Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 8th October 2008, 19:39
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Install Choice and Why..Sorry for the length!

Objective: learn the right way to perform the perfect working system. The following are questions that readers that are new to linux/webservers/hosting/networkconfig and so on, would really like or need to know. Mostly me.

•Installing the Physical “Perfect” Server- If I have a static IP from my ISP [i.e at&t] should I go ahead and set my server up to this static IP or use your example in the how2 perfect server with 192.168.x.x and then use port forwarding?

•If we should still use the 192.168.x.x and the rest then step down to the next question otherwise, if we can use our static ip here, how would we determine the IP of the gateway/subnet on say a 7x.x.x.x static IP?

•When we name our server, what should we keep in mind? Will we need to use this name anywhere in our lives again such as adding it as an A record somewhere? Part 2. When we name our server, the Host.domain.com [your example is server1.example.com]….should the domain.com part be of a domain that we own or can I call “host” whatever I want and domain.com whatever I want. Example, red.bluebubblesarefunny.com [meaning just whatever you can think up at the time of install?


•Now on the install of ISPconfig, I feel this is a big question. When you are prompted to answer the question for host and the example was “www”. I found that this has to be a real name of a real domain you own but is this going to become the DNS server name or is this a NS name…what is the importance of this choice to our lives. Now, let’s say you answered “yes”, this is your DNS or maybe NS name. Can we use this domain in the future as a real site? I really think this is very important for people to understand. We need to know what to do with that domain…

•If I purchased the domain from someexamepleplace.com and I log in to look at the status of the domain i.e. bluebubblesarefunny.com (no made-up host name at this point by the way) , maybe to update my address for whois or something…NOW here is the big question, what should I do with the domain while I am logged into my account? Should I point it to say….the name I entered in ISPConfig i.e.[www]. myrealdomainIown.com or maybe the server name red.bluebubblesarefunny.com?

•With the answers I am sure I will reinstall OS and ISPconfig but I do want to point out that when I used my still active hosting company Godaddy, when I setup an account and uploaded via ftp and installed the site i.e. vBulletin. I didn’t have to do anything more. When a user signed up, the email went out to let them know their password and so on. Why do you think so many people are having email problems? I think it is due to port 25 being blocked if they are hosting from their homes like me but what is your thoughts out there? Should there be a howto only on email and the different possibilities real world users will face? You see, it gets sort of hard to try to search down the exact issue and I am sure it is just as hard to do a how to on email and ISPconfig but maybe it can be nailed down to a workable section.

thanks!

happz
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 12th October 2008, 17:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happz View Post
•Installing the Physical “Perfect” Server- If I have a static IP from my ISP [i.e at&t] should I go ahead and set my server up to this static IP or use your example in the how2 perfect server with 192.168.x.x and then use port forwarding?
Is your server in a data center, or is it behind a router?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12th October 2008, 20:23
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Thanks you...

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko View Post
Is your server in a data center, or is it behind a router?
Server is behind a router.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13th October 2008, 10:08
Grey Grey is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 70
Thanks: 9
Thanked 18 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Is that server at home/at your workplace behind some NAT router or are you speaking of a "normal" IP router you get from an ISP with a static line? Or asking the other way: is the server located in a network (LAN/DMZ) behind a router with only one (or few) IP address(es) or does/can it have its own public IP address?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13th October 2008, 12:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by happz View Post
Server is behind a router.
Then you must use the private IP address and set up port-forwarding on your router.

Quote:
Now on the install of ISPconfig, I feel this is a big question. When you are prompted to answer the question for host and the example was “www”. I found that this has to be a real name of a real domain you own but is this going to become the DNS server name or is this a NS name…what is the importance of this choice to our lives. Now, let’s say you answered “yes”, this is your DNS or maybe NS name. Can we use this domain in the future as a real site? I really think this is very important for people to understand. We need to know what to do with that domain…
This can be any hostname whose A record is pointing to the server. It will be used in the URL for the ISPConfig web interface (although you can still use any other hostname or IP that's pointing to the server after the installation).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13th October 2008, 18:41
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 217
Thanks: 21
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

These are really good questions for newbies to understand so I'll try to help as much as possible since I went through the same issues/questions awhile back. Anybody please correct me if my answers are wrong.

