Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 3 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 22nd September 2008, 20:38
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3 DNS / Server settings

First off, I would like to thanks you guys for your effort not only to create the application but to help out in configuration and troubleshooting.
I have been using ISPconfig for over a Year and I like it and it works very well for me. Now I got myself a dual wan pfsense firewall with 2 static PIP and I am trying to user the new beautiful ISPconfig version 3
Assuming that my public Ips are WAN:1.1.1.1 and WAN2: 2.2.2.2
Here is the settings that I am working with
1.1.1.1 is fowarded to 192.168.200.1 and the the name server is ns1
2.2.2.2 is forwarde to 192.168.200.2 and the nameserver is ns2
in ispconfig 3, I am completely lost with where I shoul add my public Ips and my name servers. Can someone please give me somepointers. I already spent over 12 straigt hours trying to get it on my own but now I am getting nuts.

Thanks in advance
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 22nd September 2008, 22:22
adobe adobe is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Maybe this post might give you some idea : http://www.howtoforge.com/forums/showthread.php?t=26958
________
Toyota N engine history
________
Charles de Tornaco

Last edited by adobe; 9th February 2011 at 05:44.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:14
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default ISPConfig 3 DNS / Server settings

For exemple:
i replace this setting with my internal IP address is this correct? for the name servers are they my name servers or the ISP's?

[server]
auto_network_configuration=n
ip_address=192.168.0.105
netmask=255.255.255.0
gateway=192.168.0.1
hostname=server1.example.com
nameservers=193.174.32.18,145.253.2.75


What about the location for the dns configuration directory, I cannot find the zone for none of the created domain.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22nd September 2008, 23:49
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

The nameserver settings under server have nothing to do with the nameserver that you run for your own domains, this are just the nameservers that are used to resolve external domains (/etc/resolv.conf). Just do not change anything there.

All setting related to your own domain names are in the dns manager module.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd September 2008, 00:01
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Thanks for the reply but the settings in my servers don't match up with ispconfig 3.

under Servers - Config, I have those generic settings, may be they are installed by default:

[global]
webserver=apache
mailserver=postfix
dnsserver=mydns

[server]
auto_network_configuration=
ip_address=192.168.0.105
netmask=255.255.255.0
gateway=192.168.0.1
hostname=server1.example.com
nameservers=193.174.32.18,145.253.2.75


Here is my resolv.conf
search something.local
nameserver 64.59.135.133
nameserver 64.59.135.135

Does it make since to you?

Also is there a script to restart ispconfig3?

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 23rd September 2008, 00:18
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Quote:
Does it make since to you?
Absolutely, as I told you above, this has nothing to do with your problem and the settings dont have to match with your system as ISPConfig does not write them in the current versions.

If you want to solve your problem, just create a dns record in the dns manager, there is no relevant setting in the system settings module for this so dont search there for settings.

Quote:
Also is there a script to restart ispconfig3?
No, as there is no daemon that could be restarted.

You seem to mix up the way ISPConfig 2 and 3 work.

1) There are no global nameservers ettings in ISPConfig 3 similar to the settings in ispconfig 2.
2) There is no own webserver and daemon process in ISPConfig 3, the server configuration is done by a cronjob.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 23rd September 2008 at 00:33.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
tachou12 (23rd September 2008)
  #7  
Old 23rd September 2008, 00:37
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

You are 100% correct, I was trying to compare the settings with ISPConfig 2.

I think now I have a better understanding of ISPConfig 3.

Thanks again
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 23rd September 2008, 00:54
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 36,769
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,609 Times in 4,420 Posts
Default

Hi, I made two screenshots that show the setup of a complete domain in ISPConfig 3 as example (see attached files).
Attached Images
  
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following 8 Users Say Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
agapito (2nd April 2009), DaRKNeSS666NL (18th June 2010), Etienne (19th March 2009), gobokster (17th April 2009), hcliff (14th August 2010), MattJo. (8th June 2010), onastvar (23rd April 2010), Sinchan (7th May 2010)
  #9  
Old 23rd September 2008, 01:29
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Cool

Thanks a million .......I think I am not patient enough or trying to complicate simple thing.

I will work on it tonight and I will post my findings.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 23rd September 2008, 21:00
tachou12 tachou12 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

Thanks a lot guys. Everything works fine for me now.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
dynamic dns server on ISPConfig Zingaro2002 General 5 9th August 2008 12:27
Problems with Postfix Mysql Courier PatrickAdrichem Installation/Configuration 3 13th April 2007 16:44
need other server DNS for ispconfig?? dalmain Server Operation 3 11th July 2006 16:08
Webmail Relay Error palkat General 17 23rd April 2006 19:12
The Perfect Setup Suse 9.3 - Postfix problems new_bee05 HOWTO-Related Questions 20 25th November 2005 03:30


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:58.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.