Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > Server Operation

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29th October 2008, 20:56
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default Smtp as realy from isp good/bad

The best way to describe my issue is this way. I have setup relay in main.cf to use my ISP's relay server. This seems to work fine because I can send/rec emails from both roundcube and my email client Outlook using ISPConfig users i.e. web1_user@a site dot com.

I set the pop3 from within ISPConfig correct i.e. mail.my web site dot com and when i go to roundcube i can send/rec to any and all. I go to Outlook and i also have setup pop3 to hit mail.my web site dot com with the ISP's relay which uses SSL/port465. I have included that info in my main.cf and all is good.

Okay, i said all of that so that i can get pass misunderstanding on my issue which is this:
On my Server running ISPConfig i have many sites. One is an SMF forum script run by PHP/MySQL. When a user signs up, they never receive the welcome message. As a matter of fact emails will not send/rec from within any hosted site.
My maillog error indicates that i have a problem relaying from my ISP's smtp server because it is unable to get an EHLO handshake. Now remember that it works outside of the websites. Therefore my issue must be related to php email or what ever causes the script to pass down the command to send a result to a user on the forum.

Any ideas out there? Is it something in my PHP.INI file or some mis config in php?

thanks,

Happz

Last edited by happz; 29th October 2008 at 20:57. Reason: bad color "lime" hard to read...sorry
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 30th October 2008, 16:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Can you post the exact error messages?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30th October 2008, 23:23
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default this is error generated if i click "forgot password" on my site..

relay=fmailhost.isp.att.net[204.127.217.18]:465, delay=125, delays=4.4/0/120/0, dsn=4.4.2, status=deferred (lost connection with fmailhost.isp.att.net[204.127.217.18] while performing the EHLO handshake)

Now, if i go to my https://sitename.net:81/roundcubemail/ i can send and receive. oh, one other big factor. From the web site i am using as an example. if i sign up on that forum with an email that is one from any of my sites hosted on this ispconfig server in question....they will appear. that is great news for me but my users out there don't have email accounts on my server ....

It is a bit troublesome to me at this point. what can i test to get an answer? (Remember that if i use the fmailhost.isp.att.net in my Outlook Client as the smtp server it will work)

thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31st October 2008, 17:39
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
Default

Do you have another relayhost that you can test with?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31st October 2008, 21:50
happz happz is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 261
Thanks: 35
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default I have tried another Business Class relay with same company

Hey Falko,

At work, we have a Business Class DSL account with the same company (ATT) and i did use that user/name in my postfix main.cf but it gives the same error.
Is there another one i can try that you know of?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 1st November 2008, 17:56
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,752 Times in 2,582 Posts
 
Default

Some freemailers allow you to relay through their servers - maybe Yahoo?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
relay ehlo handshake

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
sending e-mail using mail() function linuxuser1 HOWTO-Related Questions 38 21st April 2009 13:20
Changed ISP Address, Now Postfix SMTP Outbox Filling Up AceFrahm Installation/Configuration 10 5th April 2008 04:39
My server got hacked and is being used to SPAM greenhornet Installation/Configuration 15 28th January 2008 18:02
Centos 4.4 32bit Hangs, High Server load 3cwired_com Server Operation 11 16th November 2006 16:47
Using smtp server from ISP to send outgoing mail MarcoV Installation/Configuration 1 15th December 2005 00:57


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.