Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Desktop Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25th March 2009, 23:08
CBHedricks CBHedricks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Question RPM Fusion Mirrors and Livna Errors. Help Needed!

I have been having a devil of a time getting Fedora 10 to find repositories. Keep coming up with errors saying that the repositories are not valid, they lack keys and nobody's home.

Command line updating of sources fails - says the repository does not exist (adobe, Fusion and Livna) and will not install or update.

GUI software update fails and says that package list was not refreshed and should have been done in the backend.

FireFox finds the web, I can download and upload, surf and even find network shares without issues. The only issue is that I can not seem to get the package updates, mirror lists and repository information to come thru. This is killing me as I need to update the ATI drivers and pull in information on my monitor. As it sits right now the display is stuck at 800x600@60hz and I can not find any way to change the hardware settings for either monitor or graphics card.



Any suggestions?

Hardware:
MSI K7TurboII motherboard
AMD Athlon 2400+
512mb SDRAM PC133
ATI 9550SE video card
Seagate 40gb IDE 7200rpm
Sony DVD Rom
MSI CD-RW
Onboard LAN (RealTek 10/100)
Onboard Audio (ADI)
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 26th March 2009, 19:12
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Take a look here: http://www.howtoforge.com/the-perfec...p-fedora-10-p3
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 1st April 2009, 22:42
CBHedricks CBHedricks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

That 'HowTo' was helpful to a certain point but I am beginning to think that Livna has been having some network downtime. I had followed those steps from the same article on a different site as well and have come up with similar reports.

Both RPM commands (Uvh) come back with errors related to the site "not found" or "does not contain sources" errors. I can surf to sites, download files and even upload/download on FTP without issues so I have to assume that the TCP/IP and Networking is correctly configured on this machine.

Just for grins I loaded up OpenSuSE 11.1 (finally got it working LOL) on a second 40gb drive and it has ZERO issues with repository setup and updates. I would really prefer to have Fedora up and running for a server as it appears to be more efficient in that role. If I can get this dang repository situation ironed out I will be much happier.

BTW this machine is destined to be a WebServer on my LAN (Intranet and Internet) so this update process is critical.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2nd April 2009, 20:01
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

You could download the rpm packages to your desktop system and then upload them to the server (e.g. with scp) and then install them using
Code:
rpm -Uvh /path/to/package
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 9th April 2009, 17:53
CBHedricks CBHedricks is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I am not going to be using this computer in a home/office setup. It will be dedicated to server tasks mainly Intranet/web hosting and FTP services. I do not intend to have a monitor or KBD hooked up so moving files to the desktop then unpacking them or updating them would not be feasible.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10th April 2009, 14:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
 
Default

I don't want you to install a desktop on a server. What I meant to say is download the file to your desktop (e.g. your Windows system) and then upload the file to the server (e.g. with WinSCP).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.