#21  
Old 14th May 2006, 23:58
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

you are right about those tutorials, the one you gave and the one I found are almost copies of each other.

About manually moving:

can you give me some hints:

- for example how do I get a list of all installed applications? there has to be a dpkg or apt option to get this list, so I could at least duplicate this.
- about duplicating settings as I am not sure I can duplicate everything manually, what needs to be copied over except for the ispconfig stuff (which is already covered further up in this thread) - /etc /usr /var maybe?
- anything which you strongly discourage me copying over?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #22  
Old 15th May 2006, 15:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
- for example how do I get a list of all installed applications? there has to be a dpkg or apt option to get this list, so I could at least duplicate this.
Run
Code:
dpkg -l
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
- about duplicating settings as I am not sure I can duplicate everything manually, what needs to be copied over except for the ispconfig stuff (which is already covered further up in this thread) - /etc /usr /var maybe?
That depends where your configuration files are. Most of them are in /etc.
The most important parts are covered here: http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/sho...88&postcount=2
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 16th May 2006, 11:57
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

concerning
Quote:
/etc/passwd, /etc/shadow and /etc/group
want to have a good laugh?

I copied them over and now I cannot login any longer as I do not remember my root password I was using one of my users which had full acces via sudoers, but when copying those files over to the new system I forgot to copy the sudoers file, now I can login with my user, but no longer do sudo su, no root password, bad thing :-( I guess I'll set it up again, good practice
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 16th May 2006, 12:09
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,403
Thanks: 834
Thanked 5,494 Times in 4,325 Posts
Default

If you have direct access to your server, you might use a Live-CD like knoppix to boot your server, mount your HD and edit the password in /etc/shadow.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 16th May 2006, 14:35
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

I already read the : recover lost root password threads around here and I tried the lilo trick, before booting sequence, whatever but I failed yesterday, it booted too fast for me to press any key....

anyway thx for helping :-)
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 16th May 2006, 15:45
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Do you have a rescue system on your server? Boot into it, mount your hard disk and give yourself a new root password.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 17th May 2006, 01:34
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

ok, I mounted my /dev/md1 and tried chpasswd as well as passwd but I get this:

passwd: User not known to the underlying authentication module

Do you mean me to manually enter the password into /etc/passwd ? I guess I would have to enter it md5 encrypted there? Or how exactly do I achieve this?

###edit###

I answered my own question:

mount -t ext3 /dev/md1 /mnt/
root@h898552:~# cd /mnt/
root@h898552:/mnt#
root@h898552:/# chroot /mnt
h898552:/#
h898552:/# passwd
Enter new UNIX password:
Retype new UNIX password:
passwd: password updated successfully
h898552:/#

and again I learned something new :-) I REALLY DID IT!!!

Last edited by Ovidiu; 17th May 2006 at 01:49.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 17th May 2006, 15:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
Default

Yes, you need to chroot.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 23rd May 2006, 12:13
Ovidiu Ovidiu is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,266
Thanks: 82
Thanked 24 Times in 20 Posts
Default

some more problems:

in your post further up you give a link to how to dump and restore mysql database.

you should mention that one needs to create a db by that name before one can import. at least iti did not work for me.

next one ist this, I get an error whe ntrying to import:

Quote:
h898552:~/exports# mysql -h localhost -u root -p****** web3_db1 <
web3_db1.sql
ERROR 1064 at line 12: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the
manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax
to use near 'NOT NULL,
PRIMARY KEY (id),
KEY ip (ip(15))
) TYPE=MyISAM'
h898552:~/exports#
what could this be? this is my most important database...

###edit###

how can I do this:
Quote:
have a look at the users and db table and add the user /db lines that don't exist on the new server but on the old server.

Last edited by Ovidiu; 23rd May 2006 at 12:26.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 23rd May 2006, 19:05
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,743 Times in 2,577 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenaka
next one ist this, I get an error whe ntrying to import:
Do you use the same MySQL version on both systems?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot access ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 13 3rd January 2009 15:29
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20
42goISP vs. ISPConfig nveid General 1 16th January 2006 09:07
Mirroring ISPConfig with DRBD rodriglm General 5 2nd January 2006 12:48
Moving mail in ISPConfig rodriglm General 3 7th December 2005 09:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.