#1  
Old 29th August 2008, 13:28
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
Unhappy DNS problems

I'm having some problems getting my DNS working, and I don't know how to fix it.

I'm trying to host my website (staticanime.net) on my dedicated webserver (ns363416.ovh.net), setup with a basic CentOS 5.0 (32-bit) OVH install, then tweaked as per this guide (http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-5.2) with the addition on Webmin/Usermin/Virtualmin.

All the websites are handled through Virtualmin, and my site worked for a day or two, and now I can't access it at all.


The domain staticanime.net is currently registered with DreamHost, and the dns records there have been set to:
Nameserver 1: ns363416.ovh.net
Nameserver 2: sdns1.ovh.net -> OVH's secondary dns

I did a DNS traversal test, and as you can see in the results (pic attached), ns363416.ovh.net is timing out. First off, what ports/settings should I have for the firewall in Webmin, til I verify that it's not the firewall?

I can post the named configs and zone info if needed
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 29th August 2008, 16:39
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
Default Whoops...

Fixed it myself, it was the firewall after all. For some reason, it was blocking incoming UDP traffic, so nothing could reach the local DNS server.

Now, leaving all the UDP ports open seems a bit dodgy, security-wise, so is there anything I can do there? Should I just leave port 53 open on UDP in both directions?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29th August 2008, 16:45
topdog topdog is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South Africa
Posts: 1,352
Thanks: 0
Thanked 154 Times in 151 Posts
Default

DNS only uses port 53 so u don't have to open up the whole of udp
__________________
----
http://www.topdog.za.net - Got Linux problems ? - I can help.
http://www.baruwa.org - Try it.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29th August 2008, 19:08
staticanime staticanime is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Dundalk, Ireland
Posts: 38
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Send a message via AIM to staticanime Send a message via MSN to staticanime Send a message via Yahoo to staticanime Send a message via Skype™ to staticanime
 
Default

Thanks mate
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Squid Proxy Caching on Linux obzerver Installation/Configuration 4 13th August 2008 20:51
Google Apps dayjahone General 19 29th March 2008 18:25
DNS Configuration Problems VMartins Installation/Configuration 10 24th July 2007 15:40
Unable send receive emails vassilis3 Installation/Configuration 15 19th May 2007 15:34
dns problems rayit General 2 24th August 2006 19:04


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.