Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 14th September 2008, 20:55
kuckus kuckus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default OpenVZ alongside ISPConfig - networking issue

Hi all,

I recently installed OpenVZ on a server that is also running ISPConfig and am having some trouble getting virtual envs set up in a way that they can reach the world outside the host node.
My system is a Debian Etch, and OpenVZ was installed as described by falko.

My ISP/hosting provider (a German one called Strato) gave me a 2nd IP address from a different subnet which I'd like to use for a OpenVZ VE. So, the host node's IP is 81.a.b.c, the VE's IP 85.x.y.z/32.

Now after creating a VE and assigning it the 85.x.y.z IP, I can ping and ssh from host to VE and from VE to host just fine, but that's about it - the VE cannot reach the Internet and can't be reached from elsewhere either.


On your average ISPC installation, would there be any firewall roules or something else that I'd need to adjust to allow this traffic?

What else could I be missing?


One thing I noticed is, when rebooting the server, at one point it actually is possible to ping the VE's 85.x.y.z IP. But it seems that's just until the remaining services (and ISPC) have finished starting up.


Any and all help would be appreciated... thanks!


kuckus


Some configuration details:

- `ip route` on host node

Code:
81.a.b.c dev eth0  scope link
81.a.b.1 via 81.a.b.c dev eth0  scope link
85.x.y.z dev venet0  scope link
default via 81.a.b.1 dev eth0
- `ip route` in VE

Code:
192.0.2.1 dev venet0  scope link 
default via 192.0.2.1 dev venet0
- `ip -V` in VE

Code:
ip utility, iproute2-ss071016
- Kernel version running on HN: 2.6.18-12-fza-686

- `sysctl -p` on HN

Code:
net.ipv4.conf.default.forwarding = 1
net.ipv4.conf.default.proxy_arp = 0
net.ipv4.ip_forward = 1
net.ipv4.icmp_echo_ignore_broadcasts = 1
net.ipv4.conf.all.rp_filter = 1
kernel.sysrq = 1
net.ipv4.conf.default.send_redirects = 1
net.ipv4.conf.all.send_redirects = 0
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 15th September 2008, 13:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,713 Times in 2,556 Posts
Default

Please set NEIGHBOUR_DEVS to all in /etc/vz/vz.conf and reboot the system.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15th September 2008, 13:20
kuckus kuckus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry, I forgot to mention that - I've got the NEIGHBOUR_DEVS=all setting in place already.

Thanks,
kuckus
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16th September 2008, 18:06
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,713 Times in 2,556 Posts
Default

Do you use a firewall on the host? If so, switch it off.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16th September 2008, 19:01
kuckus kuckus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes, iptables as "shipped" with ISPConfig.

Disabling it through the web interface or manually doing an `iptables -F` temporarily didn't help so far.

I think I followed one of the "Perfect Debian setup" tutorials pretty closely back then too, if that gives you a hint...

Doesn't it almost have to be some kind of service if I can ping the 2nd IP for a bit during bootup?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17th September 2008, 17:53
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,713 Times in 2,556 Posts
Default

Do you see any errors in the logs on the host and the guest?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 1st October 2008, 14:40
kuckus kuckus is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Berlin
Posts: 14
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Sorry for the late reply, I've been ill and somewhat sidetracked...

In the VZ logs, there aren't any errors (on the host).

The "strange" thing is, the VE's IP can be pinged for a short time during boot (after the OpenVZ daemon starts up). What else could I check on the host or guest to see what's blocking the way to the outside world?

Thanks,

kuckus
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2nd October 2008, 15:29
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,713 Times in 2,556 Posts
Default

To be honest I'm running out of ideas...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29th October 2008, 00:27
aronkule aronkule is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via Skype™ to aronkule
 
Default

Hi Falko,

I am also having exactly the same problem. In my case, I have four NICS.

Quote:
10.10.10.31 dev venet0 scope link
xxx.175.xxx.128/29 dev vmbr0 proto kernel scope link src xxx.175.xxx.132
10.20.10.0/26 dev vmbr1 proto kernel scope link src 10.20.10.10
10.10.10.0/24 dev vmbr2 proto kernel scope link src 10.10.10.12
10.10.10.0/24 dev vmbr3 proto kernel scope link src 10.10.10.13
default via xx.175.xxx.129 dev vmbr0
I installed openvz using the excellent gui available through http://proxmox.com/. My external IP is xxx.175.xxx.132 and I have given the VE an IP from a VLAN 10.10.10.0/24 - 10.10.10.31. The VE can see the HN and vice versa. I can ssh into the VE from the HN. The VE can also see the external NIC xxx.175.xxx.132. But beyond that, it cannot see any other nodes that are in the xxx.175.xxx.128/29 VLAN.
However it can see all the other working nodes of the 10.10.10.0/24 VLAN, which are in other HN´s (XEN) and some of the 10.20.10.0/26 VLAN. The node that it cannot ping to, 10.20.10.11 can be seen by the HN.

NEIGHBOUR_DEVS=all is in place. iptables -L lists nothing. Scratching my head....
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISPconfig after installation cannot reach www.xyz.de:81 Figth4Linux Installation/Configuration 23 6th March 2008 22:38
Installation Big issue OpenVZ VPS jbond007 Installation/Configuration 3 7th March 2006 19:40
ISPCONFIG Logn Issue mainester Installation/Configuration 2 31st January 2006 20:46
ISPConfig firewall issue dwyoung Installation/Configuration 5 12th December 2005 10:26
MySQL issue during install of ISPConfig ricbax Installation/Configuration 4 16th September 2005 09:41


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.