#1  
Old 23rd February 2006, 02:02
jaffaizal jaffaizal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default DNS issues

I have registered my domain with adstec (a registrar): mileswork.com

I have an internet connection to my office with a Public IP (Static IP) :
202.157.203.30

I have installed ISPConfig to managed:

1. TYPO3 Hosting
2. Email Hosting
3. Name Server

The reason of this is because I would like to park my clients domain name in
my own Name Server.

My server is behind a DLINK router which is doing the NAT and a simple
Firewall. Hostname is: suse1

How do I go about doing this?

I've subscribed to a Managed DNS services with Adstec and have created the following:

A record : *************mileswork.com --> 202.157.203.30
CNAME record : *www
******************************suse1
NS record :************suse1.mileswork.com

Have also created a Child Name Server : suse1.mileswork.com --> 202.157.203.30

Is this correct? If not how do I go about it?

I can ping to mileswork.com but not www.mileswork.com or suse1.mileswork.com.

dig output:

toshlinux:~ # dig mileswork.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 34647
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mileswork.com. 37390 IN A 202.157.203.30

;; Query time: 24 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:51:10 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47

toshlinux:~ # dig www.mileswork.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> www.mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 14799
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.mileswork.com. 171820 IN CNAME www.mileswork.com.

;; Query time: 25 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:51:56 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 49

toshlinux:~ # dig suse1.mileswork.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> suse1.mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 58216
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;suse1.mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
suse1.mileswork.com. 172800 IN A 202.157.203.30

;; Query time: 119 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:52:19 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 53

toshlinux:~ # dig aliztrade.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> aliztrade.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26630
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;aliztrade.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
aliztrade.com. 25205 IN A 192.168.0.98

;; Query time: 1053 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:53:13 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47

toshlinux:~ # dig www.aliztrade.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> www.aliztrade.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 32336
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.aliztrade.com. IN A

;; Query time: 5027 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:53:46 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 35

toshlinux:~ # ping aliztrade.com
PING aliztrade.com (192.168.0.98) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.0.101: icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=5 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=6 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=7 Destination Host Unreachable

toshlinux:~ # ping www.aliztrade.com
PING www.aliztrade.com (192.168.0.98) 56(84) bytes of data.
From 192.168.0.101: icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=1 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=2 Destination Host Unreachable
From 192.168.0.101 icmp_seq=3 Destination Host Unreachable

Do I have to create the A record:

mileswork.com
www.mileswork.com
suse1.mileswork.com

instead of just mileswork.com and the CNAME record:

www.mileswork.com
suse1.mileswork.com


Thanks
Jaf Faizal
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 23rd February 2006, 07:49
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
toshlinux:~ # dig www.mileswork.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> www.mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 14799
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.mileswork.com. 171820 IN CNAME www.mileswork.com.

;; Query time: 25 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:51:56 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 49
You let www.mileswork.com point to itself. That cannot work. You can let it point to mileswork.com or simply create an A record for www.mileswork.com.



Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
toshlinux:~ # dig aliztrade.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> aliztrade.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26630
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;aliztrade.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
aliztrade.com. 25205 IN A 192.168.0.98

;; Query time: 1053 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:53:13 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47
You use an internal IP address for aliztrade.com. This means that noone from outside your network can reach that domain. Is this what you want?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
toshlinux:~ # dig www.aliztrade.com

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> www.aliztrade.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 32336
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.aliztrade.com. IN A

;; Query time: 5027 msec
;; SERVER: 202.188.1.5#53(202.188.1.5)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 08:53:46 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 35
You must create an A record for www.aliztrade.com - it doesn't exist.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:33
jaffaizal jaffaizal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You let www.mileswork.com point to itself. That cannot work. You can let it point to mileswork.com or simply create an A record for www.mileswork.com.





You use an internal IP address for aliztrade.com. This means that noone from outside your network can reach that domain. Is this what you want?


You must create an A record for www.aliztrade.com - it doesn't exist.
My ISPConfig server is behind the router with an IP address of: 192.168.0.98 and 192.168.0.97.

