#1  
Old 15th August 2005, 17:34
radioguy radioguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Bind not working

I noticed my Bind-server is off line. I just noticed it, so I'm not sure how it was broke or if it is. When I restart named, I get this message.

Aug 15 08:29:19 server named: /etc/named.conf:5: change directory to '/var/named/chroot/var/named' failed: file not found
Aug 15 08:29:19 server named:
Aug 15 08:29:19 server named: /etc/named.conf:5: parsing failed

Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th August 2005, 18:17
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 34,586
Thanks: 792
Thanked 4,983 Times in 3,903 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by radioguy
I noticed my Bind-server is off line. I just noticed it, so I'm not sure how it was broke or if it is. When I restart named, I get this message.

Aug 15 08:29:19 server named: /etc/named.conf:5: change directory to '/var/named/chroot/var/named' failed: file not found
Aug 15 08:29:19 server named:
Aug 15 08:29:19 server named: /etc/named.conf:5: parsing failed

Thanks for your help.
Is the file /etc/named.conf there?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th August 2005, 19:22
radioguy radioguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes its there here are the contents:

options {
pid-file "/var/named/chroot/var/run/named/named.pid";
directory "/var/named/chroot/var/named";
auth-nxdomain no;
/*
* If there is a firewall between you and nameservers you want
* to talk to, you might need to uncomment the query-source
* directive below. Previous versions of BIND always asked
* questions using port 53, but BIND 8.1 uses an unprivileged
* port by default.
*/
// query-source address * port 53;
};

//
// a caching only nameserver config
//
zone "." {
type hint;
file "named.ca";
};

zone "0.0.127.in-addr.arpa" {
type master;
file "named.local";
};

zone "111.168.192.in-addr.arpa" {
type master;
file "pri.111.168.192.in-addr.arpa";
};


zone "cumuluseugene.com" {
type master;
file "pri.cumuluseugene.com";
};



//// MAKE MANUAL ENTRIES BELOW THIS LINE! ////
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15th August 2005, 20:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I guess the directory /var/named/chroot/var/named is missing?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15th August 2005, 20:19
radioguy radioguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Actually, it is there. Here are the contents:

chroot localdomain.zone named.broadcast named.ip6.local named.zero pri.cumuluseugene.com slaves
data localhost.zone named.ca named.local pri.111.168.192.in-addr.arpa pri.https:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15th August 2005, 20:22
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

I think this has to do with the fact that your Bind is running chrooted. Maybe some symlink that's missing...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 17th August 2005, 02:23
radioguy radioguy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Eugene, OR
Posts: 26
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default It's fixed

I had a file permission problem. All is good now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 6th October 2005, 15:41
silviuchingaru silviuchingaru is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

How did u solved? because I'm haveing the same problem...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 3rd November 2005, 01:45
Simulacra Simulacra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Same Issue

I have run into the same issue. It does seem to be a permissions issue with the chroot jail. No response from the poster, so if anyone has any information I would greatly appreciate your help.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 7th November 2005, 02:46
Simulacra Simulacra is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default Successful Fix

I ventured back to the manual. Although everything was done properly during the installation, for some reason the permissions set for Named did not stay. I simply chmod'd the directories as the guide instructed and Bind was working again.

Brian
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Webconfig at port 81 not working anymore maxx Installation/Configuration 6 23rd October 2006 10:23
Sending mails to remote domains is not working. nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 17 20th February 2006 20:27
Bind stops and cannot be restarted after a slave domain is added jason Installation/Configuration 20 19th August 2005 08:16
not working correctly davidg Installation/Configuration 15 11th August 2005 03:56
ISPconfig not working Venkatesh.S Installation/Configuration 2 28th July 2005 13:28


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.