#151  
Old 21st November 2008, 17:36
gili gili is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 22
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default sorry 52

db_ispconfig has 52 table on dead server
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #152  
Old 22nd November 2008, 14:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,735 Times in 2,571 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gili View Post
I have another server, where I install the new ISPConfig, and I see the db_ispconfig database has 54 table, but I have only 52. That will be a problem when I import the dump from the dead server?

What do you think?
Bye
Gili
Yes, that doesn't work.
Please check your /tmp folder on the dead server, you should find backups of /root/ispconfig, /home/admispconfig, and your ISPConfig database there.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 3rd December 2008, 10:25
DaFux DaFux is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Bavaria, Germany
Posts: 21
Thanks: 6
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thank you - that has helped me a lot!
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 18th December 2008, 15:57
oriongr oriongr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default Just a simple script...

I made this script according to Falko's post


Code:
#!/bin/bash
#Backup tool for ISPconfig v. 0.11
today=`date +%d-%m-%y`
cp /etc/passwd /root/backups
cp /etc/shadow /root/backups
cp /etc/group /root/backups
cp /etc/apache2/vhosts/Vhosts_ispconfig.conf /root/backups
cp /etc/postfix/local-host-names /root/backups
cp /etc/postfix/virtusertable /root/backups
cp /var/lib/named/etc/bind/named.conf /root/backups
cp /etc/proftpd*.conf /root/backups
cp /var/lib/named/etc/bind/pri.* /root/backups
cd /root/backups
mysqldump -h localhost -u root -pTYPEYOURPASS -c --add-drop-table --add-locks --all --quick --lock-tables -all-databases > sqldump_$today
cd /root
tar pczf backup_$today.tar.gz  backups
mutt -s "Daily Backup for $today" -a /root/backup_$today.tar.gz YOUR@MAIL.HERE < The backup created!
mv backup_$today.tar.gz /root/backups/
rm /root/backups/*
I call it backup.sh and I run it from /root
Before you run it create a directory backups inside root
It keeps a copy in your root dir and also sends a copy by email if you want..
I moved the ISPconfig from one server to another with almost no problem
the only problems I had ws with db users and the passwords...

Thanks

Last edited by oriongr; 18th December 2008 at 16:30.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oriongr For This Useful Post:
falko (19th December 2008)
  #155  
Old 19th December 2008, 13:59
brainz brainz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 165
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Cool

Or if i can make a suggestion...

I recently moved from one server to another with my ispconfig i used....

Clonevilla which worked magically.... all i had to do after creating the clone was this...

change or delete /etc/udev/rules.d/z25_persistent-net.rules (will
be regenerate on boot) to the new NIC is eth0

Offcourse the above to items are for Debian Etch or Debian based distributions.

and rebooted the server and the clone was now the live server and i havent had a problem with the clone since.

It seems as well it will allow for large drives as well, i went from a 80 gig drive to a 400 gig drive with ease.


regards
brainz
__________________
www.baktim.com

Last edited by brainz; 19th December 2008 at 14:16.
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 19th December 2008, 14:15
oriongr oriongr is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 38
Thanks: 28
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Do you have physical access to the server?
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 19th December 2008, 14:19
brainz brainz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 165
Thanks: 9
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Wink

Quote:
Originally Posted by oriongr View Post
Do you have physical access to the server?
Yes i do... Physical access to but original server and clone server however i cloned the image using clonevilla to a ftp server which happens to be a NAS.

Then from the image on the NAS i cloned the new or soon to be live server.


regards
brainz
__________________
www.baktim.com
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 24th January 2009, 18:47
shawnbishop shawnbishop is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 20
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I had a ISPConfig failure on Friday, I then reinstalled a new server with updated packages and then using my backup from ISPConfig from last week, go to find the restore button, cant find it...search through the forums and see I had to backup all the /etc/* files for the backup...

really silly as my backup is then useless!!!, the HDD failed on the old machine...whats the poitn of a backup if you need files form another system that werent in the backup..rather call it a partial backup..really peeved now...
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 19th February 2009, 11:25
wr19026 wr19026 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 172
Thanks: 7
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radim_h View Post
Do i have to transfer /etc/passwd, /etc/shadow, /etc/group, /etc/postfix/local-host-names, /etc/postfix/virtusertable before i restore the old database?
those files seems to be correctly created after IPSC is restarted after restoring database..
Just so that I understand correctly; after I have done the original server setup, install ISPConfig and then restore the ISPConfig database - /etc/passwd/etc/shadow and /etc/group will be updated by the restore process to add my ISPConfig users? The recommendation to compare those files is purely to catch any possible problems?
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 19th February 2009, 11:32
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,504
Thanks: 813
Thanked 5,265 Times in 4,129 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
The recommendation to compare those files is purely to catch any possible problems?
No. You have to copy all relevant lines from the old to the new server manually in these files.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cannot access ispconfig site Nu2Linux Installation/Configuration 13 3rd January 2009 15:29
Users and websites aren't created Glorfindel Installation/Configuration 9 23rd February 2006 04:20
42goISP vs. ISPConfig nveid General 1 16th January 2006 09:07
Mirroring ISPConfig with DRBD rodriglm General 5 2nd January 2006 12:48
Moving mail in ISPConfig rodriglm General 3 7th December 2005 09:44


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.