#1  
Old 24th February 2006, 10:03
Glorfindel Glorfindel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default Blank Pages

I got everything set up correctly finally, and it worked great... for about a day. Now every page I try to load simply gives a white page when I connect from my domain (glorf.com) or any subdomain thereof... any ideas what could have caused this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 24th February 2006, 10:18
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Are they HTML pages, or PHP, or something else?
What's in your Apache error log?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24th February 2006, 14:06
Glorfindel Glorfindel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

index.php and some other php files. The pages are most definately there according to FTP.

I just got home and noticed that the pages are no longer blank... now everything points to the shared IP page except for a test.glorf.com that I added while I was trying to figure out why the pages were blank... the test.glorf.com page shows the default "This is the standard index of your website." page.

I just looked in the Vhosts_ispconfig.conf file and noticed that the only <VirtualHost> thing is for test.glorf.com aside from the main server one... none of the other sites I set up before are there... I never looked there before, but I assume they were there while they were working... 0_0

The only error since I noticed the problem that I can see is a "File does not exist: /var/www/sharedip/web15"

Going to the panel opening the existing sites and saving them doesn't seem to add them to the vhosts either


hmm... come to think of it and my small linux experiance... could this be related to permissions? I installed most of this stuff under root, and i've been running it under another user account now for security... the folder permissions are to root... is that a problem?

Last edited by Glorfindel; 24th February 2006 at 14:09.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th February 2006, 16:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,747 Times in 2,578 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glorfindel
hmm... come to think of it and my small linux experiance... could this be related to permissions? I installed most of this stuff under root, and i've been running it under another user account now for security... the folder permissions are to root... is that a problem?
What do you mean with that?

What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25th February 2006, 00:16
Glorfindel Glorfindel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
What do you mean with that?
I mean that when I installed LAMP and ISPConfig, I was logging into the linux box as root. Now that I have completed the installation, I am having it log into "Glorfindel" when it boots because i've always been told never to use root cept when you need to. The permissions on the Vhosts file is root:root -rw-r-r- (644). Would this cause ISPConfig to not be able to write to the file properly? I'm very new to linux :P

Quote:
What's in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf?
Quote:
###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
# Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.2:80
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.2:80>
ServerName localhost
ServerAdmin root@localhost
DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: test.glorf.com:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.2:80>
ServerName test.glorf.com:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@glorf.com
DocumentRoot /var/www/web15/web
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web15/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web15/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
SetOutputFilter PHP
SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode Off
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web15/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/forbidden.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/fileNotFound.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web15/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web15/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
I assume that there should also be entries there for www and tsl... as I have two sites I've setup: tsl.glorf.com and www.glorf.com... and those both have aliases as plain glorf.com and jpl.glorf.com should go to tsl.glorf.com/jpl/

Last edited by Glorfindel; 25th February 2006 at 00:20.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25th February 2006, 11:19
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,608 Times in 4,419 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glorfindel
I mean that when I installed LAMP and ISPConfig, I was logging into the linux box as root. Now that I have completed the installation, I am having it log into "Glorfindel" when it boots because i've always been told never to use root cept when you need to. The permissions on the Vhosts file is root:root -rw-r-r- (644). Would this cause ISPConfig to not be able to write to the file properly? I'm very new to linux :P
No, thats OK. ISPConfig uses a process that runs with root priveliges to write the config files.

Quote:
I assume that there should also be entries there for www and tsl... as I have two sites I've setup: tsl.glorf.com and www.glorf.com... and those both have aliases as plain glorf.com and jpl.glorf.com should go to tsl.glorf.com/jpl/
You mean you have setup more then one website in ISPConfig, these other websites show up in the ISPConfig interface but they are not in the Vhost_ispconfig.conf file?

Please have a look at the directory of Vhost_ispconfig.conf, are there other copies of the file Vhost_ispconfig.conf with the date appended to the name?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25th February 2006, 21:31
Glorfindel Glorfindel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till
You mean you have setup more then one website in ISPConfig, these other websites show up in the ISPConfig interface but they are not in the Vhost_ispconfig.conf file?
Yep


Quote:
Originally Posted by till
No, thats OK. ISPConfig uses a process that runs with root priveliges to write the config files.



You mean you have setup more then one website in ISPConfig, these other websites show up in the ISPConfig interface but they are not in the Vhost_ispconfig.conf file?

Please have a look at the directory of Vhost_ispconfig.conf, are there other copies of the file Vhost_ispconfig.conf with the date appended to the name?
Nope
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26th February 2006, 10:58
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,608 Times in 4,419 Posts
Default

Please check the ISPConfig logfile for errors:

/home/admispconfig/ispconfig/ispconfig,log
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26th February 2006, 11:04
Glorfindel Glorfindel is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Nothing in that log is tagged ERROR, but there are several "INFO" messages.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26th February 2006, 11:11
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,608 Times in 4,419 Posts
 
Default

Please post the last 10 - 20 lines.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
utf-8 encoding of ispconfig web pages Kornik Feature Requests 3 27th August 2007 09:41
Most Settings Pages Come Up Page Unavailable mojosound General 4 23rd February 2006 23:17
Receiving blank emails hendry Installation/Configuration 4 24th December 2005 13:25
Missing Pages After Install. fraginhell Installation/Configuration 2 6th December 2005 13:01
admin pages ejs Installation/Configuration 9 7th August 2005 18:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:26.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.