Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > ISPConfig 2 > Installation/Configuration

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 27th August 2008, 12:28
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans View Post
An ISPConfig version 2 server makes use of two different Apache servers.
Apache 1.3.x for ISPConfig, which servers on port 81 and Apache2.x which servers on port 80 and 443.

Your websites are served by Apache2, so you can enable php5mod for Apache2 with the command: a2enmod php5
To force that the change will take affect reload Apache2 afterwards with the command: /etc/init.d/apache2 force-reload

If i'm not mistaken these commands work also on Centos/Fedora/Suse. (I use Debian).
Hi, I followed the instructions for CentOS 5.2, and Apache2 never got installed as far as I can tell. There is no /etc/init.d/apache2 (but there is /etc/init.d/httpd). Also, I don't recall ever seeing a part of that manual that installs apache2.

Here is the line given in page 6 of the manual

Code:
yum install php php-devel php-gd php-imap php-ldap php-mysql php-odbc php-pear php-xml php-xmlrpc curl curl-devel perl-libwww-perl ImageMagick libxml2 libxml2-devel
So of course when I try to do that command you gave, I get the error

Code:
-bash: a2enmod: command not found
So as you can see, I am totally confused why you guys are referring to apache2, when there is no such thing installed when following the perfect installation manuals...

If apache2 needs to be installed, what is the best way to do so? And should you also update the manual to reflect this?
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #12  
Old 27th August 2008, 12:33
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

Page 6 of the manual is about Apache2!

The command must be: /etc/init.d/httpd reload not /etc/init.d/apache2 reload. I thought it was the same for Centos.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27th August 2008, 12:41
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans View Post
Page 6 of the manual is about Apache2!

The command must be: /etc/init.d/httpd reload not /etc/init.d/apache2 reload. I thought it was the same for Centos.
If page 6 is about Apache2, then wouldn't I have Apache2 running on my system? But it's not there!

/etc/init.d/httpd reload doesn't work.. well it works, but it doesn't change anything. The line a2enmod php5 is the one you gave me that gives the error.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27th August 2008, 13:09
Hans Hans is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Montfoort, The Netherlands
Posts: 2,256
Thanks: 212
Thanked 648 Times in 294 Posts
Default

I guess the commands on Centos are too different for me.
So i can't help you further at this point. Sorry.
Maybe it is a good idea too verify if you made all the steps as described within the guide.
__________________
Hans

MrHostman | Master in managed hosting
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 27th August 2008, 14:14
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hans View Post
I guess the commands on Centos are too different for me.
So i can't help you further at this point. Sorry.
Maybe it is a good idea too verify if you made all the steps as described within the guide.
I followed all the steps! There is no way that I missed any of them. I think the CentOS 5.2 guide must have a mistake in it or something.. Would you want to look into that so other CentOS users can get ISPConfig to work?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 27th August 2008, 15:23
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

This is no general issue with ISPConfig and centos or the guide, so other users are very likely not affected by your problem. I lready installed it several times with this guide on centos without any problem.

Are there copies of the file Vhost_ispconfig.conf with a date appended in same directory? You can find the directory on your system by running:

locate Vhost_ispconfig.conf
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 27th August 2008, 17:19
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
This is no general issue with ISPConfig and centos or the guide, so other users are very likely not affected by your problem. I lready installed it several times with this guide on centos without any problem.

Are there copies of the file Vhost_ispconfig.conf with a date appended in same directory? You can find the directory on your system by running:

locate Vhost_ispconfig.conf
locate could not find that file at all.

Do you think you could explain the part of the manual where Apache2 is installed? I'd like to see if I can run those steps again and make sure it is installed. I can't for the life of me find any instance in the manual where it mentions apache2 specifically, and as far as I can see, only apache 1 is ever isntalled after following those directions.

Thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 27th August 2008, 17:35
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
Default

http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-5.2-p6

Apache is defiantely installed, otherwise you would not get anything at all in the webbrowser.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.

Last edited by till; 27th August 2008 at 17:37.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 27th August 2008, 17:55
spuppy spuppy is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 74
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by till View Post
http://www.howtoforge.com/perfect-server-centos-5.2-p6

Apache is defiantely installed, otherwise you would not get anything at all in the webbrowser.
Apache IS installed on my server, I know that much. I can install websites, and get basic hosting. It's just PHP that is not working, and apparently apache2 is not installed.

What part on that page related to Apache2 in particular? I still don't see it mentioned once on that page.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 27th August 2008, 18:08
till till is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lüneburg, Germany
Posts: 35,977
Thanks: 825
Thanked 5,369 Times in 4,216 Posts
 
Default

Quote:
Apache IS installed on my server
Thats fine and the current version of apache is 2.x named apache2 so apache = apache2.
__________________
Till Brehm
--
Get ISPConfig support and the ISPConfig 3 manual from ispconfig.org.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apache stopped mccharlet General 6 15th August 2007 15:27
ubuntu ispconfig joomla .htaccess steve1084 General 8 6th January 2007 15:55
PHP Sessions not working on one site! badben General 5 24th August 2006 17:47
php script injections Grizzly General 21 18th July 2006 08:55
Downgrade php5 to php4.4.2 llizards Installation/Configuration 4 13th March 2006 23:58


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.