#1  
Old 23rd September 2008, 00:24
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default stats wrong

People,

Somehow ISPconfig is showing wrong bandwidth stats.
ISPconfig says that my machine with all domains used over 400GB this month, but the stats of my provider say only 50GB.

What could be wrong that ISPconfig comes to this stats making?


Thanks alot!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd September 2008, 10:47
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,011
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,378 Times in 4,225 Posts
Default

ISPConfig is counting the stats from the log files, e.g. apache log file and ftp log file. If ISPConfig says that there were 400 GB, then I would trust it that there were accounted 400 GB in the logfiles. But what you have to take in account that e.g. apache logs the size of a file where you start the download, it does not mean that it has been completely downloaded.

So if you have some larger files and poeple download them only partly, apache will report much highre downloads then your ISP who is measuring the real traffic at the network switch.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th September 2008, 02:05
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Hmm then ISPconfig stats aren't really reliable are they? How can you then correct monitor how much each clients uses?

It would be a great request to have ispconfig monitoring the correct stats!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th September 2008, 08:44
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,011
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,378 Times in 4,225 Posts
Default

Quote:
How can you then correct monitor how much each clients uses?
There is no such way except of the logfiles.

Quote:
It would be a great request to have ispconfig monitoring the correct stats!
The tstas are nt wrong in general. I run several ISPConfig servers and the stats are fine for me.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24th September 2008, 23:39
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What is wrong then if ISPconfig show 400GB used and my ISP 100GB? :P
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29th September 2008, 22:36
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

What I don't understand is:

How can something like cPanel show correct stats en ISPconfig not.
Only by using the logs files as input for the stats?

Wouldn't it be better to change this to something more better?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29th September 2008, 22:46
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,011
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,378 Times in 4,225 Posts
Default

Ok, then tell me how cpanel does it. Do you have cpanel on the same server at the same moment so you know that the exact same site did had other statistics in cpanel?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29th September 2008, 22:51
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I run cPanel on other servers and those stats are mainly correct.
ISPconfig uses the logfiles as statsgenerator I asumed.

If my switch says port 4 (server that runs ISPconfig) used 150GB, and ISPconfig says 460GB, then I asume ISPconfig gets complete wrong stats.

Like said above ISPconfig counts all downloaded files even if they are not fully downloaded... so those stats are not 100% correct. While cPanel counts them always correct.

So what feature does cPanel use to get the stats correct? Isn't this feature not something to implent in ISPconfig to get thet stats more correct then way of the scale?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th September 2008, 23:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,011
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,378 Times in 4,225 Posts
Default

Quote:
Isn't this feature not something to implent in ISPconfig to get thet stats more correct then way of the scale?
Ok, then tell me how cpanel gets the stats. They can not come from the logfiles as this is what ISPConfig does right now. Please read what I wrote above in post 2, apache is counting the download of files more the once in its logfile, not ispconfig.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29th September 2008, 23:29
ddouma ddouma is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 56
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I don't know exactly how cPanel gets it stats from.

But I still wonder why the stats are so off the scale.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistics Wrong tal56 General 14 10th December 2008 12:56
missing webalizer stats bolero Installation/Configuration 15 12th November 2008 16:28
database stats shows wrong usage information? binaryrogue General 2 15th August 2008 18:54
How to enable Stats to WebSite? AsDsL General 3 7th September 2007 08:01
Installation Troubles bswinnerton Installation/Configuration 4 29th July 2007 16:56


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.