Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Other Forums > Smalltalk

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 26th September 2008, 15:43
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
Default Need advice on dedicated server

Hi guys,

I w3as wondering if anyone could point me at a good, reliable and cheap dedicate server provider.

I do need a few things tho:
1) Large HDD ~ 750GB <-> 1TB
2) good fast ram/processer (64-bit too)
3) Unlimited/unmemtered bandwidth/network speed
4) Access to install my own linux OS from scratch (vKVM or something would be nice)

Any one have any good recomendations/links?

I'm with OVH (SuperPlan) at the minute, and it's ok, but their KVM only works with Windows
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th September 2008, 15:53
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

I can recommend Hetzner:

http://www.hetzner.de
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27th September 2008, 09:49
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
Default

Sounds good, the only thing I don't like about it is the 72Gb bandwidth limit. I am kinda looking for unlimited, or possibly more. Although, it said that they sorta do ulimited, but at a 10MB/s link to the server instead of 100MB/s. Is that true?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27th September 2008, 10:00
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,046
Thanks: 826
Thanked 5,388 Times in 4,233 Posts
Default

Hetzner has no 72GB bandwidth limit on their root servers.

The servers are connected with 100Mbit and they switch the connection to 10Mbit if you have more then 1000GB traffic a month. The connection will be reset at the beginning of the next month to 100mbit.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27th September 2008, 17:24
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
Default

Cool, Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30th September 2008, 11:09
baldur2630 baldur2630 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

OK, we run several servers, a Fedora 8 box, several Novell 6.5 Servers and a Novell / SuSE OES2 server. This is a home network, but we are a family of professional IT people MCNE's, MCSE's, CLE's etc

The best advice I can give you is build your own server from scratch. If you are in Europe, try BackOffice - they have good prices. If you are in the UK, try Scan (scan.co.uk) they also have good prices. We use Intel motherboards and dual-Core P4 Processors and for the Linux boxes we use 64-bit and 2GB RAM (more than enough) the NetWare boxes run all manner of stuff and they all have 4GB RAM. Be careful what RAM you buy for the Intel Boards. Check the specs on the Intel site.

We use 2 x 500GB Hard Drives in each box and eQuip 4-Port KVM switches.

We use (what used to be) Versatel - now KPN for an ISP and we have 4 static IP addresses and plenty of bandwidth we use Netgear Wireless Routers on the Linux Boxes and Border Manager on the NetWare boxes.

The ISP is quite expensive (around €200 Euros per month), but we do websites and a lot of remote support work.

If you "roll your own" servers it works out a cheap option and easy to replace anything that fails.

Fedora for a Server OS is OK but stability in the longer term is a problem, so is Centos, and OpenSuSE. Depends a lot on what you want to do with it. Make sure you setup a good firewall (the Netgear Routers stop some of the trolls out there). Move Port 22 SSH to a Port above 1000 and install Denyhosts and / or fail2ban. we used to get more than 2,000 attempts to hack our Linux boxes until we installed those.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16th December 2008, 17:56
baldur2630 baldur2630 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

There is now an even better solution - again, not sure where you live, but in Europe you can get an HP ML110 G5 Server for around €550. It comes standard with 512MB RAM and a 160GB Hard Drive.

To this you can add 3 x 1TB SATA III Drives @ around €100 each and up to 8GB RAM @ around €100 per GB.

You can download VMWare ESX 3.5i FREE and if you look on the web, youi can get a 5-User Novell Open WorkGroup Small Business Suite for FREE which includes a Novell GroupWise Mailserver and Messaging.

I bought one of the above HP boxes and have already 8 Servers running on it quite happily!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th January 2009, 11:07
sjau sjau is offline
Local Meanie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 1,146
Thanks: 4
Thanked 55 Times in 51 Posts
Default

Hetzner got a 72 GBit connection for their root servers.
__________________
"Common sense is not as common as commonly believed" by sjau

Auto-Install Script for ISPConfig and Horde on a Vanilla Debian Stable

Need more Repos for Ubuntu? Repository Generator
Need more Repos for Debian? Debian Repository Generator
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 7th June 2009, 19:28
id10t id10t is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 240
Thanks: 2
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Default

I'm a very happy long time linode.com customer. Their "small" machines do what I need - not sure if they have something that would scale up to your requirements, esp. re: disk space.

www.linode.com
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25th July 2009, 04:31
sbovisjb1 sbovisjb1 is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 176
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
 
Default

I suggest that you go with leaseweb. They are a little bit more expensive than most, but I have never had any problems with them and their product is better than most.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to setup a dedicated server? chuteo007 Server Operation 1 5th May 2008 18:06
All Dedicated Server using under 1 name server? webking Installation/Configuration 4 14th July 2007 10:31
ISPConfig & several dedicated server boxes carlos123 Feature Requests 5 23rd March 2007 13:26
Seeking advice on building server satimis Server Operation 1 16th November 2006 14:46
server blocked/stopped by host Ovidiu Technical 11 14th February 2006 10:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.