Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 23rd February 2006, 04:28
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default setting up ftp access for clients

im having trouble setting up ftp access , I can login to webftp via ispconfig but i cant login to ftp with smartftp or internet explorer, I know Im typing the password right because I dont get a password error I just get a message saying "The target machine refused the connection" also I can't see anything at my address: runecore.no-ip.org when I manually put it into the folder /var/www/runecore.no-ip.org/web

Here is the content of my vhosts_ispconfig.conf file
HTML Code:
###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
#         Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80>
  ServerName localhost
  ServerAdmin root@localhost
  DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: runecore.no-ip.org:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80>
ServerName runecore.no-ip.org:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@no-ip.org
DocumentRoot /var/www/web1/web
ServerAlias runecore.no-ip.org
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web1/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web1/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode On
php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web1/
php_admin_value file_uploads 1
php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web1/phptmp/
php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web1/phptmp/
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web1/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/error_403.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/error_404.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
also my site address is at no-ip.com since i cant yet afford a domain also my isp blocks port 80 so at no-ip i have it redirected to port 82 and ports 82-80,21-21,25-25,53-53,110-110,81-81 directed by my router to my server
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2006, 08:34
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
im having trouble setting up ftp access , I can login to webftp via ispconfig but i cant login to ftp with smartftp or internet explorer, I know Im typing the password right because I dont get a password error I just get a message saying "The target machine refused the connection"
Please post the output of
Code:
netstat -tap
and
Code:
iptables -L
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
also I can't see anything at my address: runecore.no-ip.org when I manually put it into the folder /var/www/runecore.no-ip.org/web

Here is the content of my vhosts_ispconfig.conf file
HTML Code:
###################################
#
# ISPConfig vHost Configuration File
#         Version 1.0
#
###################################
#
NameVirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80>
  ServerName localhost
  ServerAdmin root@localhost
  DocumentRoot /var/www/sharedip
</VirtualHost>
#
#
######################################
# Vhost: runecore.no-ip.org:80
######################################
#
#
<VirtualHost 192.168.1.103:80>
ServerName runecore.no-ip.org:80
ServerAdmin webmaster@no-ip.org
DocumentRoot /var/www/web1/web
ServerAlias runecore.no-ip.org
DirectoryIndex index.html index.htm index.php index.php5 index.php4 index.php3 index.shtml index.cgi index.pl index.jsp Default.htm default.htm
ScriptAlias  /cgi-bin/ /var/www/web1/cgi-bin/
AddHandler cgi-script .cgi
AddHandler cgi-script .pl
ErrorLog /var/www/web1/log/error.log
AddType application/x-httpd-php .php .php3 .php4 .php5
<Files *.php>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php3>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php4>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
<Files *.php5>
    SetOutputFilter PHP
    SetInputFilter PHP
</Files>
php_admin_flag safe_mode On
php_admin_value open_basedir /var/www/web1/
php_admin_value file_uploads 1
php_admin_value upload_tmp_dir /var/www/web1/phptmp/
php_admin_value session.save_path /var/www/web1/phptmp/
AddType text/html .shtml
AddOutputFilter INCLUDES .shtml
Alias /error/ "/var/www/web1/web/error/"
ErrorDocument 400 /error/invalidSyntax.html
ErrorDocument 401 /error/authorizationRequired.html
ErrorDocument 403 /error/error_403.html
ErrorDocument 404 /error/error_404.html
ErrorDocument 405 /error/methodNotAllowed.html
ErrorDocument 500 /error/internalServerError.html
ErrorDocument 503 /error/overloaded.html
AliasMatch ^/~([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
AliasMatch ^/users/([^/]+)(/(.*))? /var/www/web1/user/$1/web/$3
</VirtualHost>
#
#
#
also my site address is at no-ip.com since i cant yet afford a domain also my isp blocks port 80 so at no-ip i have it redirected to port 82 and ports 82-80,21-21,25-25,53-53,110-110,81-81 directed by my router to my server
If you want your site to listen on port 82, then you must replace 80 with 82 in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf and restart Apache. And you better change that in the function make_vhost() in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.inc.php, too, otherwise ISPConfig will always write 80 instead of 82 in Vhosts_ispconfig.conf.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Jrdgames (15th April 2007)
  #3  
Old 24th February 2006, 05:12
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

netstat -tap
Code:
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32771 *:*                     LISTEN     2 6357/hpiod
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32772 *:*                     LISTEN     2 6360/python
tcp        0      0 *:3784                  *:*                     LISTEN     2 6173/ventrilo_srv
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:*                     LISTEN     1 8706/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                     LISTEN     2 4095/ispconfig_htt
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                   *:*                     LISTEN     3 0137/proftpd: (acc
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:domain    *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.locald:domain *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:ipp *:*                     LISTEN     9 391/cupsd
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN     3 0192/master
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:38904 localhost.localdoma:ipp ESTABLISHED8 934/gnome-cups-ico
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:38429     perm244-231.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32771 localhost.localdo:59399 ESTABLISHED2 6357/hpiod
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:59399 localhost.localdo:32771 ESTABLISHED2 6360/python
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:43743     perm244-232.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:ipp localhost.localdo:38904 ESTABLISHED9 391/cupsd
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:34893     perm244-230.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp6       0      0 *:imaps                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3349/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3s                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3241/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                     LISTEN     1 3170/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:imap2                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3286/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:www                   *:*                     LISTEN     2 3393/apache2
tcp6       0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN     8 745/sshd
tcp6       0      0 ip6-localhost:953       *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp6       0      0 *:https                 *:*                     LISTEN     2 3393/apache2
iptables -L
Quote:
Chain INPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain FORWARD (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination

