Go Back   HowtoForge Forums | HowtoForge - Linux Howtos and Tutorials > Linux Forums > HOWTO-Related Questions

Do you like HowtoForge? Please consider supporting us by becoming a subscriber.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 6th August 2008, 03:15
jzupancic jzupancic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System Debian Etch - Problem

Hello everyone!

I was trying to go through this guide (How To Set Up Software RAID1 On A Running System (Incl. GRUB Configuration) (Debian Etch)), but I found a problem.

I use VMware image from the guide: A Beginner's Guide To LVM - this Debian Etch VMware image

I copy/paste commands to the system with putty.

I made transformation of partitions:
/dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1 /boot -> /dev/md0
/dev/sda2, /dev/sdb2 / -> /dev/md2
/dev/sda4, /dev/sdb4 swap -> /dev/md1

in tutorial transformation of partitions is:
/dev/sda1, /dev/sdb1 /boot -> /dev/md0
/dev/sda2, /dev/sdb2 swap -> /dev/md1
/dev/sda3, /dev/sdb3 / -> /dev/md2

I came to the end of second page of the tutorial where I succesfully reboot the system (hd1 configuration) but I couldn't connect to the virtual machine with putty. The command ifconfig show me that there is only lo interface.

Does anyone have any idea why interface eth0 disappeare and how to solve this problem?

Last edited by jzupancic; 6th August 2008 at 03:18.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 7th August 2008, 12:26
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
Default

Do you see any errors on the output of
Code:
dmesg
?
What happens when you run
Code:
/etc/init.d/network restart
?
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to falko For This Useful Post:
jzupancic (8th August 2008)
  #3  
Old 8th August 2008, 22:36
jzupancic jzupancic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

I found the problem. The system didn't get the IP address from DHCP server.

I solved it with static ip:

vi /etc/network/interfaces
/etc/init.d/networking restart

And I can copy paste again with putty.

The process of raid1 on the system I bring to the end. I'm now very happy.
I tested the reboot process and I think that the system starts a litlle bit slower, but the main goal is reached. Safety of the system data is increased.

Falko at this point I have to say thank you for your hint to solve this problem and THANK YOU for your work at this pages.

Thank you also to the other guys who puts howtos on this pages.

I read a lot of your usefull howtos here and many times they help me understand the problems.

THANK YOU.
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jzupancic For This Useful Post:
falko (9th August 2008)
  #4  
Old 21st August 2008, 15:19
jzupancic jzupancic is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 3
Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Default

Another question about raid solutions.

On the system I had 2 hd for system (hda and hdc in raid 1) and 4 sd for data (sda, sdb in raid1 and sdc, sdd in raid 1 and both raid 1 fields in lvm).

From the howto I can get the solution, how to replace the disk if something goes wrong with them.

But how to get the data back (on sd disks), if something goes wrong with motherboard or controller and you have to buy another motherboard and install the system from the beginning (The perfect instalation howto). How to mount existing raid and lvm, that you can get the data back.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 22nd August 2008, 13:13
falko falko is offline
Super Moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Lneburg, Germany
Posts: 41,701
Thanks: 1,900
Thanked 2,740 Times in 2,575 Posts
 
Default

This might help: http://www.howtoforge.com/recover_da...lvm_partitions
__________________
Falko
--
Download the ISPConfig 3 Manual! | Check out the ISPConfig 3 Billing Module!

FB: http://www.facebook.com/howtoforge

nginx-Webhosting: Timme Hosting | Follow me on:
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Software RAID1 on a Running Debian System amras86 HOWTO-Related Questions 13 31st August 2009 16:26
Automatix on Debian Etch 4.0 r1 i386 cyberwiz HOWTO-Related Questions 2 12th August 2008 10:43
Set Up Postfix DKIM With dkim-milter on Debian Etch pg001 HOWTO-Related Questions 4 30th June 2008 00:27
Install 2.2.6 on Debian Etch? dabro Installation/Configuration 2 7th September 2007 02:37
newbie ububtu 6.0.6 error PHP binary line 816 davidsky73 Installation/Configuration 8 17th September 2006 11:51


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.