Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > General

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 14th April 2006, 03:26
gmg gmg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

I have the same problem of firefox continuously refreshing the ispconfig admin page. firefox 1.5.01 and just recently upgraded to 1.5.02 and still have the same problem. The login page is fine but once you get in to the admin it seems to just act a fool. It doesn't do it all the time but it acts up more often than not. Haven't figured out yet under which conditions it works and which it conditions it doesn't. Was wondering if this is an ispconfig problem or a bug in firefox.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 14th April 2006, 03:40
gmg gmg is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

This is interesting. If I login to the ispconfig admin the screen keeps refreshing but if I go to another tab in firefox then come back to the admin page the refreshing stops until I click another link then it starts all over again.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14th April 2006, 14:36
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Hm, we still haven't been able to reproduce this behaviour here...
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13th July 2006, 14:11
letic letic is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

Hey everybody,

I had the same bug and I manage to troubleshoot it

Here is my config :
Server :
- Debian Etch 64 bits (followed some part of the perfect Sarge setup)
- ISP Config 2.2.3
I guess there is no need for Apache/php version as ISPConfig is using its own

Client :
- Debian Unstable up to date
- Firefox 1.5.0.4 : Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; fr; rv:1.8.0.4) Gecko/20060506 Firefox/1.5.0.4 (Debian-1.5.dfsg+1.5.0.4-2)
- Epiphany 2.14.2.1 (gecko 1.8)
- Mozilla Browser 1.7.13 : Mozilla/5.0 (X11; U; Linux i686; en-US; rv:1.7.13) Gecko/20060620 Debian/1.7.13-0.2)

Everything is working fine in Epiphany and in Mozilla but the page keept refreshing in Firefox. So I disabled all the extensions and try to find the one that produce the issue. I found out that Forecastfox produced it if there is lots of days in the forecast.

Basically the issue is not due to Forecastfox in particular but is occurring when there is too many stuff in the status bar. During the loading the page is enlarge because there is too many items in it : you will have a scrollbar at the bottom, due to the loading progress bar taking even more space on the status bar. When FF finish loading the page it's resizing the page to its correct size and if there is too many stuff in the status bar to display all of them then it goes off screen (i.e. not all forecast are displayed : some are truncated and other are simply off screen)

The issue appears as soon as there is a resizing during the load : the vertical separator in ISP Config moves during the loading and goes back to its place afterwards. If you see this then navigate a few times in the tree-view to get some refreshes and you will see the issue sooner or later.

So I guess there is an issue in the source code if the page is resized and start looping on the refresh.

I hope it's clear enough, if not I can try to make a screencast (sorry but screenshots are a bit hard to take for this issue ) to send it to the devs.

To reproduce the issue is easy now :
- Install forecastfox extensions
- set it up to display 8 days forecast with the maximum of labels and drawings
- go in ISPConfig admin console
- go to the management tab (it can be reproduced everywhere but this one have lots of stuff in the treeview)
- clicks on the different options in the tree view several times to see the horinzontal separator move
- click until it loops on the refresh

If you want to solve the issue temporarly : remove or configure your extensions so they took less space in the status bar !!! Do you really need these 20 days forecast

Hope this help
Cheers
Anthony

Update : typos, add steps to reproduce

Last edited by letic; 13th July 2006 at 14:19.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20th July 2006, 12:23
letic letic is offline
HowtoForge Supporter
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 28
Thanks: 10
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Default

No answer here,

I'm interested to know if this workaround worked for anybody else.

Did this help you reproducing the issue Falko ? Do you need more info ?

Thanks
LeTic
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 21st July 2006, 13:14
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,711
Thanks: 1,899
Thanked 2,702 Times in 2,545 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by letic
Did this help you reproducing the issue Falko ? Do you need more info ?
I've never had this issue, but I rarely install any extensions into Firefox. It's always better to go with the defaults.
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 21st July 2006, 13:45
k-dev4edv k-dev4edv is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
 
Default

First of all, sorry for my bad english . I had the same problem with my Firefox browser some time ago. The answer for this was to change my "Firefox Theme". At this time, when I had this strange problem, I was using the theme "Maczilla Default" and after I changed my browser theme, the problem was gone. So my advise is to check if the problem also occurs with e.g. the theme "Firefox (default)". If this problem also occurs with this theme, it can also be an extension of the browser.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot Display This Video Mode g8rbait Installation/Configuration 12 10th May 2013 20:17
Strange email problem for one of my domains... any help appreciated paulrobert_a Installation/Configuration 5 9th August 2010 14:15
Strange Behaviour ratebri General 2 30th November 2005 11:57
Starting the ISPConfig and strange behavior MyLinux General 1 6th September 2005 14:20
Strange behaviour of foreach in PHP 4.3.11 minimi Programming/Scripts 3 30th May 2005 19:20


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.