Following your sugestion I have made following changes in ISPConfig-Management-Server-Settings-Server:

Server Name : Server 1
Hostname : suse1
Domain : mileswork.com
IP Address : 202.157.203.30 (or should I enter 192.168.0.98)
Netmask : 255.255.255.252
IP List: 192.168.0.98, 192.168.0.97

In ISPConfig-Management-Server-Settings-DNS:

Default NS1: suse1.mileswork.com
Default NS2: suse1.mileswork.com

When I create site in ISPConfig, I select the IP adrress value to 202.157.203.30
and Co-Domain has no entry other that the first entry showing:

IP->202.157.203.30
Hostname-> {BLANK}
Domain->mileswork.com

Is this correct?

In My Managed DNS server with my registrar (ADSTEC), I have removed all CNAME records. Instead created the folowing A RECORD:

mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30
www.mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30
suse1.mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30

An also MX RECORD: www.mileswork.com

Is this right?

My dig output:
; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 25583
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mileswork.com. 23899 IN A 202.157.203.30

;; Query time: 56 msec
;; SERVER: 202.157.192.17#53(202.157.192.17)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 19:11:25 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 47

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> www.mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 25647
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.mileswork.com. 26666 IN A 202.157.203.30

;; Query time: 52 msec
;; SERVER: 202.157.192.17#53(202.157.192.17)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 19:12:34 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 51

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> suse1.mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 17084
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;suse1.mileswork.com. IN A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
suse1.mileswork.com. 74882 IN A 202.157.203.30

;; Query time: 51 msec
;; SERVER: 202.157.192.17#53(202.157.192.17)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 19:13:09 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 53

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> ns mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 30338
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 4, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 4

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mileswork.com. IN NS

;; ANSWER SECTION:
mileswork.com. 73676 IN NS adstec.earth.orderbox-dns.com.
mileswork.com. 73676 IN NS adstec.mars.orderbox-dns.com.
mileswork.com. 73676 IN NS adstec.mercury.orderbox-dns.com.
mileswork.com. 73676 IN NS adstec.venus.orderbox-dns.com.

;; ADDITIONAL SECTION:
adstec.earth.orderbox-dns.com. 73676 IN A 67.15.47.188
adstec.mars.orderbox-dns.com. 73676 IN A 66.249.5.25
adstec.mercury.orderbox-dns.com. 73676 IN A 66.135.40.144
adstec.venus.orderbox-dns.com. 73676 IN A 66.249.5.10

;; Query time: 58 msec
;; SERVER: 202.157.192.17#53(202.157.192.17)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 19:16:39 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 217

; <<>> DiG 9.3.1 <<>> mx mileswork.com
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 41122
;; flags: qr aa; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;mileswork.com. IN MX

;; AUTHORITY SECTION:
mileswork.com. 38400 IN SOA adstec.mercury.orderbox-dns.com. jafnirma.streamyx.com. 2006020317 7200 7200 2419200 38400

;; Query time: 313 msec
;; SERVER: 202.157.192.17#53(202.157.192.17)
;; WHEN: Thu Feb 23 19:13:53 2006
;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 113

All the above outputs are done at the ISPConfig server behind the router.
I have map all protocol to the ISPConfig server.

I am also not able to login into jaf@mileswork.com using UebiMiau webmail.
I am also getting 'ERROR 403-Access Forbidden!' message if typing http://www.mileswork.com in the URL

What have I done wrong?

Thanks
Jaf
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 23rd February 2006, 12:42
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,951
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,362 Times in 4,209 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
Server Name : Server 1
Hostname : suse1
Domain : mileswork.com
IP Address : 202.157.203.30 (or should I enter 192.168.0.98)
Netmask : 255.255.255.252
IP List: 192.168.0.98, 192.168.0.97
It must be:

IP Address : 192.168.0.98
IP List: 192.168.0.97

Quote:
When I create site in ISPConfig, I select the IP adrress value to 202.157.203.30
and Co-Domain has no entry other that the first entry showing:

IP->202.157.203.30
Hostname-> {BLANK}
Domain->mileswork.com

Is this correct?
If you forwarded port 80 from your router to 192.168.0.98, it must be:

IP->192.168.0.98
Hostname-> www
Domain->mileswork.com

and then a co-domain with a blank host field is added automatically.


