Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 7th April 2006, 14:15
aljosa aljosa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default Following The Perfect Xen 3.0 Setup For Debian ERROR: INIT no more processes left

After successfull install of Xen and creating vm01 I get this error when starting virtual machine vm01:

xm create -c /etc/xen/vm01-config.sxp

INIT: Entering runlevel: 3
Starting system log daemon: syslogd.
Starting kernel log daemon: klogd.
Starting MTA: exim4.
Starting internet superserver: inetd.
Starting deferred execution scheduler: atd.
Starting periodic command scheduler: cron.
INIT: Id "1" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "2" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "3" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "4" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "5" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: Id "6" respawning too fast: disabled for 5 minutes
INIT: no more processes left in this runlevel

Any suggestions would be very helpfull.

I also tried changing line in /etc/inittab from:

1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1

to:

1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console

and commenting down the rest of tty2 - tty6.

Error still repeating.

Thank you for any solution to this problem.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th April 2006, 19:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you have enough free memory to run this virtual machine?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 9th April 2006, 11:53
zeeclor zeeclor is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Lismore, Australia
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Following The Perfect Xen 3.0 Setup For Debian ERROR: INIT no more processes left

This http://blog.invisible.ch/2006/03/09/...-debian-sarge/ helped me.

David
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10th April 2006, 16:24
aljosa aljosa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Thank you both for your answers.
I already tried Zeeclor solution. No go.
Also when I look in /proc/meminfo ther is only 64 MB.
Main xen server domain only takes 64MB of 1GB available on the server. This is probably normal Falko? For vm01 I alocated 512 MB and no change.

Here is my conf file for vm01:

name="vm01"
kernel="/boot/vmlinuz-2.6.12.6-xenU"
root="/dev/hda1"
memory=512
disk=['file:/vserver/images/vm01.img,hda1,w','file:/vserver/images/vm01-swap.img,hda2,w']
# network
vif=['ip=10.0.0.1']
dhcp="off"
ip="10.0.0.1"
netmask="255.0.0.0"
gateway="10.0.0.254"
hostname="vm01.xxxxx.xxx"
extra="3"


~# xm list
Name ID Mem(MiB) VCPUs State Time(s)
Domain-0 0 64 1 r----- 236.9

ERROR STAYS??!!?!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10th April 2006, 17:25
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What happens if you assign less memory (e.g. 64MB or 128MB) to vm01 in the configuration file?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11th April 2006, 14:45
aljosa aljosa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Still the same problem with 64 MB, 128 MB or 512 MB.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13th April 2006, 15:01
aljosa aljosa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Anyone????
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13th April 2006, 23:33
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

What's in /etc/inittab?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 14th April 2006, 10:44
aljosa aljosa is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Here it is.

Code:
# /etc/inittab: init(8) configuration.
# $Id: inittab,v 1.91 2002/01/25 13:35:21 miquels Exp $

# The default runlevel.
id:2:initdefault:

# Boot-time system configuration/initialization script.
# This is run first except when booting in emergency (-b) mode.
si::sysinit:/etc/init.d/rcS

# What to do in single-user mode.
~~:S:wait:/sbin/sulogin

# /etc/init.d executes the S and K scripts upon change
# of runlevel.
#
# Runlevel 0 is halt.
# Runlevel 1 is single-user.
# Runlevels 2-5 are multi-user.
# Runlevel 6 is reboot.

l0:0:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 0
l1:1:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 1
l2:2:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 2
l3:3:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 3
l4:4:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 4
l5:5:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 5
l6:6:wait:/etc/init.d/rc 6
# Normally not reached, but fallthrough in case of emergency.
z6:6:respawn:/sbin/sulogin

# What to do when CTRL-ALT-DEL is pressed.
ca:12345:ctrlaltdel:/sbin/shutdown -t1 -a -r now

# Action on special keypress (ALT-UpArrow).
#kb::kbrequest:/bin/echo "Keyboard Request--edit /etc/inittab to let this work."

# What to do when the power fails/returns.
pf::powerwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail start
pn::powerfailnow:/etc/init.d/powerfail now
po::powerokwait:/etc/init.d/powerfail stop

# /sbin/getty invocations for the runlevels.
#
# The "id" field MUST be the same as the last
# characters of the device (after "tty").
#
# Format:
#  <id>:<runlevels>:<action>:<process>
#
# Note that on most Debian systems tty7 is used by the X Window System,
# so if you want to add more getty's go ahead but skip tty7 if you run X.
#
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6

# Example how to put a getty on a serial line (for a terminal)
#
#T0:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS0 9600 vt100
#T1:23:respawn:/sbin/getty -L ttyS1 9600 vt100

# Example how to put a getty on a modem line.
#
#T3:23:respawn:/sbin/mgetty -x0 -s 57600 ttyS3

Last edited by aljosa; 14th April 2006 at 10:50.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 14th April 2006, 14:09
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,741 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

Can you try

Code:
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 console
instead of

Code:
1:2345:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty1
2:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty2
3:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty3
4:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty4
5:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty5
6:23:respawn:/sbin/getty 38400 tty6
in /etc/inittab?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Perfect setup of ISP using Kanotix 2005-03 32-bit nandhu Suggest HOWTO 2 22nd February 2006 21:27
Ubuntu "the perfect setup with RAID 1" Hans Installation/Configuration 1 16th January 2006 17:50
Fedora Core 4 - The Perfect Setup nandhu HOWTO-Related Questions 27 10th January 2006 12:23
Mandriva 10.2 Perfect Setup Install Problems... ctroyp Installation/Configuration 12 30th December 2005 16:04
Attempting The Perfect Setup (To Some Extent) PsyVision HOWTO-Related Questions 3 3rd November 2005 11:50


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.