•Installing the Physical “Perfect” Server- If I have a static IP from my ISP [i.e at&t] should I go ahead and set my server up to this static IP or use your example in the how2 perfect server with 192.168.x.x and then use port forwarding?

already answered: since you're behind a router, open up ports and forward the traffic. I have smoothwall as my router/firewall so I have complete control. this way you can disable completely the firewall on your server

•When we name our server, what should we keep in mind? Will we need to use this name anywhere in our lives again such as adding it as an A record somewhere? Part 2. When we name our server, the Host.domain.com [your example is server1.example.com]….should the domain.com part be of a domain that we own or can I call “host” whatever I want and domain.com whatever I want. Example, red.bluebubblesarefunny.com [meaning just whatever you can think up at the time of install?

It's your name server so you can call it whatever you want. the server itself will be the DNS server and you can host whatever domain you want ON the server itself providing you have the DNS setup through ispconfig.

•If I purchased the domain from someexamepleplace.com and I log in to look at the status of the domain i.e. bluebubblesarefunny.com (no made-up host name at this point by the way) , maybe to update my address for whois or something…NOW here is the big question, what should I do with the domain while I am logged into my account? Should I point it to say….the name I entered in ISPConfig i.e.[www]. myrealdomainIown.com or maybe the server name red.bluebubblesarefunny.com?

If you're using godaddy, you register the domain as a nameserver then point your other domain to that name server. search around, I found my answers on these forums alone.

•With the answers I am sure I will reinstall OS and ISPconfig but I do want to point out that when I used my still active hosting company Godaddy, when I setup an account and uploaded via ftp and installed the site i.e. vBulletin. I didn’t have to do anything more. When a user signed up, the email went out to let them know their password and so on. Why do you think so many people are having email problems? I think it is due to port 25 being blocked if they are hosting from their homes like me but what is your thoughts out there? Should there be a howto only on email and the different possibilities real world users will face? You see, it gets sort of hard to try to search down the exact issue and I am sure it is just as hard to do a how to on email and ISPconfig but maybe it can be nailed down to a workable section.

Not really sure what you mean above, but for email coming from your house, you should contact your ISP to set your ip address/server as a RDNS (reverse dns). You may also need to have them report to certain lists (like trend micro's MAPS list) that your ip address is NOT a dynamic residential address anymore, otherwise you'll still be blocked.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Turbanator For This Useful Post:
happz (16th October 2008)
  #7  
Old 16th October 2008, 02:45
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbanator View Post
These are really good questions for newbies to understand so I'll try to help as much as possible since I went through the same issues/questions awhile back. Anybody please correct me if my answers are wrong.

•Installing the Physical “Perfect” Server- If I have a static IP from my ISP [i.e at&t] should I go ahead and set my server up to this static IP or use your example in the how2 perfect server with 192.168.x.x and then use port forwarding?

already answered: since you're behind a router, open up ports and forward the traffic. I have smoothwall as my router/firewall so I have complete control. this way you can disable completely the firewall on your server

•When we name our server, what should we keep in mind? Will we need to use this name anywhere in our lives again such as adding it as an A record somewhere? Part 2. When we name our server, the Host.domain.com [your example is server1.example.com]….should the domain.com part be of a domain that we own or can I call “host” whatever I want and domain.com whatever I want. Example, red.bluebubblesarefunny.com [meaning just whatever you can think up at the time of install?

It's your name server so you can call it whatever you want. the server itself will be the DNS server and you can host whatever domain you want ON the server itself providing you have the DNS setup through ispconfig.

•If I purchased the domain from someexamepleplace.com and I log in to look at the status of the domain i.e. bluebubblesarefunny.com (no made-up host name at this point by the way) , maybe to update my address for whois or something…NOW here is the big question, what should I do with the domain while I am logged into my account? Should I point it to say….the name I entered in ISPConfig i.e.[www]. myrealdomainIown.com or maybe the server name red.bluebubblesarefunny.com?

If you're using godaddy, you register the domain as a nameserver then point your other domain to that name server. search around, I found my answers on these forums alone.

