Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11th October 2008, 15:20
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default Configure VMware 2.0 Server for only one IP address

I'm setting up a Ubuntu 8.04 server with VMware server 2.0 (Public domain version). I have multiple IP addresses on my server. I want VMware server to listen to the default 80 and 443 ports on one IP address and I want to run a standard Apache2 server on 2 other IP addresses.

The default installation of VMware is configured to listen to all IP addresses available in the server. As a result, Apache2 does not start because the ports are already in use. I've been trying to figure out how to modify the by VMware used Tomcat instance to listen to only one IP address, but so far no luck.

Any suggestions?

Martin
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th October 2008, 17:15
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

I'm not sure, but maybe you have to modify /etc/vmware/hostd/config.xml.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2008, 18:01
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

Tried that, but not luck. You seem to be able to change the port, but couldn't find how to add the IP address. I also played with modification of /usr/lib/vmware/webAccess/tomcat/apache-tomcat-6.0.16/conf/server.xml, but that didn't work for me either (yet).

Martin
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th October 2008, 16:32
oriongr oriongr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

By default the web interface of Vmware 2 listens to port 8222 and 8333 for secure..You want to change that? You can do that on the installation of vmware... as for the Apache config make sure that it listens to your other IP and not to * (all)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th October 2008, 20:50
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
Default

I will try to be more clear on my objectives:

I have an ispconfig server, using 3 IP addresses for websites. I modified ispconfig to listen to port 443 on only one dedicated additional IP. So, I've used now 4 IP addresses.

I wanted to configure VMware to listen to port 80/443 on another separate IP address on that same server. However, VMware claims all IP addresses on the server, so inluding the ones reserved for ispconfig. I wanted it to use the fifth IP address.

As a workaround I have now reconfigured VMware to use the default 8222 and 8333 addresses. That works. But in the end I want to have everything on 80/443, as I sometimes have to work behind a proxy that filters everything but 80/443. In that case I won't be able to connect to my VMware server running on 8222/8333.

Also, combining VMware and ispconfig makes ispconfig complain about Apache not running, but it is running. I will have to figure that one out also......
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 14th October 2008, 19:52
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

ISPConfig tries to check Apache on localhost (127.0.0.1). If Apache's not listening on that IP, then ISPConfig shows it as offline.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14th October 2008, 19:57
martinfst martinfst is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hilversum, The Netherlands
Posts: 880
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts
Send a message via MSN to martinfst Send a message via Skype™ to martinfst
 
Default

Thanks Falko. Found it at the same time you posted your response. See also http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...42&postcount=1
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
apache, tomcat, ubuntu, vmware

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mail server using Postfix, Dovecot, Mysql... Postfix virtual maps doesn't work?? tarasbuljba HOWTO-Related Questions 33 28th May 2010 14:33
FTP cannot open remote folder!?! andysm849 Server Operation 23 16th October 2008 23:34
Email Clients cannot send mail iverson0881 Installation/Configuration 3 8th May 2008 08:34
Problem with VMWare Server on Ubuntu 6.10 anrapas HOWTO-Related Questions 1 29th March 2007 13:47
Duplicate virtual hosts bosei General 13 22nd December 2005 17:48


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.