In My Managed DNS server with my registrar (ADSTEC), I have removed all CNAME records. Instead created the folowing A RECORD:

Quote:
mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30
www.mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30
suse1.mileswork.com -> 202.157.203.30

An also MX RECORD: www.mileswork.com

Is this right?
yes.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23rd February 2006, 16:42
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

You should also create an MX record for mileswork.com (without www) because you want to receive emails for mileswork.com (user@mileswork.com) instead of www.mileswork.com (user@www.mileswork.com).
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24th February 2006, 01:38
jaffaizal jaffaizal is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 43
Thanks: 2
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by falko
You should also create an MX record for mileswork.com (without www) because you want to receive emails for mileswork.com (user@mileswork.com) instead of www.mileswork.com (user@www.mileswork.com).
I have to create the MX record at my registrar? I thought ISPconfig handle this?

BTW, I can now ping:

1. mileswork.com
2. www.mileswork.com
3. suse1.mileswork.com

But, ping the following, gives me my local IP 192.168.0.98

1. www.planima.com, planima.com
2. www.zafcotravel.com, zafcotravel.com

Why?

What should the entry in DNS Manager-DNS Entry be for the above sites?
Example, for planima.com

DNS Manager-DNS Entry-Domain:

Server->Server 1
Domain (SOA) -> planima.com
IP Address -> 192.168.0.98

DNS Manager-DNS Entry-Options

Nameserver1->suse1.mileswork.com
Nameserver2->suse1.mileswork.com

DNS Manager-DNS Entry-Records

A Record
IP Address -> 192.168.0.1
Hostname->www

MX Record
Mailserver-> planima.com
Hostname->{BLANK}

is this settings right?

Thanks,
Jaf Faizal
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24th February 2006, 12:24
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
I have to create the MX record at my registrar? I thought ISPconfig handle this?
It depends on what the authoritative name server for your domain is. If it's the ISPConfig server, then you can use ISPConfig's DNS Manager.
But mileswork.com is handled by adstec.mercury.orderbox-dns.com so you must create the DNS records there.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
But, ping the following, gives me my local IP 192.168.0.98

1. www.planima.com, planima.com
2. www.zafcotravel.com, zafcotravel.com

Why?
Because planima.com and www.planima.com point to 192.168.0.98:
Code:
dig planima.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> planima.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62579
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;planima.com.                   IN      A

;; ANSWER SECTION:
planima.com.            43200   IN      A       192.168.0.98

;; Query time: 441 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Fri Feb 24 04:42:17 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 45
zafcotravel.com and www.zafcotravel.com don't have A records at all:

Code:
dig zafcotravel.com

; <<>> DiG 9.2.4 <<>> zafcotravel.com
;; global options:  printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: SERVFAIL, id: 51399
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0

;; QUESTION SECTION:
;zafcotravel.com.               IN      A

;; Query time: 531 msec
;; SERVER: 145.253.2.75#53(145.253.2.75)
;; WHEN: Fri Feb 24 04:42:10 2006
;; MSG SIZE  rcvd: 33


Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal
What should the entry in DNS Manager-DNS Entry be for the above sites?
Example, for planima.com

DNS Manager-DNS Entry-Domain:

Server->Server 1
Domain (SOA) -> planima.com
IP Address -> 192.168.0.98
Must be a public IP address.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jaffaizal

A Record
IP Address -> 192.168.0.1
Hostname->www
Must be a public IP address.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPConfig + Turck MMCache + Hardened-PHP - Any Issues? BobbyQ General 8 3rd May 2006 22:52
PHP/MySQL/Apache2/ISPConfig configuration issues? senzapaura General 21 25th December 2005 14:01
Install issues with PHP Part cksrealm Installation/Configuration 7 29th November 2005 18:55
PHP/MySQL Issues PsyVision Installation/Configuration 4 9th November 2005 20:36
Several minor issues dahljh Installation/Configuration 2 30th October 2005 22:22


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.