       *:*                     LISTEN     8520/named
tcp6       0      0 *:https                 *:*                     LISTEN     24836/apache2
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 5th November 2005, 16:37
domino domino is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 364
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Default

About the links for creating an internal DNS. It seams a bit of an overkill to have to install from the how-to's just to be able to access the webserver internally. What I can't seam to grasp is why it is so easy to be able to add the domains in the windows hosts file, yet almost impossible to duplicate on Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 5th November 2005, 16:47
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by domino
About the links for creating an internal DNS. It seams a bit of an overkill to have to install from the how-to's just to be able to access the webserver internally. What I can't seam to grasp is why it is so easy to be able to add the domains in the windows hosts file, yet almost impossible to duplicate on Linux.
But you can't put the domains in /etc/hosts on the server and then expect the clients to know where the domains are. You have to put the domains in each clients hosts file, not on the server. Or do I misunderstand something?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.