•With the answers I am sure I will reinstall OS and ISPconfig but I do want to point out that when I used my still active hosting company Godaddy, when I setup an account and uploaded via ftp and installed the site i.e. vBulletin. I didn’t have to do anything more. When a user signed up, the email went out to let them know their password and so on. Why do you think so many people are having email problems? I think it is due to port 25 being blocked if they are hosting from their homes like me but what is your thoughts out there? Should there be a howto only on email and the different possibilities real world users will face? You see, it gets sort of hard to try to search down the exact issue and I am sure it is just as hard to do a how to on email and ISPconfig but maybe it can be nailed down to a workable section.

Not really sure what you mean above, but for email coming from your house, you should contact your ISP to set your ip address/server as a RDNS (reverse dns). You may also need to have them report to certain lists (like trend micro's MAPS list) that your ip address is NOT a dynamic residential address anymore, otherwise you'll still be blocked.
Hey, that info was awesome! thanks to all! Now the most important of all is the last question. i have created my server with centos and ispconfig for one reason and one reaon only. to host multiple website without paying some hosting company hard earned money. On my server i have many sites hosted. yes, they all work...you can www to them all and they even run ffmpeg and the works...lots of video sites and i'm real happy and just can't say enough.

BUT...there is one thing that has not ever worked. no not one time has this worked. EMAIL. So let me ask this way. Has any one of you out there ever hosted a site based upon a "perfect" server configuration and ispconfig from out of you house via a dsl connection using a linksys router with port forwarding and the email worked? nothing relating to the websites php mail system will work for me. nothing. Now, please understand...i can log into roundcube and yes..emails are there when i just want to send one to test and when i email from anything...hotmail, msn, yahoo, and so on that works....but i cannnot understand why from the "WEBSITE" nothing.

i have posted my logs many many times. yes there are signs of port 25 but you can also read the at&t doesn't block 25 but oh well...yes, i've set up relay...it looks like it goes by looking at the logs but since nothing has ever work, i really don't know what a good log looks like. I have linksys router with home computer converted to server with centos and ispconfig. att has provided a free static ip and uses pppoe to get to router from the dsl moto modem.

Now, i read that the server1.example.com is my name server. By default the name server shows as the name you entered when installing ispconifig right? that is what mine did...as a matter of fact is says just like this::::: NS1 then ::a box::::www.somenameiown dot com...not sure what the www is in there...should'nt it be ns1.somename dot com and for that matter, should we actually add the NS1 part or just put domainname dot come in the box....? truly i want to say thanks for the help...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 16th October 2008, 04:47
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 217
Thanks: 21
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Default

I'm not a pro by any means so I wouldn't be able to help unless I had actual screen shots of your ispconfig setup including DNS.

I wonde rif the problem is that you need to either use ATT's outgoing servers as your external smtp server, or you ned to setup reverse dns....again, I could be way off base though.

BTW, do you have a howto to setup an ffmpeg site...is it clipshare?
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Turbanator For This Useful Post:
happz (17th October 2008)
  #9  
Old 17th October 2008, 02:47
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

to answer your ffmpeg question:::::do you need ffmpeg installed and configured or just how to install the script itself? I can show/help with both::::::::

Now, i have set up my att smtp server to relay which is why i can send and receive from msn, aol and so on via web client i.e. outlook......but it is a mystery to why the website mail function will not work. I will provide screen shots when i get to my laptop tomorrow.
By the way, can some else try a test for me? download and install a non-beta smf forum script on an ispconfig run server and then try to install plug-ins and add themes and such....let me know if you run into any problems...i would be real interested to know your results but nonetheless, this is about ispconfig and figuring out why php mail will not work on an ispconfig'd server.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 17th October 2008, 03:30
Turbanator Turbanator is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 217
Thanks: 21
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
 
Default

Sorry if the following question seems repetitive, but what part of php mail isn't working? So you say emailing through ispconfig as a mail server is working fine, but mail through the website itself like from a Contact Us webform does not work....is that clear?

Sounds like a code problem, my sites php mail work fine. Can you email from the php mail to yourself on your own domain email address?

As for the ffmpeg...I was thinking of installing a clipshare site but not right now so I was just wondering if you had some simple instructions. no worries.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.