Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 24th February 2006, 17:14
sirmee2001 sirmee2001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default my own DNS server

I have read a lot of DNS related threads on this forum but I am still finding it difficult to understand how this whole DNS business works and where to start from to run my own DNS servers. The situation is like this. I have ISPConfig and working on a Debian sarge server. I am using a dynamic IP through the no-ip DNS service. My domain (the one I have heard you guys calling technical domain) is churchill.hopto.org. I have other domains that are on my service provider's DNS server. They are somehow hooked to churchill.hopto.org (I cant find a better word to explain this). Anyway, I created sites using ISPConfig and everything is working as it should. My question is how do I make use of churchill.hopto.org to run my own DNS server. I also have a server online, with a static IP where I could install a second ISPconfig system.
All help will be appreaciated.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th February 2006, 17:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
Default

Generally you should no use a server with a dynamic IP as DNS system. Better to use your other server.

I will try to explain the steps.

If you register a domain, the registry needs as least 2 nameservers. These nameservers store the information on which IP addresses the domain and its sub-domains can be reached.

Now an example. We want to use the server churchill.hopto.org as DNS-Server for the domain test.org. In this scenario the primary and secondary DNS is both churchill.hopto.org.

1) Go to the registry where you registered test.org and enter "churchill.hopto.org" as first and secondary nameserver.

2) Now on "churchill.hopto.org" where you installed ISPConfig. In Ispconfig go to the DNS-Manager, click on "new master" to create a new primary DNS-Record.

As Domain (SOA) you enter test.org.
As IP-Address you enter the IP where the test.org website shall be hosted. In most cases the IP of your server. This must be your external IP if you are in a NAT enviroment.

Then click on the tab "options", the settings will be saved automatically when you change a tab!

On the options tab, enter your administrative email address in the admin email field. In the fields nameserver 1 and nameserver 2 you must enter "churchill.hopto.org" as this is our primary and secondary nameserver for test.org.

Now click on the records tab, we will create 2 A-Records.

one with hostname "www" and the external IP of your server.
one with hostname "mail" and the external IP of your server.

Now click on new "MX Record". This record must point to your mailserver. In our case enter the following:

Hostname must be empty, in the mailserver field you enter "mail.test.org"

Now click on save to save our settings.

Be aware that it may ake up to 48 hours until DNS changes become valid.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th February 2006, 17:51
sirmee2001 sirmee2001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks a lot for the quick reply. I will try to implement your instructions.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 11th March 2006, 17:51
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Hi,

I have following problem reported by DNS Stuff:

WARNING: Your nameservers do not include any corresponding A records when asked for your NS records. They probably are not returning the A records when asked, which can prevent some other DNS servers from contacting your DNS servers. They should do this if they are authoritative for those A records. The problem record(s) are:

Nameserver 87.116.137.18 did not provide any IPs
Nameserver 87.116.137.18 did not provide any IPs

http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...-solutions.biz

---------------------------------------------------
My servers WAN static ip: 87.116.137.18
My servers LAN static IP is: 192.168.123.200
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 11th March 2006, 18:02
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Additional question:

Why I have to put LAN IP: 192.168.123.200
in ISPMAnager --> Sites --> Basis --> web-hosting-solutions.biz ?

If I put there WAN address 87.116.137.18, then it won't work.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th March 2006, 21:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nenad
Hi,

I have following problem reported by DNS Stuff:

WARNING: Your nameservers do not include any corresponding A records when asked for your NS records. They probably are not returning the A records when asked, which can prevent some other DNS servers from contacting your DNS servers. They should do this if they are authoritative for those A records. The problem record(s) are:

Nameserver 87.116.137.18 did not provide any IPs
Nameserver 87.116.137.18 did not provide any IPs

http://www.dnsreport.com/tools/dnsre...-solutions.biz

---------------------------------------------------
My servers WAN static ip: 87.116.137.18
My servers LAN static IP is: 192.168.123.200
Your name servers are ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz and ns2.web-hosting-solutions.biz but you did not create A records for ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz and ns2.web-hosting-solutions.biz:

Code:
dig ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 65394
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz. IN      A

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
web-hosting-solutions.biz. 10800 IN     SOA     ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz. admin.web-hosting-solutions.biz. 2006031109 28800 7200 604800 86400

;; Query time: 54 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Sat Mar 11 21:10:04 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 89

Quote:
Additional question:

Why I have to put LAN IP: 192.168.123.200
in ISPMAnager --> Sites --> Basis --> web-hosting-solutions.biz ?

If I put there WAN address 87.116.137.18, then it won't work.
Apache will refuse to work if you configure it with an IP address that it does not know (i.e., that is not on the same system). Therefore you must always use IP addresses that are in the output of
Code:
ifconfig
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11th March 2006, 21:49
nenad nenad is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Novi Sad, Serbia
Posts: 415
Thanks: 13
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Default

Quote:
Your name servers are ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz and ns2.web-hosting-solutions.biz but you did not create A records for ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz and ns2.web-hosting-solutions.biz:
But I am!

I created A record for ns1 and ns2both for IP 87.116.137.18

As hostname I used only "ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz" and "ns2.web-hosting-solutions.biz"

Or should I put only "ns1" and "ns2" withouth "web-hosting-solutions.biz" ?

Last edited by nenad; 11th March 2006 at 21:52.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12th March 2006, 14:59
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

It's working now:

Code:
dig ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz

; <<>> DiG 9.2.1 <<>> ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 50666
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz. IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
ns1.web-hosting-solutions.biz. 86400 IN A       87.116.137.18

;; Query time: 180 msec
;; SERVER: 81.169.163.104#53(81.169.163.104)
;; WHEN: Sun Mar 12 14:58:30 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 63
You must wait up to 72 hours until DNS changes become effective.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19th March 2006, 14:43
sirmee2001 sirmee2001 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have followed the instructions above to set up my own DNS servers rufus.hti.pl and churchill.hopto.org (this one has a dynamic IP). I then registered the domain african.pl and entered rufus.hti.pl as the primary server and churchill.hopto.org as the secondary server. I made all the necessary changes on my DNS servers and created vhs account on rufus.hti.pl. Is it possiblbe for someone out there, who is more knowledgeable, help me check if I did everything correctly? Thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19th March 2006, 22:45
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,488
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,259 Times in 4,123 Posts
 
Default

If 217.168.139.34 is your IP address, then everything is OK.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Statistic not working mzo Installation/Configuration 49 20th April 2011 12:19
ispconfig and mambo shajazzi Installation/Configuration 70 28th March 2006 19:29
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50
Email - Ueb-Miau mazhar Installation/Configuration 5 21st December 2005 10:01
Server Not Autorative for Domain Error drbista Installation/Configuration 10 20th December 2005 16:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.