Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 27th September 2008, 01:46
dagg dagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default apache2 cant start getting error

so i decided with all the problems that i was having to backtrack my install steps and start from scratch....

im now running into a hitch when i go to install apache
Code:
server:/etc/apache2# cat /var/log/apache2/error.log
server:/etc/apache2# /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
Forcing reload of web server (apache2)...httpd (no pid file) not running
no listening sockets available, shutting down
Unable to open logs
 failed!
when i go to look at the logs... they dont exist at all.
i have tried removing and reinstalling and then purging and reinstalling.. nothing seems to work and i cant find much information on google regarding this problem
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 27th September 2008, 02:14
marpada marpada is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 139
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Maybe other app is already bound to port 80 or 443.
check this

$ netstat -antp | grep ":80"
________
Big Dick Extreme
________
Cyclechaos.Com

Last edited by marpada; 13th May 2011 at 02:43.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2008, 02:43
dagg dagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

nope... i get no results with that.
also when i look at ps, apache is not running at all

it has never started successfully since i reinstalled it, been getting the same error the entire time.

Also, keep in mind... there are no logs for me to even look at, they just simply dont exist.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2008, 04:16
marpada marpada is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 139
Thanks: 2
Thanked 14 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Can you give more details? O.S., Apache version, httpd.conf, is the box connected or just the loopback?
________
Hotels in mexico
________
Nevada Dispensaries

Last edited by marpada; 13th May 2011 at 02:44.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th September 2008, 05:28
dagg dagg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 25
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

scratch this...
im gonna have to reimage the machine... the OS is completely toast at this point
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webmail problems with only one domain? compner Installation/Configuration 14 16th February 2010 17:59
configuring IPTABLES firewall adityavpratap HOWTO-Related Questions 9 27th May 2006 22:42
Frustrated with ISPConfig install! woozyerdaddee Installation/Configuration 4 19th May 2006 04:38
Installation Fails... :( cyberstorm Installation/Configuration 1 15th January 2006 19:07
Install stop at uuwish, UUDeview SeaWolf Installation/Configuration 6 5th October 2005 00:53


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.