Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 12th October 2008, 02:17
bobwdn bobwdn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default did not work

As requested, I did:

nrobert@web02:~$ sudo chmod 755 /var/lib/named/etc/bind
[sudo] password for nrobert:

Then I did:

nrobert@web02:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/bind9 restart
* Stopping domain name service... bind rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
[fail]
* Starting domain name service... bind [fail]

I also tried:

nrobert@web02:~$ sudo /etc/init.d/bind9 stop
* Stopping domain name service... bind rndc: connect failed: 127.0.0.1#953: connection refused
[fail]

Next . . . . . .
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 14th October 2008, 16:18
bobwdn bobwdn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default need help

Had a few days to think about the setup configuration I have installed.

To better "fit" my situation, I had to use (in combination) two howto's. Those being "How To Run Your Own Name Server With ISPConfig And providerdomain.de" and How To Run Your Own Name Servers With ISPConfig And GoDaddy."

Prior to initiating this Bind configuration, Bind tested as working, so it must be something within these howto's.

I will return to my setup notes and try to determine if this is caused by my human error.

However, if anyone comes up with an idea or suggestion, please post it.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15th October 2008, 14:54
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

Unfortunately I don't know what it is , but I know that these tutorials work for me.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15th October 2008, 19:10
bobwdn bobwdn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Will rebuild

First, Falko, thank you for all your help. I really appreciate it.

As I see this I am left with no other alternative than to rebuild the software in this computer. And as it is my first attempt, I see this all as part of learning about Linux.

(I really believe that it is something I may have inadvertently configured incorrectly and my inexperience does not allow me to locate that error.)

So, to conclude, I am actually looking forward to "doing it again." Yes, extra work, but I learn something every time.

Once again, thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 16th October 2008, 15:44
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

To get the best results, I'd connect to the server with an SSH client like PuTTY and then copy & paste the commands from the tutorial (except the parts where you should place your own passwords, hostnames, etc.).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 16th October 2008, 23:38
bobwdn bobwdn is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Posts: 50
Thanks: 7
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Thanks

To all,

I do not and will never figure out exactly what was wrong but, re-installing the software went well.

(And yes, Falko, I cut and paste the instructions as your suggested. That way I do not miss any forward slashes.)

Second time works like a charm, again, thanks.

I have a DNS, bind question I will be starting a new thread about (in a few minutes.)

Please consider this issue closed. And thanks again.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25th January 2009, 22:36
megabitdragon megabitdragon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem. I also followed the tutorials dns with godaddy.com.
In my case if I add only the master dns server, bind works as expected. However, when I add the slave DNS as described in the tutorial bind fails to start.
I should mention that I am using Ubuntu 8.04 LTS with ISPconfig2 SVN version and I am trying to use the same ip address for both master and slave DNS.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 26th January 2009, 14:04
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
Default

So master and slave are on the same box?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26th January 2009, 15:14
megabitdragon megabitdragon is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You are absolutely right. Both the master and slave DNS as well as the webserver are on the same box .
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th January 2009, 19:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,749 Times in 2,579 Posts
 
Default

Then all you have to do is set up a master zone, but no slave. A slave makes no sense in this case.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Permission Denied Bind Slave Server Problems wxman Server Operation 17 22nd March 2014 13:30
ispconfig web-server offline ProServ-uk.com Server Operation 6 27th July 2009 14:34
BIND version 9.5.0, under chroot /var/named/chroot terranet Tips/Tricks/Mods 0 17th July 2008 19:29
fastcgi and php with ispconfig tosser Tips/Tricks/Mods 3 25th June 2006 22:01
FC4 Setup DNS and ISPCONFIG issues The General Installation/Configuration 7 15th May 2006 10:45


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.