Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th February 2006, 18:31
ovis ovis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Prepairing for hosting

Hello,

I can find enough documentation about a situation i am in:

I want to install the ISP-Config system on a server at home and then when i am ready, go to the big serverfarm and put my nice and newly setup 1U server in the rack.

Wat do i need to chance there?

All the certificates , SSL, POP, IMAP,
The hostname + ip adresses.
Wich configuration files
Mysql things ?

Is there documentation out there that describes this situation?

I think its a common situation that you configure your server at home or in your office, Than go to your colocation and leave youre server there.

So the question is what to change if i move the server to an other place.
Maybe there are things to be changed in the mysql database things i didnt think of.

A step by step route to take.
Maybe someone else allready took this route before, ill be glad to hear.

Thanks in advance

Ovis
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ovis For This Useful Post:
teencelom (18th July 2012)
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th February 2006, 18:44
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

I would set it up with the correct hostname and certificates when it is at home. I would also make sure it uses its final destination IP address as a temporary measure when it is at home.

Though I don't see much point in setting it up at home first. I've never seen any of our servers - or even been within a hundred miles of them!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 26th February 2006, 19:13
ovis ovis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
I would set it up with the correct hostname and certificates when it is at home. I would also make sure it uses its final destination IP address as a temporary measure when it is at home.

Though I don't see much point in setting it up at home first. I've never seen any of our servers - or even been within a hundred miles of them!
Thanks for the quick reply.

Maybe becouce we build the 1U ourself and have to manually install it in the rack of our provider, we install it at home first. The only thing i know is that
the Common Name of a certificate should be the FQDN and maybe it stalles when booting from an other IP.

This probably makes good material for an FAQ, hopefully there more people with this exeperience,

Gr Ovis
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ovis For This Useful Post:
teencelom (18th July 2012)
  #4  
Old 26th February 2006, 20:23
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

You must change the IP address (don't know which distribution you use otherwise I could tell you which file to edit), then have a look at your Apache configuration and at /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and replace the IP address if it is in there, also in /etc/postfix/main.cf, then in /etc/proftpd.conf and its included files (some of them have an IP address in their name so you must change the file name, too), and then in the ISPConfig web interface (under Management -> Server -> Settings). You can then check the ISPConfig MySQL database if the old IP address is still in there and replace it, if necessary.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 1st March 2006, 21:45
ovis ovis is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 28
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You must change the IP address (don't know which distribution you use otherwise I could tell you which file to edit), then have a look at your Apache configuration and at /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and replace the IP address if it is in there, also in /etc/postfix/main.cf, then in /etc/proftpd.conf and its included files (some of them have an IP address in their name so you must change the file name, too), and then in the ISPConfig web interface (under Management -> Server -> Settings). You can then check the ISPConfig MySQL database if the old IP address is still in there and replace it, if necessary.
I made an inventory of the files on the harddisk that contains the ip address
of the installation location. I learned that thats the only thing that differ.

/etc/network/interfaces
/etc/hosts
/etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf
/etc/proftpd_ispconfig.conf

And now the question : How will named react to a sudden change of IP ?

/var/lib/named/etc/bind/*
/etc/bind/*

Does this happen automagicly

Or do i need to do some CLI magic first ?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st March 2006, 21:58
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,739 Times in 2,574 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ovis
And now the question : How will named react to a sudden change of IP ?

/var/lib/named/etc/bind/*
/etc/bind/*

Does this happen automagicly

Or do i need to do some CLI magic first ?
If named has zones with the old IP address, then you must change the IP address there, too, otherwise your domains will point to the old IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12th October 2006, 23:22
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You must change the IP address (don't know which distribution you use otherwise I could tell you which file to edit), then have a look at your Apache configuration and at /root/ispconfig/httpd/conf/httpd.conf and replace the IP address if it is in there, also in /etc/postfix/main.cf, then in /etc/proftpd.conf and its included files (some of them have an IP address in their name so you must change the file name, too), and then in the ISPConfig web interface (under Management -> Server -> Settings). You can then check the ISPConfig MySQL database if the old IP address is still in there and replace it, if necessary.
The server I'm running ISPConfig on has moved to a different rack, and has been assigned a new range of IP addresses. For now, the old IPs are being routed to the new location, but that will have to change soon.

I have three IPs to use. I want to use one for most of the public-facing sites, one for ISPConfig admin, running on the normal https port becasue port 81 gets blocked by too many places, and the other for a public-facing site that needs its own SSL certificate.

I decided to try moving just one site to the new IP to start with. I thought that I would be able to do it this way:

1. Add the new IP addresses on ISPConfig | Management | Server/Settings | Server/IP List

2. ISPConfig | ISP Manager | <website> | Basis | IP Address | choose the relevant IP from the drop-down list.

3. ISPConfig | DNS Manager | <domain name> | Domain | new.ip.address

4. ISPConfig | DNS Manager | <domain name> | Records | IP-adresse | new.ip.address

But I've done all that, and it doesn't work. The connection times out.

What should I be doing?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th October 2006, 16:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,715
Thanks: 820
Thanked 5,321 Times in 4,174 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hairydog2
1. Add the new IP addresses on ISPConfig | Management | Server/Settings | Server/IP List

2. ISPConfig | ISP Manager | <website> | Basis | IP Address | choose the relevant IP from the drop-down list.

3. ISPConfig | DNS Manager | <domain name> | Domain | new.ip.address

4. ISPConfig | DNS Manager | <domain name> | Records | IP-adresse | new.ip.address

But I've done all that, and it doesn't work. The connection times out.

What should I be doing?
Thats all correct. Be aware that it may take up to 48 hours until your changes in the DNS settings are propagated.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13th October 2006, 16:37
edge edge is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,034
Thanks: 264
Thanked 151 Times in 131 Posts
Default

What I normally do is get the server as far ready as needed (just before installing ISPconfig), and put the server in the datacenter.

Then when I get home I login (SSH), and install the rest (ISPconfig).

When doing it this way, make sure you run "screen" in SSH, cause when the SSH connection breaks, you can still get back in the 1st install.

Have fun!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13th October 2006, 17:31
hairydog2 hairydog2 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 196
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
Thats all correct. Be aware that it may take up to 48 hours until your changes in the DNS settings are propagated.
The problem is that I've waited more than 48 hours already, and pinging the name goes for the right IP, but fails as well. I wonder if there is a problem with routing that IP to the machine.

Last edited by hairydog2; 13th October 2006 at 17:55.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.