#1  
Old 10th October 2008, 02:43
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default Hardware Upgrade question

running FC9 x86_64 with ISPConfig on a mobo with AMd Phenom quad cpu, RAID1.

I want to move my install to a new mobo with an Intel quad cpu, RAID1.

Question: I know I can do a fresh install and perform the ISPConfig migration but I'm wondering if I could actually save plenty of time and just plop the exisiting harddrives into the new setup of a new mobo and Intel cpu.

I would think that the kernel in FC9 x86_64 has and can perform the needed changes, and everything in terms of ISPConfig and server would run fine.

Any thoughts?

btw, the NIC will be the exact same as well (PCI based gigabit...not onboard)

TIA.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10th October 2008, 14:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

I think it could work.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10th October 2008, 18:20
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

well yeah me too....haha

thanx for the input Falko, I think I'll go for it after backing up the data first as if I was going to do a full migration.

Has anyone created a simple script to do the backup for moving ispconfig yet? just thought I'd ask in case I missed it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th October 2008, 18:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

I haven't created a script, but you can find instructions in this thread: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...ving+ispconfig
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12th October 2008, 01:40
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 220
Thanks: 23
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
 
Default

update: did the hardware only change and it didn't work. 1st problem was a clocksource tsc unstable issue: fixed that by turning off hpet in bios. Then I wasn't able to mount the Volxxxxx so FC9 woun't Boot..Boot Failed. I thought is was due to SATA in AHCI vs IDE mode so I tried both....didn't help.

Anyway, put back the original system and runs great, so I'll now do this the proper way....performing "moving ispconfig".
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about the hardware requirement for mysql cluster with load balancing??? johN5Five^ HOWTO-Related Questions 3 12th April 2007 17:06
Upgrade question for "Virtual Users And Domains With Postfix, Courier And MySQL" emresumengen HOWTO-Related Questions 3 1st December 2006 15:33
Question on upgrade to 2.2.5 ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 2nd August 2006 13:15
Upgrade from 2.2.1 tot 2.2.2 howto? Herbert Installation/Configuration 3 5th May 2006 21:12
fedor core upgrade rahulgandhi Kernel Questions 1 11th April 2006 15:14


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.