Chain OUTPUT (policy ACCEPT)
target prot opt source destination
I cant find make_vhost() in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.inc.php

also how would i restart apache?

thankyou for your help
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24th February 2006, 10:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
netstat -tap
Code:
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State PID/Program name
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32771 *:*                     LISTEN     2 6357/hpiod
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32772 *:*                     LISTEN     2 6360/python
tcp        0      0 *:3784                  *:*                     LISTEN     2 6173/ventrilo_srv
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:mysql *:*                     LISTEN     1 8706/mysqld
tcp        0      0 *:81                    *:*                     LISTEN     2 4095/ispconfig_htt
tcp        0      0 *:ftp                   *:*                     LISTEN     3 0137/proftpd: (acc
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:domain    *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.locald:domain *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:ipp *:*                     LISTEN     9 391/cupsd
tcp        0      0 *:smtp                  *:*                     LISTEN     3 0192/master
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:953 *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:38904 localhost.localdoma:ipp ESTABLISHED8 934/gnome-cups-ico
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:38429     perm244-231.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:32771 localhost.localdo:59399 ESTABLISHED2 6357/hpiod
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdo:59399 localhost.localdo:32771 ESTABLISHED2 6360/python
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:43743     perm244-232.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp        0      0 localhost.localdoma:ipp localhost.localdo:38904 ESTABLISHED9 391/cupsd
tcp        0      0 192.168.1.103:34893     perm244-230.ij.net:www  ESTABLISHED8 990/firefox-bin
tcp6       0      0 *:imaps                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3349/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3s                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3241/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:pop3                  *:*                     LISTEN     1 3170/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:imap2                 *:*                     LISTEN     1 3286/couriertcpd
tcp6       0      0 *:www                   *:*                     LISTEN     2 3393/apache2
tcp6       0      0 *:ssh                   *:*                     LISTEN     8 745/sshd
tcp6       0      0 ip6-localhost:953       *:*                     LISTEN     2 1828/named
tcp6       0      0 *:https                 *:*                     LISTEN     2 3393/apache2
iptables -L
This looks ok...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
I cant find make_vhost() in /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.inc.php
Sorry, I meant /root/ispconfig/scripts/lib/config.lib.php.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
also how would i restart apache?
Depends on your distribution. On most systems it's either
Code:
/etc/init.d/apache restart
or
Code:
/etc/init.d/apache2 restart
or
Code:
/etc/init.d/httpd restart
You can also use ISPConfig to restart Apache.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Jrdgames (15th April 2007)
  #5  
Old 25th February 2006, 19:45
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

is this the line?

Code:
function make_vhost($server_id) {
  global $mod,$go_info;
where do i insert the port i want it to listen on?


for the restart it was:

/etc/init.d/apache2 restart

im running on ubuntu
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26th February 2006, 11:04
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
is this the line?

Code:
function make_vhost($server_id) {
  global $mod,$go_info;
where do i insert the port i want it to listen on?
A few line below you will find these lienes:

Code:
  if($apache_version == 2){
    $fp_resource_config = "";
    $fp_access_config = "";
    $web_port = ":80";
    $ssl_port = ":443";
  }
Just replace the number 80 with your port number.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to till For This Useful Post:
Jrdgames (15th April 2007)
  #7  
Old 27th February 2006, 03:01
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

ok thankyou it was:
Code:
  $apache_version = $this->apache_version();
  if($apache_version == 1){
    $fp_resource_config = "ResourceConfig /dev/null";
    $fp_access_config = "AccessConfig /dev/null";
    $web_port = "";
    $ssl_port = "";
  }
now it is:
Code:
  $apache_version = $this->apache_version();
  if($apache_version == 1){
    $fp_resource_config = "ResourceConfig /dev/null";
    $fp_access_config = "AccessConfig /dev/null";
    $web_port = "82";
    $ssl_port = "";
  }
it looks like the ssl port should be set to something
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27th February 2006, 10:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,751 Times in 2,581 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
it looks like the ssl port should be set to something
If it isn't set, then the default value (443) is used.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
Jrdgames (15th April 2007)
  #9  
Old 27th February 2006, 16:39
Jrdgames Jrdgames is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA East Coast
Posts: 71
Thanks: 11
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
If it isn't set, then the default value (443) is used.
ok

the ftp is working now but im still getting ispconfig's shared ip page, in the site setup i have hostname as runecore and domain as no-ip.org since im going through the redirect so my servers ip cant easily be seen and because its easier to remember.

maybe i should setup another ip address for the site?
__________________
My Server Stats:
No servers currently working.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27th February 2006, 21:33
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 37,015
Thanks: 840
Thanked 5,652 Times in 4,461 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jrdgames
ok

the ftp is working now but im still getting ispconfig's shared ip page, in the site setup i have hostname as runecore and domain as no-ip.org since im going through the redirect so my servers ip cant easily be seen and because its easier to remember.

maybe i should setup another ip address for the site?
Did you use the internal IP in ISPConfig for the website, the IP where you forwarded your ports to?
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Web Issues - Access Forbidden! rytech Installation/Configuration 23 22nd June 2006 16:25
Trouble with access to server settings, access, myphpadmin steveomach3ww Installation/Configuration 2 11th February 2006 19:38
write access to wwwrun/www-data in users DocumentRoot st2xo Installation/Configuration 21 11th February 2006 14:35
Debian install error jf1976 Installation/Configuration 25 19th January 2006 23:31
ISP install problems Debian sarge 3.1 lerra Installation/Configuration 1 5th January 2006 17:37


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.